Originally posted by mamamamama:Why entirely?
Imagine this. You're on the MRT going out to meet your date. While on your way there, an ah pek beside you takes out his cai peng and starts munching on it. Suddenly the train jerks and his cai peng (with curry) flings out and ruin your new shoes.
The MRT staff are trying to prevent that from happening. Thought we might have to admit that they are a tad bit overboard in doing it. Besides that, what is so bad about trying to prevent the above scenario from happening?
Do you need more and more rules, regulations, laws for Singapore to make people behave? Singapore is already such a "Fine" country, you still want to make it even more "Fine" by having more rules, regulations and laws?
What happened to public education by SMRT? I don't see posters at MRT stations and trains asking people not to eat / drink. I don't see advertisement on tv either.
Other western countries can allow their commuters (young and old) to eat / drink in trains, why can't SMRT? The best part is the train operators there are not charging the passengers train fares but SMRT is.
Being fare-paying passengers, the passengers are customers of a transport company. Which company fine it's customers?
SMRT is already making billions with the train fares, do they still need to fine people for eating / drinking to increase their revenue?
I feel that SMRT being a transport company, whether private or GLC, does not have the right to fine passengers.
Originally posted by starExcaliblur:
In the scenario you described, why did the train jerked? Did the train operator has poor train maneuvering skills or there's a slight uneven surface on the rail. The MRT staff should be looking into that instead.Do you need more and more rules, regulations, laws for Singapore to make people behave? Singapore is already such a "Fine" country, you still want to make it even more "Fine" by having more rules, regulations and laws?
What happened to public education by SMRT? I don't see posters at MRT stations and trains asking people not to eat / drink. I don't see advertisement on tv either.
Other western countries can allow their commuters (young and old) to eat / drink in trains, why can't SMRT? The best part is the train operators there are not charging the passengers train fares but SMRT is.
Being fare-paying passengers, the passengers are customers of a transport company. Which company fine it's customers?
SMRT is already making billions with the train fares, do they still need to fine people for eating / drinking to increase their revenue?
I feel that SMRT being a transport company, whether private or GLC, does not have the right to fine passengers.
All the money from the fines go to the LTA, not SMRT
Originally posted by Tilldeath23:ridiculous... ok la next time those sick ones, dun even think of taking MRT -.-
just go on board, throw up lor.
Originally posted by mamamamama:Entirely? Or just the parts where they are overdoing it?
for me, i think the fine max too much, $500.
Originally posted by starExcaliblur:
In the scenario you described, why did the train jerked? Did the train operator has poor train maneuvering skills or there's a slight uneven surface on the rail. The MRT staff should be looking into that instead.I'm just giving an example as to why the packet of cai peng might just land on your pair of new shoes or clothings. The idea of punishing the offenders will eliminate a large percentage of commuters from eating/drinking in the trains.
Isn't that good?Do you need more and more rules, regulations, laws for Singapore to make people behave? Singapore is already such a "Fine" country, you still want to make it even more "Fine" by having more rules, regulations and laws?
Already having a lot of rules/regulations/law is not a good reason not to add more. If having a particular rule/regulartion/law will better enforce the good behaviour of the citizens, or in this case commuters, then why not?
You hear them all the time. "Eating and drinking are not allowed in stations and trains..."
No 2 countries are the same. What might work out for them, would not mean that it would work out for us. You say that train operators are not charging fares but the cost of running the public transport has to come from somewhere right? Think taxes maybe. 40% tax on your annual income?
If you stain a piece of clothing from GAP, wouldn't they pay for the damages? Well in the case of SMRT, this translates to a fine.
The company's profit or loss has nothing to do with what we are discussing here. Besides, the fine does not go directly to SMRT.
It all boils down to this. Are you punishing the right group of commuters who deserve it or are you simply going according to the book. Some might call it "law by law".
They said no drinking/eating on trains ma, never say cannot spill on it.
Not suppose to eat and drink in the train - as a lot of time you will end up dirty the place, which mean other people cannot sit or stand there and make other uncomfortable.
If you have money and want to ignore the rules to eat and drink - then you are rich enough and deserve to be fine !!!
