Originally posted by wenjie639:Live update frm clement : A malay guy climbed over the HHPSD at Yishun and jumped onto the tracks. Train stopped in time.
i thought hhpsd suppose to prevent people from falling onto the tracks...
Originally posted by Kawac151:i thought hhpsd suppose to prevent people from falling onto the tracks...
Well, they fail at doing so - majorly. If people want to kill themselves, it will do what it takes. I was expecting something like this to happen. It was only a matter of time.
Originally posted by Kawac151:i thought hhpsd suppose to prevent people from falling onto the tracks...
Maybe he see the news saying HHPSD prevent falling into tracks and he want proof everybody wrong.
Originally posted by Scania96:Maybe he see the news saying HHPSD prevent falling into tracks and he want proof everybody wrong.
well...prevent people from falling onto the tracks. but it never say it prevent people from climbing over the PSD and jump onto the tracks...
it is better to have FHPSDs ...
C151s: hehe ... surely C151As dont get the view ...
C651s: second that
C751Bs : why are the "A" trains so suay huan?
Just now @ 12 noon, i boarded 313/314 @ JUR middle platform.2 SMRT staffs wearing orange vests stay inside TO Cabin as the train departed JUR very slowly(i assumed RM mode).the train stop when it reached the newly-jointed track(SB) & the 2 staffs climb out of the cabin & walk along the track to attend to something ahead of the train..after abt 1 min,they came back & climb into the TO Cabin..the train resumed its journey after dat..
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Edit: According to 1977 Chicago Incident, it is possible that IF 075/076 comes to the slidings and couple with 033/034, parts of the train (12 car) will be on a curve / turn, which might have chance to jackkniffed the train and cause the derailment. Thanks to Dragonaxe for PM-ing this details.
I know that Amercian incident was not coupling trains but somehow the speed of it is too low and joins with 2 trains, hence the similarity.
A derailment on a point only happens when there is no locking mechanism.
The incident you've talked about is due to human error. I believe the train infront got its brakes applied, and thus, when the train at the back pushes it forward, it jackknifed it instead of pushing it.
215/216 (2215)

A C651 lifted up...

I think its 227/228's turn to go overhaul
Announcement on 025/026 upon departing Bedok towards Pasir Ris:
"Next station, Tanah Merah Interchange" *pause* "This train service terminates at Changi Airport".
I boarded another train and the same announcement came.
Could it be a clue of through train service coming back since CGL ridership has risen?
lol. Train terminates at CGA via TNM? So not EB liao?
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:lol. Train terminates at CGA via TNM? So not EB liao?
alternate trains....
Originally posted by willis_chong:Announcement on 025/026 upon departing Bedok towards Pasir Ris:
"Next station, Tanah Merah Interchange" *pause* "This train service terminates at Changi Airport".
I boarded another train and the same announcement came.
Could it be a clue of through train service coming back since CGL ridership has risen?
Hmm, in many years ago, I have taken a CGL through train (With RATIS showing 3 CGA), but what happened was inside, the announcement was This train service terminates at Pasir Ris. So on TNM, I did not alight, and some airport bound pax (Carring luggages) went outside and see the RATIS ... Hmm.. CGA....so went in again. Upon train leaving TNM, the announcement was Next Station, Simei with the train crossover and goes below another track heading Expo...... Many hence alighted at Expo (Upon arrival of Expo, it announces.... Simei ..... Simei.....) and board another train back to TNM. (I did not take to CGA to hear "Tampines or "This train service terminates at this station thing.") Worst still, by the time the train reaches to TNM, there was another train towards PSR, and many has to go down and cross to another side, where by then the train ran away le..... And waited for 6 mins for another PSR train. The involved train of wrong announcement was a C751B.
Hmm..... I believe there are quite a number of such incident, so no through train.
Personally, I feel that no through train's reasons is partially security reason, partially low ridership, partially wrong announcement like the above (I have encountered only once, but I dont take MRT so frequently like daily twice) and partially the C751B fault (C751B quite lousy one, gearbox issue.....) that forced SMRT to re-consider TNM - CGA shuttle train.
Just to add on, I guess that there will be a through train back once the Tuas (South) Extension completes, heres the reason:
1: By then, DTL Stage 3 should be (almost) completed and Expo become a real Interchange
2: I doubt that LTA will build a 2 station extension with a "TNM" interchange style but with 4 tracks (Double island and the middle is a Dover Style instead of current TNM layout). I think it is gonna to be use as through train such that
PSR - Tuas South
CGA - Tuas Checkpoint
BTW, my personal guess is the 60 train depot will have to be used for extension wise instead of making the frequency shortern to 1.5mins (Thats a bit too absurd in terms of profitability wise) such that the Tuas South extension train can be extended and link another "Western Region Line" or similar. What is sure is that according to concept plan 2001, there is a plan for extending the EWL to Tuas without the Tuas West / South extension (As a main line no branch) while "Holland Line" will be extended further from Bukit Batok upwards towards CCK as well as downwards and Interchange with Boon Lay, one of the Jurong Region LRT station, and Jurong Island and interchange with one of the Tuas LRT station. I believed that the plan has changed as it sounded too ameatur-ish and Jurong Island so far is a protected area (Staff only area), and hence my guess is that part will get a MRT after 2030 where the 2 station Tuas South extension will be further extended. (As the concept plan seemed to go straight after Gul, going towards Tuas South Extension's route and loop upwards to checkpoint, so it is no doubt that 2 station Tuas South Extension will be and has to be extended. Hmm, what is my take? Please wait for me to have the time to draw out my vision then
@Samuel Lee
So you mean Jurong Island have an MRT station ?? :D
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:@Samuel Lee
So you mean Jurong Island have an MRT station ?? :D
Hmm, confidential plan of me, I got an vision there, but I cant say, but 

