Originally posted by ^tamago^:
u heng. once i boarded NS northbound at 6.10pm and a 2-hour disruption happened 15mins later. also very heng...
eggy so lucky
So, any updates on the casue of this problem?
My two cents is that train system have a limitation on the maximum trains on line, and SMRT prob based on the old technology of fixed block system. (Something like, one train moves off a certain section, or front station, before rear station gets clearance for movement?)
Let's share?
They still think they can really take 1.3m ppl per day w/o taiji
Still think of removing seats to free up more capacity
Hmm... I was thinking whether these frequent breakdown is caused by the increased freq of the trains, pushing the track signaling system to the limit. Cos initially the system did not experience the 2.5min freq years ago. The shortest was 4min if I can remember.
Originally posted by sbst275:like buses ma, 1 side delay e other side will kena liao
but buses got SP mah...can sent fm depot
Originally posted by CAIX:Hmm... I was thinking whether these frequent breakdown is caused by the increased freq of the trains, pushing the track signaling system to the limit. Cos initially the system did not experience the 2.5min freq years ago. The shortest was 4min if I can remember.
Frequency is still not much of an excuse for breakdown...
Our infrastructure is younger than that of many Japanese rail lines, they did recent upgrades while ours did not, yet their breakdown rate is lower than us...
Sometimes its a combination of factors. Checks and maintenance is very much necessary too...
Originally posted by sbst275:This morning at abt 9am+ like tat. I noticed train towards JKN didn't arrive for abt 4 mins, platform packed like siao...
1st train couldn't take everyone in and there was PA telling passengers of slight disruption and wait for next train if it's too packed
Wah... 4 mins... and you call it disruption?
i think our smrt cheapskate la. they want to max out the number of train their signaling system but in result increase the chance of breakdown. I think a upgrade is required. Even if now the signaling system can accept this amount of traffic...but what about the future?