Originally posted by sbst275:
but the 7 mins CBD leg causes the trains to reach Paya Lebar jam packed during PM peak hours. Such trips dun help much.
Are they really packed? I saw a few trains with seats avaliable MRM bound at Nicoll Highway station during evening peak
Originally posted by wenjie639:Are they really packed? I saw a few trains with seats avaliable MRM bound at Nicoll Highway station during evening peak
they're.. but it all depends on e timing.
Anyway for SWTs, it can only be justified when Suntec leg only has like 30% loading. Else there's no pt as it'll crooked e loading flow.
Originally posted by sbs8104h:what if they don't? I find the way they did at AMK is much more effective. Imagine someone wants to go to stadium from Bishan, took the train and eventually falls asleep without realising. At least at Paya Lebar,the train officer will wake him and inform him to take the train at Platform B. If not, when he wakes up and find himself back at Bishan, he's seriously going to lose face. I know that we may have different opinions on this take and this is from my point of view
AMK? Haha. I once was forced off the train there, and had to go down and up to reboard the same train back to bishan.
Paya Lebar system is much better. Besides, you are responsible for your own journey, not the train operator.
Originally posted by sbs8104h:what if they don't? I find the way they did at AMK is much more effective. Imagine someone wants to go to stadium from Bishan, took the train and eventually falls asleep without realising. At least at Paya Lebar,the train officer will wake him and inform him to take the train at Platform B. If not, when he wakes up and find himself back at Bishan, he's seriously going to lose face. I know that we may have different opinions on this take and this is from my point of view
While this point of view does not have any problem / wrong, but dont forget that by chasing out pax, generally it means the station will be more packed, despite the fact of most passengers will still have to alight in order to transfer to the next train. This will cause inconvience to the sick, elderly, and pregnant people, who typically needs the seats and unless the staffs do not chase them out, but inform them if they are continuing towards DBG, then must alight, I find this way no good.
Look at Yew Tee peak hours service, should they
1: Extend the service to Woodlands
2: Do not chase out the passengers
, the platform will not be suffering from such heavy load because
1: Most people are travelling to there (Not applicable to CCL)
2: Paxes can have a better chance on getting the seats, and the staffs can be used to redirect passengers from the Direction X to use Direction Y platform, so that paxes can be quickly cleared off.
In terms of CCL, it means
use the existing staffing manpower to guide those paxes on the platform to board the train in the middle platform, should they are going towards Marymount. I believe, the Ang Mo Kio one also got such announcement one de. In order to anwer / solve your concern, I suggest, that the train has a continuous announcements of "This train is terminating at this station, Passengers who are going towards X, please board the next train on the left." should suffice. (And the pax will come out, if they are really unaware of it and really want to continue the journey, instead of using it as "seat grabbing" way.)
Originally posted by wenjie639:Are they really packed? I saw a few trains with seats avaliable MRM bound at Nicoll Highway station during evening peak
majority all get in at Paya Lebar
If ppl say Nicoll Highway stn has empty seats, I dare to say the SWTs are mostly running empty esp aft 7pm towards Marymount.
In fact Suntec crowd & Paya Lebar crowd are mutually exclusive taking into mind for one ppl tend to head home later after work thks to shopping or dining out at Suntec area.
Anyone know the PYL bound announcement started already?
Originally posted by sbst275:If ppl say Nicoll Highway stn has empty seats, I dare to say the SWTs are mostly running empty esp aft 7pm towards Marymount.
Nicol Highway only got like a few ppl alight and a few ppl board only... Only the middle carriage is packed, if you board the first and the last carriage, you can juz get a seat.
Circle line is a FAILED line IMO. It does not pass by any popular places nor pass any densely-populated towns. IMO, whoever who gets the tender for the DTL would suffer heavy losses, until DTL3 opens since in the eastern side, the EWL is crowded like crazy. Trains towards Pasir Ris would be almost empty, but @ Tampines station, its like uber mad. The passengers need at least 2 trains so that they wont need to squeeze. Bedok Reservoir ar... its mad, alot of services to bedok and tampines but the buses are ALWAYS full during peak hours...
DTL2 wont have much passenger flow too, only @ Bukit Panjang MRT. since it is connecting the north-western part to the city. Only Bayfront would have medium passenger flow. Telok Ayer would rock like siao, the Pinnacle @ Duxton residents would own that station since there are @ least 5000 people living there ; And the URA workers all this, go there showroom also wa.. Maxwell food centre.. Siao ar..
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Nicol Highway only got like a few ppl alight and a few ppl board only... Only the middle carriage is packed, if you board the first and the last carriage, you can juz get a seat.
