Originally posted by Dragonaxe:I'm trying to support my post, proving to you that my post is VALID and NOT flaming.
A Train Operator doesn't even give a damn to a graffiti on the exterior. But they care about some parts in a way. In the train cabin, the walls that separate the passenger and train operator area is almost fully sound-proof. About 90%. They can't hear whatever announcements that are being played or whatever din they are making in the train.
Look, In the train cabin, all commands are NOT VERBAL but VISUAL. All commands like even to the simplest like "DOORS OPENING" command is also shown. Air Gauge, Air Pressure and Speed are all shown. If a motor were too fail, an error would show up on the dashboard.
If a bus has the simplest of an Air-con fault detector and fuel gauge. An airplane has speedometer, attitude level and a lot more. Why not a train? A train is equally important to any modes of transport. It carries thousand's of lives and dollars.
All trains are given a through check. If one part is overlooked like a damaged engine on a plane, it can lead to serious consequences like derailment. When a motor fails or what so ever, the TO will be alerted by a flashing bulb.
Look at an ICE cabin, look how every single detail is being shown. From the doors mode to the motors condition. From the signalling to the location.
Each train would have this important features. We are no longer living in the past where signalling depended on time. WE now depend on technology.
You may say everything is visually transmitted, but why are there Telecommunication systems onboard the train? Why is there an EPAX at the HW part of the station? Not everything is transmitted visually.
In the train cabin, the walls that separate the passenger and train operator area is almost fully sound-proof. About 90%. They can't hear whatever announcements that are being played or whatever din they are making in the train.
It isn't sound proof. I can hear TOs talking to technicians onboard the cab.
Look, In the train cabin, all commands are NOT VERBAL but VISUAL. All commands like even to the simplest like "DOORS OPENING" command is also shown. Air Gauge, Air Pressure and Speed are all shown. If a motor were too fail, an error would show up on the dashboard.
In the C751B, doors closing indicator is a long high-pitched beep.
If a bus has the simplest of an Air-con fault detector and fuel gauge. An airplane has speedometer, attitude level and a lot more. Why not a train? A train is equally important to any modes of transport. It carries thousand's of lives and dollars.
They are not located in the cab itself. They are located at the end of the car, near to the gangway.
All trains are given a through check. If one part is overlooked like a damaged engine on a plane, it can lead to serious consequences like derailment. When a motor fails or what so ever, the TO will be alerted by a flashing bulb.
And by that time, it's already too late.
Look at an ICE cabin, look how every single detail is being shown. From the doors mode to the motors condition. From the signalling to the location.
Each train would have this important features. We are no longer living in the past where signalling depended on time. WE now depend on technology.
That is ICE, they are a new millenium technology. Ours are technology of the 80s.
--
What values support you to support the negative values in our lives. Messengers from Hell sent you a letter? Nah. Not flaming here.
Don't mind rephrasing? Your english is tooooo profound.
Originally posted by Interception_7:You may say everything is visually transmitted, but why are there Telecommunication systems onboard the train? Why is there an EPAX at the HW part of the station? Not everything is transmitted visually.
It isn't sound proof. I can hear TOs talking to technicians onboard the cab.
In the C751B, doors closing indicator is a long high-pitched beep.
They are not located in the cab itself. They are located at the end of the car, near to the gangway.
And by that time, it's already too late.
That is ICE, they are a new millenium technology. Ours are technology of the 80s.
--
Don't mind rephrasing? Your english is tooooo profound.
From whatever you say, ntothing makes a single sense because you catch none of the balls that i was throwing
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:From whatever you say, ntothing makes a single sense because you catch none of the balls that i was throwing
Then what were you trying to say ?
Originally posted by Interception_7:Then what were you trying to say ?
Do some soul-searching first. You will find it somehow. Read in between the lines. Never underestimate your opponent
Well said Interception_7. And to add, over-reliance on technology can leads to one's downfall. If automated train system is all that awesome, why is there a need to have humans to man the system? Did you watch iRobot? That's exactly what happens when humans over-rely on technology.
And to answer the doubts of those who find that SMRT is discriminating the physically disabled, they are not.
Why is that so? Here are some of the reasons:
Vision
- TO need to have a clear visual of track side signals, obstacles and signage. Failure to heed any of these warnings/visuals may result in an accident, which may result in casualties/death.
