Today 20 April 2010
At about 6.44am, I boarded 831 at Serangoon station heading to Bishan, train was delayed about 2mins, VIS also got show this train is delayed due to train fault ... then the train departed.
During departure, the train delayed due to track fault annoucement is being played,no lorong chuan annoucement.When arrived at Lorong Chuan, train delayed annoucement could be heard being played in station,after 3mins, the train played door closing annoucement 3 times before closing its doors
After Departure, it was normal ,after next station bishan annoucement it played the train delayed due to track fault annoucement, then arrived at bishan then I got off
Note: There was no TO onboard the train.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Sure bo, then they does not seemed to have the need to have another construction site in PMD. Link leh.....
It is right behind the covered platforms maybe? But SMRT said it themselves, not I say one.
Originally posted by SBS8138K:Today 20 April 2010
At about 6.44am, I boarded 831 at Serangoon station heading to Bishan, train was delayed about 2mins, VIS also got show this train is delayed due to train fault ... then the train departed.
During departure, the train delayed due to track fault annoucement is being played,no lorong chuan annoucement.When arrived at Lorong Chuan, train delayed annoucement could be heard being played in station,after 3mins, the train played door closing annoucement 3 times before closing its doors
After Departure, it was normal ,after next station bishan annoucement it played the train delayed due to track fault annoucement, then arrived at bishan then I got off
Note: There was no TO onboard the train.
LOL. I boarded the same train but going DBG. Stood by the TO, listened to the walkie talkie and looked at the cabin. The walkie talkie says there is a train stuck at PYL. The TO inside communicates with KCDEP, unable to activate CM, then had to use RM. Then there was a spare at KCDEP entrance, so the KCDEP personnel also told all to prepare for the receiving. Train service resumed at around 7:28 am. Train frequencies srewed totally.
Originally posted by #11-18:Just took CCL Marymount to Paya Lebar Evening peak service
When the train approaches Paya Lebar the CSO asked all passengers to alight . Both doors opened at the same time and a CSO made an announcement saying that the train at the middle platform is not for passenger svc . Then the train doors remained open for 3 mins without any passengers in the train. After 3 mins of emptyness a male CSO made an announcement saying that Passengers who are going towards Serangoon/Bishan or Marymount please board the train at the middle platform.
Evening peak 1st train departs from Paya Lebar middle platform is at 1715 hrs
If I am not mistaken the middle platform at Paya Lebar leads to a dead end, it doesn't link to the tracks heading towards Dakota. The middle platform serves only one direction towards Marymount station.
Unlike Tanah Merah, Ang Mo Kio and Jurong East station middle platforms which have both ends connected.
For CCL1 and 2 stations tour will be re-upload on 22 April 2010 at 5pm due to an error and some bugs found:
1) Credits scroll too fast (not in time for "Thank you for watching~")
2) Error and not in time pictures and typer between Esplanade and Stadium
3) Two pictures (duplicate) at MacPherson
We are apologise for re-upload again
I think e SWT dun even work.
Many SWT are heading towards Marymount during PM peak relatively empty vs those from CBD.
Wondering if SMRT deploys 1 more train (to 17) and make overall line freq 4 mins instead of 3.5 - 7 mins w/ abt 16 trains.
Originally posted by SMB32T:
If I am not mistaken the middle platform at Paya Lebar leads to a dead end, it doesn't link to the tracks heading towards Dakota. The middle platform serves only one direction towards Marymount station.Unlike Tanah Merah, Ang Mo Kio and Jurong East station middle platforms which have both ends connected.
Not if you are not mistaken, because, you are correct.
The middle track in PYL leads to a dead end right after the station a bit heading Dakota without any connection, and soon after the station, the other 2 tracks has a converging curve as well.
So there are 2 speculations on this middle track:
1: More likely but not what I wished: It is a true dead end without any use unless a PLMP is made (Paya Lebar Modification Project), where I dont know why the people in LTA had designed PYL in such a way!?
2: Less likely but this is what I wished: Between the converging curve on the non middle track in PYL, this track could have gone downwards, and connect to Eastern Region Line in somewhere near Mountbatten Road / Tanjong Katong Road (South) junction. Because I kept wondering the upcoming Eastern Region Line's depot location, where I think a major depot like Kim Chuan can only be possible at Changi Point, which may not be the best location, considering the proximity to existing EWL Changi Depot and more importantly, the Changi Airport and Changi Naval Base nearby, which is something like putting all the eggs in one basket, that obviously is a bad choice. Think, what if a terrorist attack managed to succeed in either one of the 3?