Circle line is a FAILED line IMO. It does not pass by any popular places nor pass any densely-populated towns. IMO, whoever who gets the tender for the DTL would suffer heavy losses, until DTL3 opens since in the eastern side, the EWL is crowded like crazy. Trains towards Pasir Ris would be almost empty, but @ Tampines station, its like uber mad. The passengers need at least 2 trains so that they wont need to squeeze. Bedok Reservoir ar... its mad, alot of services to bedok and tampines but the buses are ALWAYS full during peak hours...
DTL2 wont have much passenger flow too, only @ Bukit Panjang MRT. since it is connecting the north-western part to the city. Only Bayfront would have medium passenger flow. Telok Ayer would rock like siao, the Pinnacle @ Duxton residents would own that station since there are @ least 5000 people living there ; And the URA workers all this, go there showroom also wa.. Maxwell food centre.. Siao ar..
Please dont call CCL a failed line. A successful line does nto mean it has to pass through densly populated places. Look at NEL, Sengkang and Hougang are quite populated. But it stilll suffered loses until a few years back. It does not mean an MRT line will be successful the moment it opens. People take time to adapt, to realise CCL is faster than their original route. By the way, there will be so many student s taking DTL2 if you don't know. I suspect you are staying on the east side, because your argument is quite biased towards the east sides of the island. Please do not call any line unsuccessful just like that. Have you taken CCL before? Success is not only measured by 1 station.
Do you even know where Telok Ayer station is? Pinaccle @ Duxton is closer to Outram Park and URA, Maxwell is much closer to Tanjong Pagar if u did not know. Telok Ayer is at Cross Street if u didnt know...
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Nicol Highway only got like a few ppl alight and a few ppl board only... Only the middle carriage is packed, if you board the first and the last carriage, you can juz get a seat.
Mounbatten and Dakota lor...
In a sense CCL is really meant to relieve e CBD interchanges. So happened along e way are real low density demand areas.
As for Nicoll Highway, it's more to a peak hr demand area.
As for DTL, Bt Timah is a heavy corridor. In fact w/ DTL, Svs like 700 & 960 is doomed. It can also encourage students to take MRT instead of parents sending them off/ picking them up causing massive jams. Look at positive long term benefits :)
Originally posted by LTnF1fan:Please dont call CCL a failed line. A successful line does nto mean it has to pass through densly populated places. Look at NEL, Sengkang and Hougang are quite populated. But it stilll suffered loses until a few years back. It does not mean an MRT line will be successful the moment it opens. People take time to adapt, to realise CCL is faster than their original route. By the way, there will be so many student s taking DTL2 if you don't know. I suspect you are staying on the east side, because your argument is quite biased towards the east sides of the island. Please do not call any line unsuccessful just like that. Have you taken CCL before? Success is not only measured by 1 station.
Do you even know where Telok Ayer station is? Pinaccle @ Duxton is closer to Outram Park and URA, Maxwell is much closer to Tanjong Pagar if u did not know. Telok Ayer is at Cross Street if u didnt know...
OK, which station on the western side you think would be used more often? I rode the CCL before, seriously, I won't say its a fail line now but a line with very low-ridership. Look at the CCL, 5 mins a train, its because that they depart the train immediately after it reached Dhoby Ghaut. Its ridership is 33k/day and LTA expects the other 47k to be from CCL4 and CCL5 ? Pasir Panjang is Singapore's port, who would like to go there? But seri
On the operators part :
The programming is screwed. The distance between Esplanade and Bras Basah is not that far but the train accelerates to the maximum possible speed and brakes for awhile before accelerating slightly more and when approaching, it brakes although it can reduce speed before approaching.
Based on your quote, you mean that CCL share a same fate with NEL, High construction costs leaded to higher fares when travelling on either lines. NEL would be a line which will be as successful as EWL or NSL. CCL connects sub-urban towns. Its purpose was to save time. Yes, I live at the eastern side of Singapore, I know that CCL isn't a main line, it does save time but look,
From Paya Lebar to Dhoby Ghaut.
4 mins(Waiting Time) + 16 mins(Travelling time) = 20 mins
4 mins(Waiting Time) + 10 mins(Travelling Time) + 3 mins(Waiting Time) + 2 mins(Travelling TIme) = 19 mins.
It doesn't seems to have much difference, Lets exclude the waiting time then :
CCL - 16 mins
NSL/EWL - 12 mins
I seem to waste 4 mins more instead of saving 4 mins? It should be the poor planning of Circle Line, But now lets compare on another basis :
Bishan to Serangoon
CCL - 4 mins (Waiting Time) + 4 mins (Travelling Time) = 8 mins
NSL/NEL - 4 mins (Waiting Time) + 13 mins (Travelling Time) + 3 mins (Transfer Time) + 4 mins (Waiting Time) + 11 mins (Travelling Time) = 35 mins
CCL - 8 mins
NSL/NEL - 35 mins
Bus - 20+ mins
Does that time difference makes much a difference? CCL 3 is effective but what about the rest of the line?