- If vision is impaired, it may result in TO pressing the wrong button at the wrong time. In the worst case, it may result in casualties/death.
Hearing
- As mentioned, TO needs to have a healthy hearing to be able to operate a train. For example, TO may not be able to hear what the OCC is trying to say. If what the OCC is trying to convey to the TO is important and of a certain urgency, if not acted promptly, may results in casualties/death.
- Technical faults which are hints to a upcoming mechanical explosion/fire/emergencies. If TO are unable to hear these sounds, the result of not hearing them may result in casualties/death.
- Passengers communication through CEB with the TO. If TO is unable to catch what the passengers is trying to say, casualties/death may occur.
So are you able to set your mind to rest while commuting/joy-riding with a person who may not be able to operate a train correctly when emergency-like situation occurs?
I am not being exaggerating, but being a TO is not just about driving a train. There are of course, many other reasons but the short list I've given should be sufficient for your understanding. Casualties and death are reasonable enough to explain why the physically disabled are often not allowed to operate trains, let alone an aircraft.
Lastly on a side note, stop derailling this thread. This is a Train Happenings thread. If you have any queries related to trains/railway related stuffs, kindly post in it's relevant thread. Thank you.
Double posted -----Deleted------
Saw a train parking at the middle track of W'lands Station for the whole day. Wonder if it brokedown, waiting to be tow back to Bishan Depot at midnight.
Originally posted by E5:Well said Interception_7. And to add, over-reliance on technology can leads to one's downfall. If automated train system is all that awesome, why is there a need to have humans to man the system? Did you watch iRobot? That's exactly what happens when humans over-rely on technology.
And to answer the doubts of those who find that SMRT is discriminating the physically disabled, they are not.
Vision
- TO need to have a clear visual of track side signals, obstacles and signage. Failure to heed any of these warnings/visuals may result in an accident, which may result in casualties/death.
- If vision is impaired, it may result in TO pressing the wrong button at the wrong time. In the worst case, it may result in casualties/death.Hearing
- As mentioned, TO needs to have a healthy hearing to be able to operate a train. For example, TO may not be able to hear what the OCC is trying to say. If what the OCC is trying to convey to the TO is important and of a certain urgency, if not acted promptly, may results in casualties/death.
- Technical faults which are hints to a upcoming mechanical explosion/fire/emergencies. If TO are unable to hear these sounds, the result of not hearing them may result in casualties/death.
- Passengers communication through CEB with the TO. If TO is unable to catch what the passengers is trying to say, casualties/death may occur.So are you able to set your mind to rest while commuting/joy-riding with a person who may not be able to operate a train correctly when emergency-like situation occurs?
I am not being exaggerating, but being a TO is not just about driving a train. There are of course, many other reasons but the short list I've given should be sufficient for your understanding. Casualties and death are reasonable enough to explain why the physically disabled are often not allowed to operate trains, let alone an aircraft.
Lastly on a side note, stop derailling this thread. This is a Train Happenings thread. If you have any queries related to trains/railway related stuffs, kindly post in it's relevant thread. Thank you.
Hhhhmmmm....guess i've no chance to be a TO :((
Originally posted by Din89:Hhhhmmmm....guess i've no chance to be a TO :((
No teach? No tutorial? Something like test train.. :)
Originally posted by E5:Well said Interception_7. And to add, over-reliance on technology can leads to one's downfall. If automated train system is all that awesome, why is there a need to have humans to man the system? Did you watch iRobot? That's exactly what happens when humans over-rely on technology.
Vision
- If vision is impaired, it may result in TO pressing the wrong button at the wrong time. In the worst case, it may result in casualties/death.Hearing
- Passengers communication through CEB with the TO. If TO is unable to catch what the passengers is trying to say, casualties/death may occur.So are you able to set your mind to rest while commuting/joy-riding with a person who may not be able to operate a train correctly when emergency-like situation occurs?