The Marina area indeed have such a space, but if they would intend to do it (And forget about Marina Development etc), they would have done it now instead of constructing a maintenance facility in Marina Bay instead, for the upcoming Downtown Line Stage 1 (Gali Batu depot is not ready yet, and there is no link from Kim Chuan to Downtown Line as well, because the Downtown Line Stage 3 is under construction as well)
SWTs cannot make it in passenger announcement.
Nothing announced as it en-routes to PL, not to mention nothing mentioned as it reaches PL.
Even I noticed the schedules ends up the SWT has to wait for 1 full trip train in between before moving off.
The best part, suddenly Paya Lebar is MRT terminal 8.
Originally posted by LTnF1fan:A lot of problems for CCL
1) Confusion of trains at PYL, directions and the terminating at PYL trains.
2) Problems I saw: 19/4/10 Set 30 TRN 001 in the morn DBG bound betwwen PYL and SGN, 8303 end door could not open fully. Causing passengers having to run to the next door. Only happened at Bartley and MacPherson out of the trip from PYL to Bartley.
3) Confusion betwwen Promenade platforms. BTW, the news has announced (SMRT said) that Promenade will be future built in Raffles Place orientation, so we can be sure that the opposite platform is DTL.
Ok, regarding your point 3, I have found an evidence supporting it:
http://news.xin.msn.com/zh/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4039850
Chinese Article
新环线候车月�设在��楼层 容易使公众混淆方�
两个候车月�设在��楼层, ��留神就会走错。
New Cricle Line platform are set on different levels. The general public are easily confused by the direction.
2 platforms are set on different levels, a slightest off guard / notice would have walked to the wrong place.
æ–°ä¼ åª’æ–°é—»æŠ¥é�“,两个候车月å�°è®¾åœ¨ä¸�å�Œæ¥¼å±‚,ç¨�ä¸�留神就会走错。ä¸�熟悉路线的乘客,å�•å‡è¿™ä¸¤ä¸ªæŒ‡ç¤ºç‰Œï¼Œä¸€æ—¶é—´ä¹Ÿæ— 从分辨该往哪个方å�‘去。
Reported by Mediacorp News, 2 platforms are set on different levels, a slightest off guard / notice would have walked to the wrong place. For those passengers who are unfamiliar with the routes, just by having these 2 direction destos, they still might not be able to know which direction should they go.
除了有人走错月�,过去两天也有至少20�乘客��门廊站的工作人员问路。为了改善情况,地�公�SMRT在多个主�入�处,竖立了临时指示牌��助乘客。
Apart of people going towards the wrong platform, at least 20 passengers in the past 2 days had approached to the staff in Promenade station to ask for direction. In order to improved the station, the rapid transit company, SMRT had set up temporary direction destos on many major entrance that aims to assist the passengers.
第一次æ¯�æ ·ä¸œè¥¿éƒ½æ˜¯éš¾å¦‚æžœä½ èµ°å¯¹äº†æ–¹å�‘ï¼Œä½ å¯¹ä½�那方å�‘ï¼Œä½ ä¼šçŸ¥é�“哪一个方å�‘ä½ å°±ä¸�会难。
The first time of everything is always difficult. Hence, if you have walked towards the correct direction, you will target on the direction, and hence, you will know which direction to proceed and it will not be difficult anymore.
SMRT表示,�门廊站将�展�转�站,衔接滨海市区线。把往返方�的月�候车处,设在��楼层,就是�腾出空间供往�使用,而且方便扩建。
SMRT expressed, Promenade station will be developed into an interchange station, connecting to Downtown Line. Thus, by putting the 2 directions of the platforms set at different levels, is meant to saving up the space in order to use in future, and it is easy for expansion buildng.
SMRT地é“�环线è�¥è¿�ç»�ç�†åˆ˜ç´ 兰说:“它的设计其实是跟我们现在的转æ�¢ç«™æ²¡æœ‰ä¸¤æ ·å¥½åƒ�我们的莱佛士站,它的东西方å�‘å’Œå�—北方å�‘的月å�°ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ˜¯åœ¨ä¸�å�Œçš„æ¥¼å±‚ 的。”
SMRT Circle Line Operations Manager Ms Liu said: "The design of this station is actually no difference to our existing interchange station, such as Raffles Place, where the East / West direction and North / South direction's platform are set on different levels."
指示牌多了,能解决一般乘客迷路的问题。但如果完全看ä¸�æ‡‚è‹±æ–‡ï¼Œå°±æ— æµŽäºŽäº‹äº†ã€‚
When the direction destos are increased, it can solved most passenger's being lost issue. However, for those passengers who cannot read English at all, then there is nothing they could done.