Does it makes much a difference although a direct route with bus would do.
Originally posted by LTnF1fan:Please dont call CCL a failed line. A successful line does nto mean it has to pass through densly populated places. Look at NEL, Sengkang and Hougang are quite populated. But it stilll suffered loses until a few years back. It does not mean an MRT line will be successful the moment it opens. People take time to adapt, to realise CCL is faster than their original route. By the way, there will be so many student s taking DTL2 if you don't know. I suspect you are staying on the east side, because your argument is quite biased towards the east sides of the island. Please do not call any line unsuccessful just like that. Have you taken CCL before? Success is not only measured by 1 station.
The thing abt CCL is that because it serves a big chunk of office/ ind area, its weekend load would be terribly miserable less ppl transfering in between MRT lines.
Originally posted by sbst275:In a sense CCL is really meant to relieve e CBD interchanges. So happened along e way are real low density demand areas.
As for Nicoll Highway, it's more to a peak hr demand area.
As for DTL, Bt Timah is a heavy corridor. In fact w/ DTL, Svs like 700 & 960 is doomed. It can also encourage students to take MRT instead of parents sending them off/ picking them up causing massive jams. Look at positive long term benefits :)
If Circle Line were to relieve CBD interchanges, why are there people still transfering to the NSL NB while going to bishan or upwards. Usually the trains are just plain empty, even the platforms. Look at Paya Lebar CCL Station, the platform is so small yet even getting a seat @ the platform or the train is easy. Look at NSL/EWL, you can't even get in, even if there is a slight delay, the whole station would be crowded.
CCL is to relieve CBD interchanges, yes, but why are City Hall and Raffles Place so crowded? Despite its just 1 station away to transfer, People rather take the trains directly back home instead of beating the crowd. Like example, I would like to beat the massive crowd at City Hall and Raffles Place, I would like to go from Eunos to Clementi, I take a train to PYB and go to DBG, then I transfer to NEL, I go to Outram Park transfer to EWL. It doesn't have good East-West connectivity, only North-East and North-West. People still rely on EWL to get to the other side of Singapore from East to West
There are many major schools along the Bukit Timah corridor, DTL2 serve that area, but its too late, There are too many cars already, the demand is too high, they should had started planning long ago, knowing that the northwestern area of Singapore is starting and SMRT is unable to fulfill the demand. The construction should had started way back, right when NEL was completed. The stretch DTL 3 serve have good connectivity but the buses are unable to upkeep it, Even if it goes along Bedok Reservoir road where thousands are living there, No new buildings were built , only a few condominium, the buses are so crowded, DTL3 would serve more than 10 schools. The middle platform @ Tanah Merah was to accommodate the DTL but with the recent opening on the branch , it moved to Expo.
Eastern Region Line would serve the whole East Coast but, is East Coast that populated? I wonder is it?
Originally posted by sbst275:The thing abt CCL is that because it serves a big chunk of office/ ind area, its weekend load would be terribly miserable less ppl transfering in between MRT lines.
Yeah, during weekends, its ridership is miserably low, it stations are :
Stadium - Concerts are rarely held, Buses are a better choice back home as it does not require any walking or lesser transferring after a long day in the stadium
Promenade and Esplanade - So close together, the travel timing would be 1 min if not for the turn, From the swissotel you can see both stations. Similar to Bras Basah and Dhoby Ghaut.
DTL3 , EWL , ERL would be too terribly close since DTL 3 is about 2 km from it and ERL is 4 km away from EWL ; And I can see the construction of both DTL and ERL from my house @ Chai Chee, Its just too close... Private housing and Public Housing separate EWL from DTL and ERL respectively. I can see the sea from my house...
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:If Circle Line were to relieve CBD interchanges, why are there people still transfering to the NSL NB while going to bishan or upwards. Usually the trains are just plain empty, even the platforms. Look at Paya Lebar CCL Station, the platform is so small yet even getting a seat @ the platform or the train is easy. Look at NSL/EWL, you can't even get in, even if there is a slight delay, the whole station would be crowded.
