Originally posted by ^tamago^:$1.13b DTL contracts awarded
7 Nov 08
THE Land Transport Authority has awarded six contracts worth $1.13 billion for the Downtown Line.
The contracts, which will cover all three stages of the project, will include the procurement of trains and other electrical and mechanical systems.
Among the contracts is one awarded to the consortium of Bombardier Transportation GmbH / Bombardier (Singapore) for the procurement of 73 three-car electric trains at a cost of $570.7 million.
These trains will be fully automated and driverless. Such trains are being used for the North-East Line and will also be used for the upcoming Circle Line.
Another $287.5 million contract was awarded to Westinghouse Brake and Signal Holdings to provide the signalling system and platform screen doors at the stations, said LTA in a statement on Friday.
Other contracts awarded include that for the control and communications systems and also the building of lifts and escalators.
By Yeo Ghim Lay Straits Times
omg...Bombardier?! did i see wrongly?
Isn't Bombardier a Canadian company? IIRC they supplied hte rolling stock for the Putra Line in KL.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:$1.13b DTL contracts awarded
7 Nov 08
THE Land Transport Authority has awarded six contracts worth $1.13 billion for the Downtown Line.
The contracts, which will cover all three stages of the project, will include the procurement of trains and other electrical and mechanical systems.
Among the contracts is one awarded to the consortium of Bombardier Transportation GmbH / Bombardier (Singapore) for the procurement of 73 three-car electric trains at a cost of $570.7 million.
These trains will be fully automated and driverless. Such trains are being used for the North-East Line and will also be used for the upcoming Circle Line.
Another $287.5 million contract was awarded to Westinghouse Brake and Signal Holdings to provide the signalling system and platform screen doors at the stations, said LTA in a statement on Friday.
Other contracts awarded include that for the control and communications systems and also the building of lifts and escalators.
By Yeo Ghim Lay Straits Times
BOMBARDIER!?!?!?
Those are the WORST types of electric motor trains/trams I've EVER SEEN!!!
Just take a look at BPLRT and you will know...
Seems like they prefer Westinghouse for the PSD job. Not a bad choice then.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Now Movia and Metropolis cars will run around DTL and CCL because of KCD?
I'm wondering if 73 3-car trains are enough to supplement the entire DTL...
Canadian railway company awarded LTA contract for Downtown Line
Article from Weekend TODAY Business Section
Bombardier's LRT SUCKS. In fact, all the LRT's in Singapore suck... The only trains with coolness in them are the 151, 651 and 751B's... Not even the NEL's Alstom trains are nice at all...... The new CCL's Alstom trains suck as well... They look un-cool and ugly... ): Looks like I'd rather choose to take buses then. :@ Let's just hope that those C151A's are from KHI or whoever except Bombardier or Alstom... Their looks suck...
Japan trains FTW! Too bad LTA goes for the cheapest and most "environmentally-friendly".
oh no.
by the time DTL starts, the bombardier movia will be quite an 'old' model already....
like the BPLRT, the LRTs were quite an.... ancient design by then..... same like previous changi airport skytrain..
few years later, changi airport also revamp their skytrain... BP residents stuck with the same skytrain... now...... and forever....
aiyo.. so many lines.. so luan.. i haben even get used to NEL.. n i take LRT once nia..
I don't mind Bombardier. Although they (then ADTranz, jointly owned by ABB and Daimler Benz, and used to be called Westinghouse (think it broke up into several companies)) had not provided LTA a really good system for BPLRT, they had however produced some really nice trains which are in use, such as the MTR A-Stock (which are also my favourite MTR stock, built 1998 as JV with CAF, with ADTranz GTO-VVVF propulsion), Berlin's H and HV U-Bahn stock.
Originally posted by Stage:Bombardier's LRT SUCKS. In fact, all the LRT's in Singapore suck... The only trains with coolness in them are the 151, 651 and 751B's... Not even the NEL's Alstom trains are nice at all...... The new CCL's Alstom trains suck as well... They look un-cool and ugly... ): Looks like I'd rather choose to take buses then. :@ Let's just hope that those C151A's are from KHI or whoever except Bombardier or Alstom... Their looks suck...
You seem to have not taken the Sengkang/Punggol LRT system, that system is really nice and efficient, although SBST slowed down the trains significantly in some portions where there are switches as compared to when it just opened.
I do believe that the Westinghouse/Bombardier People Mover may not work in Bukit Panjang due to the nature of the track. ie the track was badly planned, there are stretches which should be straight but are weaves in and out (as compared to the roads parallel to the tracks), up and down (like South View-Keat Hong-Teck Whye, Bukit Panjang-Senja, Petir-Pending and at Segar). With so many unnecessary bends, it exerts more force on the single guiderail in the middle and making the system more prone to breakdowns. It seems that LTA's misplanning may had partly contributed to the breakdowns.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Now Movia and Metropolis cars will run around DTL and CCL because of KCD?
Possible, if the signalling system is the same and DTL is gonna be run by SMRT!
Originally posted by oahiyeel:Possible, if the signalling system is the same and DTL is gonna be run by SMRT!
most probably SMRT. since when can a depot house another line run by a different company?
Originally posted by nenepokey:most probably SMRT. since when can a depot house another line run by a different company?
IIRC, KCD had provisions for facilities for 2 separate operations of lines... Can't remb where i saw it though...
Originally posted by oahiyeel:IIRC, KCD had provisions for facilities for 2 separate operations of lines... Can't remb where i saw it though...
CCL and DTL Stage 3
Originally posted by C751B:
cool!
wah swee sia! totally different from the C751A batch, especially the emergency door. glass. can't wait to board this train...
If you do notice, in the interior pic, the floor is actually a photo of the C751A, and the lights are a little similar to the C751A.
Originally posted by Scania:If you do notice, in the interior pic, the floor is actually a photo of the C751A, and the lights are a little similar to the C751A.
did you mean c751B?
how would you know how the c751a looks like anyway
Originally posted by jcqh:
did you mean c751B?how would you know how the c751a looks like anyway
C751A is NEL Train lah.
Originally posted by jcqh:
did you mean c751B?how would you know how the c751a looks like anyway
Alstom Metropolis C751A train. IMO the design looks quite nice anyway, just hope they run efficiently.
I believe like what ^tamago^ say, a likelihood of them sharing the same signal systems, probably they run in a similar way like NSL + EWL.
Originally posted by Oceane:
Alstom Metropolis C751A train. IMO the design looks quite nice anyway, just hope they run efficiently.I believe like what ^tamago^ say, a likelihood of them sharing the same signal systems, probably they run in a similar way like NSL + EWL.
if share same signal systems, then better than NEL liao. one series of train on one line very sian one...
that's if SMRT wins the tender for the operator of DTL lo...