地é“�å…¬å�¸è¡¨ç¤ºï¼Œæ£åœ¨å¯†åˆ‡åœ°ç›‘ç�£æƒ…å†µï¼Œç ”ç©¶ä¹˜å®¢çš„å��应,并且探讨是ä¸�是有必è¦�在一些特定的地点,增设ä¸�å�Œè¯è¨€çš„告示牌。
Rapid Transit company said that they are closely monitoring the situation, and research on passenger'sreaction, and looking into the need to install information boards in different languages on certain special locations.
However, even if it is really a DTL purpose, then what about CCLe? I think that there is a chance where DTL is away, and the other direction (Unused platform) is CCLe. If it is going to be like Raffles Place (Or City Hall) style, then it means that CCL trains can ply on DTL and DTL trains can ply on CCL as well, which is what the initial announcement of Downtown Extension (And not Downtown Line by then). And by doing so (The unused platform is DTL / CCLe), it means that the existing tracks need to change. (A so called PMMP? Promenade Modification Project)
BTW, I remembered that there was a disruption for a day or 2 between Outram Park - Harbourfront due to Circle Line, was that involving the change of tracks layout?
Also, just a question, is there a chance that actually the unused platforms, did linked to Nicoll Highway, except, it was the old collapsed station instead of the current NCW because I did not see anything different between Promenade and Nicoll Highway.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Also, just a question, is there a chance that actually the unused platforms, did linked to Nicoll Highway, except, it was the old collapsed station instead of the current NCW because I did not see anything different between Promenade and Nicoll Highway.
I think its unlikely. from what I read, at the point of collapse, the cut and cover segment of tunnel after Promenade and the river crossing to Stadium was completed, thus a new set of tunnels were mined.
A bit of my views. Has anyone noticed that the interchange for cross-platform stations are denoted by a o while interchanges requiring you to walk are denoted by an o-o? Excluding MRT-LRT interchanges. That being said, could Promenade and Bayfront be cross-platform interchanges then?
Btw, I've figured out a way to make HarbourFront cross-platform as seen from the map. If you guys are interested I could draw a track diagram.

Er, image can't seem to load, so please visit http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/proj_maps_rail_l.htm
Likely if CCL6 projects materalises.
But if it's current planned, Bayfront is only for DTL.
I was quite confused with CCL RATIS.. as the next train arriving in mins can somehow "jumped" around.. next train is 2 mins, becomes 6 to 3 to 5 and to 4.. Then the train has arrived alr..
secondly is if the train is bounding to DBG or PYL.. also likes to jump around..
Originally posted by NickLim™:A bit of my views. Has anyone noticed that the interchange for cross-platform stations are denoted by a o while interchanges requiring you to walk are denoted by an o-o? Excluding MRT-LRT interchanges. That being said, could Promenade and Bayfront be cross-platform interchanges then?
Btw, I've figured out a way to make HarbourFront cross-platform as seen from the map. If you guys are interested I could draw a track diagram.
Er, image can't seem to load, so please visit http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/proj_maps_rail_l.htm
Oddly, it seemed true on the surface. However, that was not stated, which gives a room for speculation. BTW, even if that is the case, dont forget that Harbourfront NEL has 6 train carriages and no 3rd rail, while Harbourfront CCL has only 3 train carriages and no pantograph, how to make it a cross-platform interchange? (Esp modifying the Platform B in Harbourfront NEL to become a CCL terminus)
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Oddly, it seemed true on the surface. However, that was not stated, which gives a room for speculation. BTW, even if that is the case, dont forget that Harbourfront NEL has 6 train carriages and no 3rd rail, while Harbourfront CCL has only 3 train carriages and no pantograph, how to make it a cross-platform interchange? (Esp modifying the Platform B in Harbourfront NEL to become a CCL terminus)
No modifications needed, just additions.

I've tried to make this look to-scale. So anyway, if NEL continues using Platform A for boarding and alighting during off peak, passengers will alight on the left for transfer to the CCL, and alight on the right to exit the station. If it proceeds on to the TBS and Platform B, allow passengers to stay on the train.
Similarly, CCL will operate the same way, by stopping at its Platform B. Passengers will alight on the left for transfer to NEL, and the right to VivoCity. If it proceeds on to the TBS and Platform A, allow passengers to stay on the train. But if the crossover before entering the station is a scissors/diamond/tandem crossing, this method will prove difficult and it may be as dumb as JEMP.
To add on: This method was used in Hong Kong's Nam Cheong station to connect the Tung Chung Line with the West Rail Line, which was built 5 years apart. Too bad LTA didn't plan for this, as seen on the signboard posted in HarbourFront Centre.
Originally posted by NickLim™:No modifications needed, just additions.
I've tried to make this look to-scale. So anyway, if NEL continues using Platform A for boarding and alighting during off peak, passengers will alight on the left for transfer to the CCL, and alight on the right to exit the station. If it proceeds on to the TBS and Platform B, allow passengers to stay on the train.
