I doubt so, maybe the train in front has not reached the next signal.
You better ask other people, I'm not really "pro" in this.
Originally posted by patdog112:maybe a noobie question about Bukit Panjang LRT..
Why during the early days of bukit panjang LRT and recently now... at this particular station ( Choa Chu Kang ).. Platform1.. if u look closly before the train depart beside a signal light ( blue and red arrow ) there is a small movable track...
is there any problem with this movable track? noticed that there is always some delay at choa chu kang station due to the track not moving...
Point machine. It takes some time to move from 'Normal' to 'Reverse' position.
Originally posted by patdog112:maybe a noobie question about Bukit Panjang LRT..
Why during the early days of bukit panjang LRT and recently now... at this particular station ( Choa Chu Kang ).. Platform1.. if u look closly before the train depart beside a signal light ( blue and red arrow ) there is a small movable track...
is there any problem with this movable track? noticed that there is always some delay at choa chu kang station due to the track not moving...
No problem at all.... The one you saw is the changing track which the LRT train will move from 1 track to another.. It will take some time for the track to move and change..
Did you know:
Sengkang West Loop LRT line will interchange with Punggol West Loop LRT line @ Cheng Lim Station (SW1)?
If you don't believe check this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheng_Lim_LRT_Station
Originally posted by SBS1869ERyan:Did you know:
Sengkang West Loop LRT line will interchange with Punggol West Loop LRT line @ Cheng Lim Station (SW1)?
If you don't believe check this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheng_Lim_LRT_Station
can believe meh?!
anyway, i saw a C751B at the middle track slightly after WDL at roughly after 3.30pm. wonder wad it was doing there. stopped for a while then later dunno go whr liao. the middle track i tot not in use anymore?
May I ask you a sort of noob question?
Where do I find the train's unique registration number? Im referring to that 053/054 sort of thing you are talking about.
Hmm. are there any new rolling stock to be bought by SMRT/SBS transit for new lines coming up? eg DTL, CCL ?
Hi. Just a question.
Why do the light rail trains have to stop by the stations that are not in service, say Cheng Lim and Kupang? They just stop there, announce the station name, then move off. Isn't it a wonderful waste of time. They should just bypass the station.
Originally posted by SBS1869ERyan:Hi. Just a question.
Why do the light rail trains have to stop by the stations that are not in service, say Cheng Lim and Kupang? They just stop there, announce the station name, then move off. Isn't it a wonderful waste of time. They should just bypass the station.
i believe its for conveience sake. so they dun need to reprogramme when they open officially
i thought supposed to be preprogrammed?
anyway they have to reprogram again for the doors to open right?
Originally posted by jayh272416:May I ask you a sort of noob question?
Where do I find the train's unique registration number? Im referring to that 053/054 sort of thing you are talking about.
i think at the front and back of the train
odd number is front even number is back.
hoping to clear my 20 post fast...
Originally posted by SBS1869ERyan:
it's the car numbers of the train - those that you see at near the gangways between the cars. or train identification number
read this article for more info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kawasaki_Heavy_Industries_C151_cars#Car_numbers
the train with number 3033, 1033, 2033, 2034, 1034, 3034 would be referred to 033/034...
No such thing as odd number front even number back. Train turnsaround how?
All trains got a starting number, either 1, 2 or 3.
3 - Driver cab
1 - 1st motorized cab
2 - 2nd motorized cab
1 set consists of 3 cabs in the order 3-1-2. So a full length train consists of 2 sets of 3-1-2 making it 3-1-2-2-1-3.
Then the 3 digits after it... self-explanatory.
Originally posted by Oceane:
No such thing as odd number front even number back. Train turnsaround how?All trains got a starting number, either 1, 2 or 3.
3 - Driver cab
1 - 1st motorized cab
2 - 2nd motorized cab1 set consists of 3 cabs in the order 3-1-2. So a full length train consists of 2 sets of 3-1-2 making it 3-1-2-2-1-3.
Then the 3 digits after it... self-explanatory.
but then i heard the sbs transit guy say that
71039 - front
71040 - back
(just an example)
cos it starts from
71001 - front
71002 - back.
maybe doesnt apply to smrt... :p
Originally posted by SBS1869ERyan:but then i heard the sbs transit guy say that
71039 - front
71040 - back
(just an example)
cos it starts from
71001 - front
71002 - back.
maybe doesnt apply to smrt... :p
Same thing lah...
7 is always the first number.
1 - Driver's cab
2 - 1st Motorized cab
3 - 2nd Motorized cab
Half set is 71-72-73, full set is 71-72-73-73-72-71.
Last three digits the same application.
then could one explain why are the numbers 3-1-2 rather than 1-2-3 or 3-2-1? i've never found an answer to that yet...
i sometimes wish singapore could have one or a few of its train stations be curved.... all stations straight kinda gets boring....
Originally posted by sinicker:i sometimes wish singapore could have one or a few of its train stations be curved.... all stations straight kinda gets boring....
possibly to save cost.
maybe curved must pay more $$$ to build?
possibly to save cost.maybe curved must pay more $$$ to build?
definitely to save cost bro.. see most of those curved ones are on ground level ones..
if elevated, placement of escalators all another problem if curved...
but yes... all str8 kinda boring.
Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:then could one explain why are the numbers 3-1-2 rather than 1-2-3 or 3-2-1? i've never found an answer to that yet...
3 - Driver cab
1 - 1st motorized cab
2 - 2nd motorized cab
When SMRT was giving their trains their network of numbers, they chose 1 for the blue car. Because the blue ones are the first motorized cab. 2 for green. What was left was just 3 for orange. =D
then how come NEL is 73-72-71 rather than 73-71-72? they couldnt be bothered?
and whats with the 7?
SBST = More organized?
its easier to remember...
Originally posted by sinicker:i sometimes wish singapore could have one or a few of its train stations be curved.... all stations straight kinda gets boring....
haha i hope so too. in manhattan there is the south street station, which is underground, where there is one curved track. so i was rather intrigued by it lol. the system is such that there is one escalator going down and then gates to enter the paid area. after that theres room for only five cars out of the 7 cars in manhattan line 1 trains. maybe singapore can copy that idea.