Originally posted by Samuel Lee:
He did not get his job is due to hearing issues (Was it deaf without hearing aids?) and not he did not study well. To become a BC / SL, all you need for now is a Secondary 2 Education and a driving license (Class 3 / 4 or equivalent Malaysia driving license which is D / E) with at least one year of driving experience (Meaning, you will never see a probation plate on SBS / SMRT buses even this is his / her first day of the job.) From there, we can guess to become a TO / CSO, all you need is a Secondary education or maybe ITE in electronics since trains contains more electronical device or equivalent higher learning qualifications (Teritary) and maybe Class 3 or equivalent license (Why maybe is because there is link and no link between driving a car / bus and a train. The link is the knowledge of controlling a vehicle and safety awareness while the no link is there is no way of comparison between the operation of a car / bus and a train, including one uses hand to acclerate / brake a train via the notches but uses right foot to acclerate / brake a car / bus).
Pai seh to C751Blovur, the way you ask people will never get a job as TO, asking what rank you study sounded like pai kia / gangster and it irkes people.
To be honest, i don't understand why does a TO needs to listen. The traction motors is none of the TO's business. The acceleration and deceleration of the different notches for our train is damn big. Its damn obvious man. I just don't get it. Traction motors is technician problem not TOs
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:To be honest, i don't understand why does a TO needs to listen. The traction motors is none of the TO's business. The acceleration and deceleration of the different notches for our train is damn big. Its damn obvious man. I just don't get it. Traction motors is technician problem not TOs
You should be awarded the "Most Epic Reply on Singapore Trains Forum" award.
Originally posted by NickLim™:You should be awarded the "Most Epic Reply on Singapore Trains Forum" award.
You and some of your friends should be awarded the "Most nonsensical reply on Singapore Trains Forum" award.
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:To be honest, i don't understand why does a TO needs to listen. The traction motors is none of the TO's business. The acceleration and deceleration of the different notches for our train is damn big. Its damn obvious man. I just don't get it. Traction motors is technician problem not TOs
They listen might not be the sound but listen to instructions given by the OCC.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:They listen might not be the sound but listen to instructions given by the OCC.
Eh OCC say damn clear what. Hearing aids not reliable meh? SMRT is discriminating against deaf people. Eh people in education wear hearing aids also still can study. Aiyah, just go CASE complain. Unless they got some damn good reason to complain, they are going to get no where
Just now around 2.30pm++ 099/100 bearing the TRN of 89 was parked on the middle track of WDL station. Overheard some CSOs with the vest saying the motor was smoking.. I took a train and went to peep at the train. Saw a few mechanics inspecting the bogie closer to 3100 on 2100 (the side where you will usually see when a train pulls into a station with an island platform).After that i took another train again and i saw a 'silvery frosted looking' bogie.
It was parked there since early in the morning, TO left his cab doors opened.
You mean the motor had smoke?
Originally posted by TecomaStan:You mean the motor had smoke?
I din't see any smoke but a silvery bogie. thats it. that smoke thing was what i overheard from a cso.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:You and some of your friends should be awarded the "Most nonsensical reply on Singapore Trains Forum" award.
Okay, then can you tell me why TOs do not need to listen to drive a train?
Originally posted by NickLim™:Okay, then can you tell me why TOs do not need to listen to drive a train?
Then can you tell me why you must reply in such a nasty way?
relax lah guys, we do not need another flame war leh..
chill man ~
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Then can you tell me why you must reply in such a nasty way?
Because I am being honest towards Dragonaxe. And you have no reason to drag my friends in it. If you have the guts, please put their names down. Now, can you please answer my question which I directed to you?
If you had noticed, I'm back in this forum to correct any misconceptions only, not to participate in any discussions. I have already announced months ago that I've quit this forum. In case this is my last post, I would like to inform you that there are too many errors in this forum, and whatever terminologies you come up with, it is only understandable within this forum.
Why do you say a TO no need to listen?
Imagine if new information is to be broadcast, he needs to listen clearly. What if there is an "explosion" on the traction motors?
A TO doesn't mean he only drives the train. Yes, technicians are the one maintaining the train, but if no one complain = technician also don't know the fault.
TO also needs to listen to sounds that are awkward or rarely heard. Who knows one of this sounds can lead to a disaster, such as an "explosion" on a traction motor?
Don't be too complacent, Mr Dragonaxe. If you don't look at it at a bigger perspective, you should be able to understand why.
--
To Mr Samuel Lee, I suggest you to re-read people's post twice before you reply. This is to avoid any misunderstandings. If it isn't directed at you, don't bother replying it. See, you have created another mess at this forum.
--
Sigh sigh, people don't want to learn. They always think they are right. But the truth is, their facts are simply speculations. (No pun intended)
Originally posted by Interception_7:Why do you say a TO no need to listen?
Imagine if new information is to be broadcast, he needs to listen clearly. What if there is an "explosion" on the traction motors?
A TO doesn't mean he only drives the train. Yes, technicians are the one maintaining the train, but if no one complain = technician also don't know the fault.
TO also needs to listen to sounds that are awkward or rarely heard. Who knows one of this sounds can lead to a disaster, such as an "explosion" on a traction motor?
Don't be too complacent, Mr Dragonaxe. If you don't look at it at a bigger perspective, you should be able to understand why.
--
To Mr Samuel Lee, I suggest you to re-read people's post twice before you reply. This is to avoid any misunderstandings. If it isn't directed at you, don't bother replying it. See, you have created another mess at this forum.