I beg to differ. Yes, whether is it Dragonaxe side or Interception / E5 side, both had try to see things in different prespective. Well, while I agree with what you said on above reason, but dont forget that Din89 uses a hearing aid. As I am not a deaf person, neither did I used one such device, therefore unable to comment te effectiveness of such tools but based on various related advertisement, they generally say thanks to XXX hearing aid, I have finally found my hearing back etc. Well, hearing aid is not foul proof also it is not necessary for deaf only but also suitable for people who has poor hearing but not completely deaf, and maybe to me, the cloest thing i could think of is an earpiece. Nobody is asking SMRT / other rail operators to provide these people an hearing aid, but what I am trying to say is that hearing aid are meant to provide and act as an ear drum, and hence it should be comparable to a real and healthy ear drum without deaf issue. So, the above arguments along with Interception does not sound reasonable anymore.
So, based on your argument, people who wears spectacles / contact lens are also ban from driving car, bus, plane (Not over 500 degree) or train because they got some vision problems and hence they need these stuffs? The answer is definitely no, so why not the same rule applied to hearing aid, as Din89 has used to say he is not completely deaf in his previous post. Please dont say it is stupid to use spectacles / contact lens as counter argument but its all about safety, unless you are trying to say the reason spectales / contact lens are allowed .is because ~73% of SG population and comparable ratio of the populations are wearing either of them and it is kind of "mission impossible" to find people who dont wear spectacles and / or contact lens but medically and educationally qualified to be trained as a driver, TO or pilot.
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:No teach? No tutorial? Something like test train.. :)
Dun be silly, he was rejected straight upon application and means he did not even take the TO course by SMRT. Not at all.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Saw a train parking at the middle track of W'lands Station for the whole day. Wonder if it brokedown, waiting to be tow back to Bishan Depot at midnight.
Its 099/100. Motor probably overheated
The discussion for the above few posts are off-topic. Please create a thread if you guys wants to continue your discussion.
Originally posted by wenjie639:Its 099/100. Motor probably overheated
I confusing why a train riding such a whole day? Why don't they return to depot
E.g: Morning > Afternoon
Originally posted by c751bLoVuR:I confusing why a train riding such a whole day? Why don't they return to depot
E.g: Morning > Afternoon
eh motor tio smoked leh, if continue fire liao lo.. 2100 affected car with one siler bogie
Originally posted by Din89:Hhhhmmmm....guess i've no chance to be a TO :((
If you just have some slight difficulty in hearing, you may still try to apply to be a TO again (Same logic as those wants to be pilot needs to have their eyes sights 500 degrees and below, there may be also a varying maximum requirement for those who have trouble hearing.). If you wish to apply for a TO position again when the slot opens up, I wish you all the best!
Originally posted by E5:If you just have some slight difficulty in hearing, you may still try to apply to be a TO again (Same logic as those wants to be pilot needs to have their eyes sights 500 degrees and below, there may be also a varying maximum requirement for those who have trouble hearing.). If you wish to apply for a TO position again when the slot opens up, I wish you all the best!
Could there be a chance that the one who manages the interview not so sure the degree of hearing difficulty (Discrimination by that person instead of a particular company??) = no TO and hence reject him at once.
I wished Din all the best on this issue as well.
Originally posted by E5:If you just have some slight difficulty in hearing, you may still try to apply to be a TO again (Same logic as those wants to be pilot needs to have their eyes sights 500 degrees and below, there may be also a varying maximum requirement for those who have trouble hearing.). If you wish to apply for a TO position again when the slot opens up, I wish you all the best!
I'll not give up until i get the job :)
Originally posted by Din89:I'll not give up until i get the job :)
Relax, maybe further questions please proceed to Questions thread.
john, i thought you said train forum no flamewars de. ![]()
Originally posted by SBS7485P:john, i thought you said train forum no flamewars de.
What was this post for? It's certainly off topic.
Your 'off topic' refer to what?
Today, on my journey home from simei, took 033/034. When it was going towards tampines to pasir ris, it kept on playing the "Doors are closing" announcement.
Some interesting happenings today.
1 - Minor track fault at JUR NSL side, trains passing through are to be in RM. Video will be up soon.
2 - A skytrain went on service with headlights, taillights, and the interior lights off. Went for about 5 rounds before a staff went in to turn the lights on. Video will be up soon.

wonder what happen?? T.O came in at ch station goes out at newton.. Then from the toa payoh station another Tso came in and leave at bishan..at amk, same thing happen..thot it was some bomb hoax or some person...