Originally posted by Din89:If Im a TO,am i allowed to bring anybody inside the driver's cabin??
AFAIK, no.
This is again, to warn / tell everyone that anybody without a valid license (TO) to operate a train is a serious offense. First time offender gets a fine of no more than $50000 and jail for no more than 6 months.
Subsequent offenders will get a fine of $5000 daily for such and jail for no more than a year.
Well, I believe that TO has no rights to bring anybody they liked to visit the TO cabin, even if they see but do not touch the controls.
So dont try to ask TO for such permissions unless they know you very well and willing to let you in (Without the know from other collegues and hence, recommend if anybody want to share such special experience, to avoid telling the train number and date of it publicly before saboing the TO, unintentionally.)
This is what I knew and hence, do not agree on asking CSO / Station Manager for video / photo taking permission in order not to put them into difficult spot. (Is like if the CSO do not allow and it is expected trains fan not happy with him / her but allowing them may get him / herself into trouble because for that is not stated black & white, so dunno it should be a yes or no, and moreover if seen by other colleagues who want to go by hard way, and killing 2 birds in a stone - another office politics issue is really putting their job hard.)
1. What brand of glass does 083-084 use?
2. I see that at some trains after terminating at JUR middle platform will head back to UPD at about 2pm+. Does that mean that on top of LTE trains, there are also additional trains serving NSL?
Originally posted by Kawasaki C751B:1. What brand of glass does 083-084 use?
whoops...i took this train in the morning, but didn't notice the brand of the glass it uses. and also, the same STARIS route map is still down...
Originally posted by Kawasaki C751B:1. What brand of glass does 083-084 use?
2. I see that at some trains after terminating at JUR middle platform will head back to UPD at about 2pm+. Does that mean that on top of LTE trains, there are also additional trains serving NSL?
A NSL LTE train may be asked to continue its journey towards JUR instead of terminating at AMK.. therefore the train infront will DNB and go UPD
Hope this thing update.. (PYL)
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:Hope this thing update.. (PYL)
NEW STATION! JOON KOON! Nice April fool's joke SMRT!
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:Hope this thing update.. (PYL)
This was also spotted last year, during the BLE openhouse
Originally posted by smrt3099:
A NSL LTE train may be asked to continue its journey towards JUR instead of terminating at AMK.. therefore the train infront will DNB and go UPD
Are you sure? Why they waste a train such that there is nothing dangerous / spoilt such that between AMK - JUR need to have 1 less train and increase train frequency??
I believe JUR have enough staffs to do the staffing issue.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Are you sure? Why they waste a train such that there is nothing dangerous / spoilt such that between AMK - JUR need to have 1 less train and increase train frequency??
I believe JUR have enough staffs to do the staffing issue.
got such thing meh?
Originally posted by sbs8104h:got such thing meh?
I am replying to smrt3099 on the fact that some NSL LTE train may get to continue the journey to UPD via Woodlands. Whether this is true or not is not known by me.
I am assuming if what is smrt3099 said is true, then between AMK - JUR itself does not seemed to have something that cannot allow people to board, afterall sometimes the trains in NSL may crossover to EWL in JUR, so that it can be a DNB and proceed to UPD.
PS: I wonder why people in Pasir Ris / Joo Koon do not allow people to board a shortworking trip towards TNM (May terminate in Middle Platform OR WB, afterall I have seen trains in TNM WB do reversing towards CHD) / JUR respectively, afterall the inital RATIS shows it in such way (Even with a red 4 logo in Joo Koon) before converting to a DNB sign.
This is what I meant of maximizing of train frequencies.
Why C151 at the end carriages when acclerating have mosquito-like sound?
Why PYL CCL got middle platform?
Originally posted by Kawasaki C751B:Why PYL CCL got middle platform?
its for maintanence =)
Originally posted by Khairiano:
its for maintanence =)
That means CCLD staff damn uninformed... one of them told me it's for peak hour shuttle service. Ask her where it will ply between, say dunno.
Originally posted by mrtdude5:That means CCLD staff damn uninformed... one of them told me it's for peak hour shuttle service. Ask her where it will ply between, say dunno.
some say for maintanance, some say PH shuttle..
if PH shuttle den from paya lebar to marymount lor..