found on door B2 @ 2061
Originally posted by EW26 Lakeside:
found on door B2 @ 2061
I rode 061/062 ytd in the same cabin, I didn't see that though
Originally posted by EW26 Lakeside:
found on door B2 @ 2061
Got weird thing meh
Originally posted by SBS7338G:1237/2237 Got new floorings. The floorings are like refurbished SBS MKIII floors.
since last year. ![]()
Yesterday,12.30pm 05/10/10: I boarded 201/202 @ Outram & when the train reached JUR,it overran a bit..the train stalled for about 1 min b4 it reversed to the correct position.
Originally posted by Din89:Yesterday,12.30pm 05/10/10: I boarded 201/202 @ Outram & when the train reached JUR,it overran a bit..the train stalled for about 1 min b4 it reversed to the correct position.
C651 always like that...
Btw I think the training driver use C651s. (Test train)
I think they newcomer to SMRT...
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:C651 always like that...
Btw I think the training driver use C651s. (Test train)
I think they newcomer to SMRT...
eh,i want to be TO leh...2 times kena rejected :(
Originally posted by Din89:eh,i want to be TO leh...2 times kena rejected :(
What's your rank in study? I also wanted to be a TO in the future...
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:What's your rank in study? I also wanted to be a TO in the future...
He did not get his job is due to hearing issues (Was it deaf without hearing aids?) and not he did not study well.
To become a BC / SL, all you need for now is a Secondary 2 Education and a driving license (Class 3 / 4 or equivalent Malaysia driving license which is D / E) with at least one year of driving experience (Meaning, you will never see a probation plate on SBS / SMRT buses even this is his / her first day of the job.)
From there, we can guess to become a TO / CSO, all you need is a Secondary education or maybe ITE in electronics since trains contains more electronical device or equivalent higher learning qualifications (Teritary) and maybe Class 3 or equivalent license (Why maybe is because there is link and no link between driving a car / bus and a train. The link is the knowledge of controlling a vehicle and safety awareness while the no link is there is no way of comparison between the operation of a car / bus and a train, including one uses hand to acclerate / brake a train via the notches but uses right foot to acclerate / brake a car / bus).
Pai seh to C751Blovur, the way you ask people will never get a job as TO, asking what rank you study sounded like pai kia / gangster and it irkes people.