Originally posted by joeyfjj:The C830 cannot run on the NSL/EWL due to the different signalling/safety systems in use.
Can, yes, C830 can run in NSL / EWL but under CM mode only. (Since the power provider is 3rd rail and both are using standard gauge.) C751A on the hand, cannot because no 3rd rail.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Can, yes, C830 can run in NSL / EWL but under CM mode only. (Since the power provider is 3rd rail and both are using standard gauge.) C751A on the hand, cannot because no 3rd rail.
The wheels are the same?
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:The wheels are the same?
Should be. Since all tracks are UIC-60. (Some term used by Interception and some others as well, not sure what standard is that)
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Should be. Since all tracks are UIC-60. (Some term used by Interception and some others as well, not sure what standard is that)
UIC 60 should be the type of guide rails they used. It weighs a few tons for every meter. It cost like $1000+ each
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Can, yes, C830 can run in NSL / EWL but under CM mode only. (Since the power provider is 3rd rail and both are using standard gauge.) C751A on the hand, cannot because no 3rd rail.
The C830 cannot run on the EW/NS Lines.
The NS/EW Lines uses ATC supplemented with ATP, AFAIK, while the C830 uses Communication-Based Train Control. Even if the C830 is able to make its way to the NS/EW Lines (there is no physical connection between the two), I believe it can operate in RM mode only.
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:The wheels are the same?
What matters is the track gauge, which is the same, at 1435 millimetres.
Originally posted by joeyfjj:The C830 cannot run on the EW/NS Lines.
The NS/EW Lines uses ATC supplemented with ATP, AFAIK, while the C830 uses Communication-Based Train Control. Even if the C830 is able to make its way to the NS/EW Lines (there is no physical connection between the two), I believe it can operate in RM mode only.
Of course the question asked was in the pretext that the train was delivered to the wrong depot :D
By the way, why only RM mode and cannot be CM? I know they use different signalling and Auto Mode is out of question. (I have asked a similar question before)
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:UIC 60 should be the type of guide rails they used. It weighs a few tons for every meter. It cost like $1000+ each
UIC 60 is type of rail they used. If you guys are really really interested in trains, I'm pretty sure things like this you should know.
Originally posted by Interception_7:UIC 60 is type of rail they used. If you guys are really really interested in trains, I'm pretty sure things like this you should know.
LOL i only know Our MRT runs on 143.5 cm Standard Guage
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Of course the question asked was in the pretext that the train was delivered to the wrong depot :D
By the way, why only RM mode and cannot be CM? I know they use different signalling and Auto Mode is out of question. (I have asked a similar question before)
My understanding of similar systems in another country (Central and Victoria Lines, London, UK) is this:
Coded Maunal is named Coded Manual for a reason.
Trains are constantly receiving "code", about current speed limits and a target speed which the train mus try to attain by the next "block".
However, if the code is absent, the train will be unable to move. For this reason a "Slow Maunal" or "Restricted Manual" mode is available, for moving the train where these codes are unavailable, like in depots. They do not rely on code, but keep a maximum speed the train can attain, and will immediately stop the train once the limit is exceeded.
I'm not sure if this applies to our current systems, but this is based on the assumption that
a) The power supply is the same, and;
b) The safety systems are not compatible.
Originally posted by SBS9231S:LOL i only know Our MRT runs on 143.5 cm Standard Guage
Lol Standard Gauge and Third Rail Lol~
Originally posted by joeyfjj:My understanding of similar systems in another country (Central and Victoria Lines, London, UK) is this:
Trains are constantly receiving "code", about current speed limits and a target speed which the train mus try to attain by the next "block".
However, if the code is absent, the train will be unable to move. For this reason a "Slow Maunal" or "Restricted Manual" mode is available, for moving the train where these codes are unavailable, like in depots. They do not rely on code, but keep a maximum speed the train can attain, and will immediately stop the train once the limit is exceeded.
I'm not sure if this applies to our current systems, but this is based on the assumption that
Then how about Auto mode? Dont the auto mode receive the code / signal as well? And by the way you are saying, the CM sounded like the TO / driver can sit there "and play PSP"
Originally posted by joeyfjj:My understanding of similar systems in another country (Central and Victoria Lines, London, UK) is this:
Our Restricted Manual cut off power from the motors once it exceeds 15km/h. When it is going to depot, it use RM as shown in the BSD depot tour. We use 750W third rail for power supply. As there are a lot ( There is really A LOT!) of crossovers in the depot, there is a need for it to slow down and slowly crossover to the correct parking lot.