CCL PYL middle platform will not even used, unless got a rare senario case.. right now the platform is big enuf to separate both bound
Originally posted by smrt3099:CCL PYL middle platform will not even used, unless got a rare senario case.. right now the platform is big enuf to separate both bound
well just wait for CCL to open.. =)
Originally posted by Khairiano:
some say for maintanance, some say PH shuttle..
if PH shuttle den from paya lebar to marymount lor..
Originally posted by SMRT3099:
CCL PYL middle platform will not even used, unless got a rare senario case.. right now the platform is big enuf to separate both bound
As far as I know, there is a forumer (E5) who mentioned that between Marymount - Paya Lebar on peak hours, will have a better frequencies than those after Paya Lebar (To Dhoby Ghaut). So I think, both of you is correct.
According to a staff I asked during CCLD, he said the middle platform is similar to Ang Mo Kio, but he forgot that in Ang Mo Kio, trains from Yio Chu Kang OR Bishan can come into and exit it, but in Paya Lebar case, ONLY, only trains from MacPherson can enter into Paya Lebar's Middle Platform and not Daktoa, also, trains in Paya Lebar Middle Platform can only go towards MacPherson, and cannot go to Dakota.
Thus, I believe it is a dead end after Paya Lebar's Middle Platform towards Dakota, which there are 2 possiblities.
1: Like Ang Mo Kio's middle track, at the end of it (After the exits), it leads to dead end permanently.
2: Like Promendae, the dead end sector has a use of it, it just we do not what can be extended, and my specluation is, a hidden and secret rail that leds to Eastern Region Line, given the proximity to between Marine Parade / Tanjong Rhu, so that even if the Eastern Region Line has a new depot in Siglap / Bedok South OR Changi Point, it still can connect to Kim Chuan Depot in an absolute necessary, such as one of the depot kena terrorist attack / war time OR any of the rolling stocks faces a MAJOR problem (Like C751B braking issue etc), because I believe, the new depot for Eastern Region Line just cannot be as big as Gali Batu or Kim Chuan, due to the prime area in East Coast, and proximity to Changi Airport just does not make me feel that they are going to create such a major depot there. And please, I feel that they have better use than create a major depot at Marina Bay / Marina area.
Does anyone know the full version of the in-train Malay "Suspicious Article" announcement (the one beginning with "jika anda")?
Originally posted by mrtdude5:Does anyone know the full version of the in-train Malay "Suspicious Article" announcement (the one beginning with "jika anda")?
jika anda ternampak seseorang atau benda yang mecurigakan, sila laporkanya pada kakitangan kami atau tekan butang pehubungan kecemasan yang ada di tepi pintu keratapi.
I have a question:
Many forumers here know somewhere in Punggol MRT got a cut-box tunnel prepared for future use.
I got 2 questions for this issue:
1: Does that means, that the provisional tunnel is meant for Pantograph use / design, which means it can be another NEL like system, not CCL or DTL, even though now not sure whether if it is a 3 cars or 6 cars formation?
2: Does this provisional tunnel related to the reason why the lifts in Punggol does not stop at B1 and how could one visit it?
I got another question:
Where can I find the station's depth / height of all stations? Currently only the more important ones can be found (Dhoby Ghaut, Bras Basah and Novena, while the first 2 is the most deepest stations at some point of time while Novena, is the most shallowest station.)
If the middle platform is really to be used for shuttle service, then the sign (see photo below): "No Train service at platform C / D (middle plaform)" will confuse passengers.
Originally posted by tranquilice:If the middle platform is really to be used for shuttle service, then the sign (see photo below): "No Train service at platform C / D (middle plaform)" will confuse passengers.
But going to the opposite side, there is a full range from Paya Lebar to Marymount.
Originally posted by tranquilice:If the middle platform is really to be used for shuttle service, then the sign (see photo below): "No Train service at platform C / D (middle plaform)" will confuse passengers.
If the other side didn't say "No Train Service at Platform D", they will use Spanish Solution. Alight passengers on the left towards Dhoby Ghaut, board passengers from the right towards Harbourfront.
----------
Off-topic: Guys, Spanish Solution is the boarding and alighting, sometimes simultaneous, at dedicated platforms at the sides of the train (aka left and right). Another example of Spanish Solution used in Singapore would be Sentosa Station at VivoCity for the Sentosa Express. Yishun and Yew Tee peak hour shuttle, and Outram Park and Aljunied LTE does NOT use the Spanish Solution. They simply alight, crossover, and board again.