CCL is to relieve CBD interchanges, yes, but why are City Hall and Raffles Place so crowded? Despite its just 1 station away to transfer, People rather take the trains directly back home instead of beating the crowd. Like example, I would like to beat the massive crowd at City Hall and Raffles Place, I would like to go from Eunos to Clementi, I take a train to PYB and go to DBG, then I transfer to NEL, I go to Outram Park transfer to EWL. It doesn't have good East-West connectivity, only North-East and North-West. People still rely on EWL to get to the other side of Singapore from East to West
There are many major schools along the Bukit Timah corridor, DTL2 serve that area, but its too late, There are too many cars already, the demand is too high, they should had started planning long ago, knowing that the northwestern area of Singapore is starting and SMRT is unable to fulfill the demand. The construction should had started way back, right when NEL was completed. The stretch DTL 3 serve have good connectivity but the buses are unable to upkeep it, Even if it goes along Bedok Reservoir road where thousands are living there, No new buildings were built , only a few condominium, the buses are so crowded, DTL3 would serve more than 10 schools. The middle platform @ Tanah Merah was to accommodate the DTL but with the recent opening on the branch , it moved to Expo.
Eastern Region Line would serve the whole East Coast but, is East Coast that populated? I wonder is it?
It's to get ppl as far as possible from transferring at City Hall or Raffles Place. Ends up now City Hall tat Citylink Mall biz also got affected w/ CCL.
Our MRT is not like MTR tat has close parallel line in Kowloon. Hence MRT freq ought to be frequent here actually.
The Bt Timah issue is never too late. Simply because the car issue, sooner or later for all we may know thks to land constrain, one condo unit can only allow 1 car park lot entitlement.
Bedok Reservoir would only get 1 DTL station, nonetheless the connectivty tat side isn't tat good less it covers mostly 65 & 66's routing less Kallang Bahru.
The SMRT issue is more of committment.
As for the ERL, my take is simply an medium MRT line needs to be built. It would come to a pt during e peak hrs 10, 10e, 14, 14e would not be able to cope.
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Yeah, during weekends, its ridership is miserably low, it stations are :
Stadium - Concerts are rarely held, Buses are a better choice back home as it does not require any walking or lesser transferring after a long day in the stadium
Promenade and Esplanade - So close together, the travel timing would be 1 min if not for the turn, From the swissotel you can see both stations. Similar to Bras Basah and Dhoby Ghaut.
DTL3 , EWL , ERL would be too terribly close since DTL 3 is about 2 km from it and ERL is 4 km away from EWL ; And I can see the construction of both DTL and ERL from my house @ Chai Chee, Its just too close... Private housing and Public Housing separate EWL from DTL and ERL respectively. I can see the sea from my house...
For Stadium, if e concerts end very late. only Taxi & SBS's SS can really handle.
Promenade has been planned nong ago to be another interchange.
Bras Basah is to make SMU look atas ma.. got MRT station but terrible 7 mins freq.
Originally posted by sbst275:For Stadium, if e concerts end very late. only Taxi & SBS's SS can really handle.
Promenade has been planned nong ago to be another interchange.
Bras Basah is to make SMU look atas ma.. got MRT station but terrible 7 mins freq.
Promenade was never planned to be an interchange, it was Nicol Highway thanks to the collapse, it was shifted to Promenade. Then another line from Chinatown (DTL3)
DTL2 was just nth, maybe it was CCLe?
LOL, to make School of the arts good also what. You see beside Cathay Cinepleasure (idk how spell) that giant building is SOTA
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Promenade was never planned to be an interchange, it was Nicol Highway thanks to the collapse, it was shifted to Promenade. Then another line from Chinatown (DTL3)
DTL2 was just nth, maybe it was CCLe?
LOL, to make School of the arts good also what. You see beside Cathay Cinepleasure (idk how spell) that giant building is SOTA
true but Promenade is a better place being near Suntec & Flyer.
The CCLe is really crap. Since they're alrdy not interested to go on w/ CCL6, leave it alone. Later cause more confusion.
Originally posted by sbst275:
true but Promenade is a better place being near Suntec & Flyer.The CCLe is really crap. Since they're alrdy not interested to go on w/ CCL6, leave it alone. Later cause more confusion.
More chaos as ppl going to DBG would end up like last time that what happened to EWL branch line, Cannot have shuttle as its impossible to build another concourse below lol
Originally posted by Dragonaxe:Yeah, during weekends, its ridership is miserably low, it stations are :
ERL is still currently under planning and not under construction.
Originally posted by wenjie639:ERL is still currently under planning and not under construction.
I know that lol but I can see ECP from my house LOL
Basically, CCL is meant to save time. But they never said that it would save time for all routes. Take note of that. Demand can change over time, so DTL2 can be have many students and hopefully adults taking it. Even though for DTL3 the stations are terribly close, they have NO RAIL LINK!!!!! It is going to be quite idiotic... If u have taken CCL before, you would know that certain parts of the train people have to stand.... And other parts there are very very few seats left. I am unsure what time u take it and which section, but different sections have different times whereby the train can be quite packed.