--
Sigh sigh, people don't want to learn. They always think they are right. But the truth is, their facts are simply speculations. (No pun intended)
Hmm, you take a look on the MRT station suggestion thread where there is a discussion on the Somapah Road before you reply.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Hmm, you take a look on the MRT station suggestion thread where there is a discussion on the Somapah Road before you reply.
I didn't state any names, so why do you think it's you that I'm referring?
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Hmm, you take a look on the MRT station suggestion thread where there is a discussion on the Somapah Road before you reply.
So can you answer my question? I'm going to eat my dinner now, and I hope to see your reply when I get back.
And I said I wanted to meet you for a cup of coffee because what I want to tell you is not very convenient to post on a forum. I say things for a reason.
Originally posted by NickLim™:Because I am being honest towards Dragonaxe. And you have no reason to drag my friends in it. If you have the guts, please put their names down. Now, can you please answer my question which I directed to you?
If you had noticed, I'm back in this forum to correct any misconceptions only, not to participate in any discussions. I have already announced months ago that I've quit this forum. In case this is my last post, I would like to inform you that there are too many errors in this forum, and whatever terminologies you come up with, it is only understandable within this forum.
I did replied on that but my earlier post stated that they may have to take instructions on OCC, but I am not sure the real reason for people who uses hearing aids = cannot be a TO as people used to speculate only. Just like learning how to drive, one cannot be disabled, so probably deaf also warrants no driving of cars, unless getting one from handicapped assoication, which another another type of vehicle that is less commonly seen.
Originally posted by Interception_7:I didn't state any names, so why do you think it's you that I'm referring?
You did say that. And I am saying that I find that Nick's post is irritating, not directing to you anyway.
@NickLim TM:
And I said I wanted to meet you for a cup of coffee because what I want to tell you is not very convenient to post on a forum. I say things for a reason.
There is something call PM. I dont meet people as and when they requested for one.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:You did say that. And I am saying that I find that Nick's post is irritating, not directing to you anyway.
@NickLim TM:
There is something call PM. I dont meet people as and when they requested for one.
I told you to "re-read people's post twice before you reply. This is to avoid any misunderstandings."
I didn't blame you for any false information you've posted.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:You did say that. And I am saying that I find that Nick's post is irritating, not directing to you anyway.
@NickLim TM:
I find your posts irritating as much as you find mine. To quote, I said this on the other thread.
"If you need further clarification of things, I invite you for a cup of coffee."
So, if you need further clarification of things, I invite you for a cup of coffee. I am not demanding to meet you. But fine, I shall PM you now.
Originally posted by Interception_7:I told you to "re-read people's post twice before you reply. This is to avoid any misunderstandings."
I didn't blame you for any false information you've posted.
Yes, you tell me to read again that Nick is actually not referring to me at all for this thread and my reply is seemed to create trouble. But I am also asking you to read in other thread with similar posting which reminds that issue again which I dont like, and hence the reply by me. I think i shall apologize if that makes you feel uneasy.
Originally posted by NickLim™:I find your posts irritating as much as you find mine. To quote, I said this on the other thread.
"If you need further clarification of things, I invite you for a cup of coffee."
So, if you need further clarification of things, I invite you for a cup of coffee. I am not demanding to meet you. But fine, I shall PM you now.
The intention is clear. I do not need to clarify anything.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Yes, you tell me to read again that Nick is actually not referring to me at all for this thread and my reply is seemed to create trouble. But I am also asking you to read in other thread with similar posting which reminds that issue again which I dont like, and hence the reply by me. I think i shall apologize if that makes you feel uneasy.
Apologising is easy to say, but it's hard to prove. Actions speaks louder than words. If you can prove to us, then I'll congratulate you.
No need to apologise to me. It's not like as if you've done something wrong.
Originally posted by Interception_7:Why do you say a TO no need to listen?
--
--
I'm trying to support my post, proving to you that my post is VALID and NOT flaming.
A Train Operator doesn't even give a damn to a graffiti on the exterior. But they care about some parts in a way. In the train cabin, the walls that separate the passenger and train operator area is almost fully sound-proof. About 90%. They can't hear whatever announcements that are being played or whatever din they are making in the train.
Look, In the train cabin, all commands are NOT VERBAL but VISUAL. All commands like even to the simplest like "DOORS OPENING" command is also shown. Air Gauge, Air Pressure and Speed are all shown. If a motor were too fail, an error would show up on the dashboard.
If a bus has the simplest of an Air-con fault detector and fuel gauge. An airplane has speedometer, attitude level and a lot more. Why not a train? A train is equally important to any modes of transport. It carries thousand's of lives and dollars.
All trains are given a through check. If one part is overlooked like a damaged engine on a plane, it can lead to serious consequences like derailment. When a motor fails or what so ever, the TO will be alerted by a flashing bulb.
Look at an ICE cabin, look how every single detail is being shown. From the doors mode to the motors condition. From the signalling to the location.
Each train would have this important features. We are no longer living in the past where signalling depended on time. WE now depend on technology.
Originally posted by Interception_7:
Apologising is easy to say, but it's hard to prove. Actions speaks louder than words. If you can prove to us, then I'll congratulate you.No need to apologise to me. It's not like as if you've done something wrong.
What values support you to support the negative values in our lives. Messengers from Hell sent you a letter? Nah. Not flaming here.