But if we compare to the CCL
They used the same power supply but different signalling and safety systems.
For NSL/EWL they have specific "zones" for each track sector. They will light up when the train is in that location. They have many lights.
NSL/EWL crossovers are controlled differently. For NSL/EWL, it is require to change all 4 connecting tracks.
For a scissors crossover, it requires 8 switches. The station master needs to set all the tracks to the correct one.
For NEL/CCL it relies on CBTC and two-way non-stop communication, so in this case the station master can track the exact train location. The crossover only requires two clicks. It is shown on a monitor in the station office. The empty sector is shown as green while red means occupied
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Lol Standard Gauge and Third Rail Lol~
I also Know 3rd Rail -.-
and i know Singapore Only Line No 3rd Rail is NEL
Originally posted by joeyfjj:The C830 cannot run on the EW/NS Lines.
They can receive signals but the C830 is unable to read it as the code is not readable by the C830 since signalling and coding for both are different
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Then how about Auto mode? Dont the auto mode receive the code / signal as well? And by the way you are saying, the CM sounded like the TO / driver can sit there "and play PSP"
Erm... Central Line has a speedometer which shows both permitted speed and current speed... CM means the driver drives with the speed limit being displayed on the speedometre, while ATO means the driver only need to operate the doors and press a pair of "Start" buttons to start the train moving.
Originally posted by joeyfjj:Erm... Central Line has a speedometer which shows both permitted speed and current speed... CM means the driver drives with the speed limit being displayed on the speedometre, while ATO means the driver only need to operate the doors and press a pair of "Start" buttons to start the train moving.
Sometimes right, the scary thing is when your bag is stuck outside the train and the strap is so thin that the door can't detect and it starts moving LOL
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Sometimes right, the scary thing is when your bag is stuck outside the train and the strap is so thin that the door can't detect and it starts moving LOL
The train moves if the following is fulfilled (from memory):
1) All doors are closed and secured.
2) A speed other than "STOP" is being received.
3) Two "START" buttons must be simultaneously operated
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Sometimes right, the scary thing is when your bag is stuck outside the train and the strap is so thin that the door can't detect and it starts moving LOL
I See A More Cute One. Got Once a man was Reading Newspaper at The Train Doors. The Door Close His Newspaper Just Stuck There. i was like LOLing But cannot LOL Cos Doing Train Recording =X He was Despo Trying to take out the Newspaper But the Train Just moved !Den he realise cannot take out he pretend Nht happen Continue Read -.- Reach Eunos hor Doors Open He Take Out. Dun Dare Read Newspaper at door Liao.
Originally posted by joeyfjj:Erm... Central Line has a speedometer which shows both permitted speed and current speed... CM means the driver drives with the speed limit being displayed on the speedometre, while ATO means the driver only need to operate the doors and press a pair of "Start" buttons to start the train moving.
Just to share, no need to look far, in Singapore, Circle and North East Line, there is the yellow and orange thing on speedometer, and the orange one is permitted while yellow one is current speed. The LCD screen also got states the permitted speed using a small triangle on the speedobar (The speedometer in the LCD screen is like the browser's progress bar except with 100 lines |-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|........., and yes, from 0 to the current speed is shaded as black.)
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Just to share, no need to look far, in Singapore, Circle and North East Line, there is the yellow and orange thing on speedometer, and the orange one is permitted while yellow one is current speed. The LCD screen also got states the permitted speed using a small triangle on the speedobar (The speedometer in the LCD screen is like the browser's progress bar except with 100 lines |-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|........., and yes, from 0 to the current speed is shaded as black.)
I know. I got a pic of that too. I got the appropriate permissions to take that, too.
Speedometer has a Yellow current speed needle, and a Orange needle at the border showing permissible speed. On the LCD it looks like this:
â–¼
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Originally posted by joeyfjj:I know. I got a pic of that too. I got the appropriate permissions to take that, too.
Speedometer has a Yellow current speed needle, and a Orange needle at the border showing permissible speed. On the LCD it looks like this:
â–¼
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Lol nice.
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Lol nice.
Lol is this ur way of pushing the SIngapore Train Forums Up?
By The Way can i ask, Why Some C151 Jerks Backward when Accelerating. Under Non Raining Day
today 029/030 accelerates at p1 speed at every station..was pretty slow?? is there a timetable for the TO to follow or is the train at AM mode??