Think recently people have really cross the line, it start with little sucking of sweets, then push it to drink , now teens even have MC donald party inside - that why in the end all die !!! push luck too far !!! now all cannot.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Pardon them, times are bad so they are finding ways and means to earn $$
Strange, they don't care about people smoking at the bus stops or less than 5 metres from the bus stops.
this fall under NEA not SMRT
Laws are used to protect citizens from harm, eg robbery, murder, rape etc, and shoud not used for .... no eating or drinking water???? what the hell is wrong with singaporean??? cannot behave??? small children???
The more appropriate sign would be "no littering".or "no vandalism", etc.
If SMRT find that ppl talking in train is nuisance, can SMRT fine ppl for talking on train? In future they will put signs like "no sitting on train", "no sleeping on train", "no entering the train" "no.... wtf.
Might as well just ask ppl to buy the ticket and stand at platform are not allow to move besides standing. Or else fine S$1,000,000!!!!!
Personally, i dont SMRT is that efficient.
Unless the staff go around in CV.
I do encourage what they're doing though, just that they have over done it.
What is wrong with taking medicine?
Drinking water is fine too, their main worry is dirtying of the trains right?
Today New Paper (29/7). There's an article about a person fell sick in the train. It also told us about eating sweets etc. in train.
Somehow, I also notice some train drivers bring their water bottle to their cabin.
Originally posted by SouthernCross:Laws are used to protect citizens from harm, eg robbery, murder, rape etc, and shoud not used for .... no eating or drinking water???? what the hell is wrong with singaporean??? cannot behave??? small children???
The more appropriate sign would be "no littering".or "no vandalism", etc.
If SMRT find that ppl talking in train is nuisance, can SMRT fine ppl for talking on train? In future they will put signs like "no sitting on train", "no sleeping on train", "no entering the train" "no.... wtf.
Might as well just ask ppl to buy the ticket and stand at platform are not allow to move besides standing. Or else fine S$1,000,000!!!!!
Tell me more about it - with all the sign no eating / drinking with newspaper pre-warn people that they be fine - still have 300 people fine !!! - what wrong with people !!! Of course cannot behave !!!
hmm.. i believe if passengers observe the rules in the first place, there wouldnt be a need to have such a rule
being unable to eat medicine is ridiculous...
They should just have full bag checks at the fare gates. I don't care if you cannot ta pow macs home, even if you don't eat it on the train.
I feel, for nothing, the innocent are being dragged into the same predicament as the rest just because of some idiotic, incorrigible imbeciles who want to test the system to the limits.
should at least allow plain water lar, if take train from one end to another, which will be around an hr plus of ride, cannot even take a slip like wtf leh?
Who wants to smell all colourless liquids?
Pink Dolphin can or not?
Ribena should be OK, but not too much.
Then pour Coke into your water also bottle can lah.
Then wtf everything can la
Anyways, this rule is just a giant truckload of road apples if you ask me. Firstly I can understand why vehicles have to be heavily priced in Singapore because of our heavy land constraint, but that's one thing, and having a company with an overbombastic management isn't helping at all. I didn't know of this rule until I saw it on the internet, and trust me I thought it was a joke.
Lets look at whats going on here. So we aren't allowed to drink plain pH7 water thats not going to attract any form of pests into a high-speed 10000volts powered train whilst passing through intense scanners and large groups of people? And we can't take any form of medication r lozenge for sore throats in the train unless you receive the permission of an SMRT worker who somehow isn't always around when someone gets a sickness? And they aren't going to listen to any suggestions and instead make use of the media to brainwah us into thinking that its all for our own good? Wow a first world transport system indeed. I love Singapore.(Yes I got that from Paris and Milan so shut up about it now)
Originally posted by Transtar Solitarie:Somehow, I also notice some train drivers bring their water bottle to their cabin.
STOMP them!
see what SMRT can say
we cant drink
but those staffs in the control station
can drink?
they are special beings with extra kidney ar
lol..
so u guys want dehydrated control station people n drivers in the train is it ? hahaha
Originally posted by Anthiadon:
I'm pretty damn sure I saw that thing come into my school with his belt slanted.
The person go to your school , good for you.