Similarly, CCL will operate the same way, by stopping at its Platform B. Passengers will alight on the left for transfer to NEL, and the right to VivoCity. If it proceeds on to the TBS and Platform A, allow passengers to stay on the train. But if the crossover before entering the station is a scissors/diamond/tandem crossing, this method will prove difficult and it may be as dumb as JEMP.
To add on: This method was used in Hong Kong's Nam Cheong station to connect the Tung Chung Line with the West Rail Line, which was built 5 years apart. Too bad LTA didn't plan for this, as seen on the signboard posted in HarbourFront Centre.
Ok, sounds potentially a solution, but we must look at the fact how does the track in CCL aligns, where got so swee meh? (Not sure for me, I dont stay there)
BTW, to improve ur idea, it is unlikely that either SBST or SMRT would ever allow passengers to stay on a TBS, which I guess that if it is a off peak hour, then the platform A on NEL would open on both sides, such that passengers would alight from the left to transfer CCL, while alighting on the right would go to the Vivo. All passengers will be allowed to be stayed on the train and no staff will come and kick your butt out.
If, it is a peak hour, then only left doors of NEL would open, and the staff will ask everybody to alight, and transfer to CCL / go to Vivo on the left and for cases that are overstopped, they have to transfer to another (probably same lah) train via concourse (Climbing Up & down exercise via esclators / stairs / lifts ....?).
So the CCL will work the same way as well.
Originally posted by NickLim™:No modifications needed, just additions.
What is a diamond and tandem crossing? Scissors can be seen on Dhoby Ghaut CCL, Marina Bay and Changi Airport.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Ok, sounds potentially a solution, but we must look at the fact how does the track in CCL aligns, where got so swee meh? (Not sure for me, I dont stay there)
BTW, to improve ur idea, it is unlikely that either SBST or SMRT would ever allow passengers to stay on a TBS, which I guess that if it is a off peak hour, then the platform A on NEL would open on both sides, such that passengers would alight from the left to transfer CCL, while alighting on the right would go to the Vivo. All passengers will be allowed to be stayed on the train and no staff will come and kick your butt out.
If, it is a peak hour, then only left doors of NEL would open, and the staff will ask everybody to alight, and transfer to CCL / go to Vivo on the left and for cases that are overstopped, they have to transfer to another (probably same lah) train via concourse (Climbing Up & down exercise via esclators / stairs / lifts ....?).
So the CCL will work the same way as well.
Got. In fact, the tracks for both lines are swee swee east-west oriented. Also the same depth.
Hmm I think you mean alight on the right? Because my proposed platforms has no link with the concourse. No space upstairs. Or maybe there is but I haven't noticed.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:What is a diamond and tandem crossing? Scissors can be seen on Dhoby Ghaut CCL, Marina Bay and Changi Airport.
Diamond is another word for scissor crossing. The diamond part is the centre of the X. Hard to explain in words but I think you know what I'm talking about. Tandem is like Pasir Ris, Boon Lay, Joo Koon, Choa Chu Kang (LRT).
Originally posted by NickLim™:Diamond is another word for scissor crossing. The diamond part is the centre of the X. Hard to explain in words but I think you know what I'm talking about. Tandem is like Pasir Ris, Boon Lay, Joo Koon, Choa Chu Kang (LRT).
O I see, how come the MRT of CCK not counted? Was it due to the crossover to the other direction from the first station, is the more front one?
Eg:
----------------------> JUR Bound -----------------------------------------------
CCK To Jur Bound From MRB bound TW
<-------------- MRB bound --------------------------| -----------------------|
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:O I see, how come the MRT of CCK not counted? Was it due to the crossover to the other direction from the first station, is the more front one?
Eg:
----------------------> JUR Bound -----------------------------------------------
CCK To Jur Bound From MRB bound TW
<-------------- MRB bound --------------------------| -----------------------|
Didn't include cause' I'm not sure of that side of things. But so long as it look like
-----------------------------
/ \
or
\ /
It's a tandem crossing.
Originally posted by NickLim™:Didn't include cause' I'm not sure of that side of things. But so long as it look like
/ \
-----------------------------or
\ /
-----------------------------It's a tandem crossing.
O i see, thanks for the clarification. Yes, CCK MRT is the below one.
Originally posted by smrt3099:I was quite confused with CCL RATIS.. as the next train arriving in mins can somehow "jumped" around.. next train is 2 mins, becomes 6 to 3 to 5 and to 4.. Then the train has arrived alr..
secondly is if the train is bounding to DBG or PYL.. also likes to jump around..
SWT is not working well as it should be over Passenger Info scheme.
Circle Line Stage 1 and 2 Re-upload completed!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibjxMstPuk4
Please wait while processing...