Open them asap, looking forward to direct link to suntec
Who know where is Dhoby Ghaut CCL station located?
soon..but expect some announcment from transport minister soon, i can't tell how soon as i also dunno yet.
Originally posted by BiminiRosy:Hope as early as June. I can't wait for CCL1 and 2 open and can't wait the Int announcement.
So you mean u wish that the CCL stg 1 and 2 open just because of the new Interchange announcement????
Originally posted by wenjie639:So you mean u wish that the CCL stg 1 and 2 open just because of the new Interchange announcement????
ya. because I feel that very confuse for the DBG CCL announcement.
Originally posted by BiminiRosy:ya. because I feel that very confuse for the DBG CCL announcement.
That is a very reason for that
Originally posted by BiminiRosy:ya. because I feel that very confuse for the DBG CCL announcement.
i think the CCL announcement for DBG like this la..
"Next Station, Dhoby Ghaut Interchange, Passengers who are continuing their journey to HarbourFront interchange, Punggol, Marina Bay or Jurong East Interchange, please alight at the next station"
"Dhoby Ghaut Interchange, This train service terminates at this station. Passengers who are continuing their journey to HarbourFront interchange, Punggol, Marina Bay or Jurong East Interchange, please proceed to North East Line or North South Line, Thank you for trevelling with SMRT..... Dhoby Ghaut Interchange, Please mind the platform gap"
Transport minister announces next phase of Circle Line will open on Apr 17
SINGAPORE: The next phase of the Circle Line from Bartley to Dhoby Ghaut stations will open on April 17.
Transport Minister Raymond Lim made this announcement after a station tour this morning.
Five stations of the Circle Line opened on May 28 last year.
- CNA/sc
Originally posted by QX179R:Transport minister announces next phase of Circle Line will open on Apr 17
SINGAPORE: The next phase of the Circle Line from Bartley to Dhoby Ghaut stations will open on April 17.
Transport Minister Raymond Lim made this announcement after a station tour this morning.
- CNA/sc
So good!
Can you tell me where is the website?
Originally posted by BiminiRosy:Can you tell me where is the website?
Here you go:
Circle Line, CCL (facebook page):
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Circle-Line-CCL/401727165537?v=wall&ref=search
Originally posted by QX179R:Transport minister announces next phase of Circle Line will open on Apr 17
- CNA/sc
Still must wait for 2+ months and it's near our exams.
Next phase of Circle Line to open on Apr 17
SINGAPORE: The second phase of the Circle Line will open to
passengers on April 17. The 11-station stretch, from Bartley to Dhoby
Ghaut stations, will start operations almost a year after the first five
stations were opened to the public last May.
With this new opening, about half the Circle Line or about 16 stations
will connect commuters to places like the new Sports Hub through Stadium
Station, to Suntec via Promenade Station and the museums via Bras Basah
Station.
Transport Minister Raymond Lim said: "This is a significant thing for us
because now you have these direct connections. So if you are on the
eastern side, north-eastern side, you have a direct line that connects
you instead of having to go to the city centre."
So a commuter going from, say, interchange station Paya Lebar to Bishan
can shave off about 18 minutes or half his travelling time, said the
Land Transport Authority. Commuters can bypass the busy City Hall and
Raffles Place stations.
Building the Paya Lebar Station was not easy. One of the challenges that
engineers faced in building this interchange station was that they had
to connect an underground line to an existing above ground station.
For commuters who also had to endure congestion during road diversions,
the opening has been welcomed.
Said one man in the street: "The transportation was very bad and there
used to have jams all over and time taken from one place to another was
very bad. Now of course, there are a lot of changes."
"It saves time, like when we are rushing to meet friends and family, it
will be much more better," said another commuter.
Transport authorities now expect the Circle Line ridership to spike to
about 200,000 daily.
Also operating will be the station that caused a delay to the opening of
the Circle Line when the site at Nicoll Highway collapsed.
Sim Wee Meng, group director, Rail, Land Transport Authority, said:
"Nicoll Highway, we have built at the new site which is 100 metres away
from existing site. It's now completed and will open as part of Circle
Line 1 & 2."
As for the possibility of bus rationalisation, Mr Lim said: "The LTA
will have to work with the operators to see whether they need to
streamline any of the services in order to feed into the Circle Line."
The final phase of the Circle Line, which will link up the western parts
of Singapore to the line with stops in places like Botanic Gardens and
Holland Village, is expected to be ready next year. - CNA/vm
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1033048/1/.html
Circle Line from Bartley to Dhoby Ghaut to Open 17 April
1. The second phase of the Circle Line (CCL) from Bartley to Dhoby Ghaut will open for passenger service on 17 April 2010 (Saturday).
2. The 11-kilometre long stretch comprising 11 stations - Tai Seng, MacPherson, Paya Lebar, Dakota, Mountbatten, Stadium, Nicoll Highway, Promenade, Esplanade, Bras Basah and Dhoby Ghaut - will start operations almost a year after the five CCL stations from Marymount to Bartley opened to the public last May.
3. About 200,000 people are expected to use the 16 stations from Dhoby Ghaut to Marymount every day.
Enhanced Connectivity and Greater Travel Time Saving with CCL
4. The orbital CCL will enhance connectivity with the existing MRT lines and provide significant travel time savings for commuters. Please refer to Annex A for several examples of travel time savings.
5. With Paya Lebar Interchange Station joining CCL to the existing East-West Line, passengers travelling from the eastern parts of Singapore can now bypass the busy City Hall and Raffles Place interchanges to get to the city and northern parts of Singapore. The same holds true for those travelling from the north and north-east commuting to the city and the eastern part of the island.
6. The new stations are located at the doorsteps of various entertainment and recreational facilities, so commuters can now travel straight to these destinations with ease. For examples, the arts enthusiasts can alight at Bras Basah Station to visit the Singapore Art Museum and the National Museum of Singapore; sports fans can get off at Stadium Station to enjoy the surrounding sports, entertainment and leisure facilities at Singapore Indoor Stadium, Arina Stadium Waterfront and Leisure Park Kallang.
Residents and Businesses Welcome New Line's Opening
7. Residents and business owners along the new MRT line are eagerly waiting for the eleven stations to open.
8. Ms Lily Teo, a 58-year-old student care teacher who stays and works in Mountbatten, is ecstatic about the impending opening of the new CCL segment. Ms Teo is pursuing a part-time diploma at an educational institute in Queenstown and currently takes the bus to connect to the East-West Line to the school. "I have to rush like crazy every time I knock off from work to go for my studies. With CCL, I can take my time and still won't be late for classes!" said Ms Teo.
9. Mr Siow Kee Lin, 66, operates a sundry shop at the Old Airport Road Market & Food Centre and is thrilled that Dakota and Mountbatten Stations are opening soon. "The new stations will bring more crowds for makan at the food centre and to my shop," said Mr Siow.
LTA Launched CCL Fan Page on Facebook
10. On 5 Jan 2010, the Land Transport Authority launched the CCL Fan Page on Facebook to share the progress of the CCL with netizens. Fans of the CCL Fan Page will receive regular updates on CCL and are encouraged to post their thoughts on the Line.
11. To date, more than 250 netizens have signed up as fans. To sign up as a fan and receive updates on CCL, simply search "Circle Line, CCL" on Facebook.
Examples of Travel Time Savings with CCL:
http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Travel%20Time%20Savings.pdf
Fact Sheet:
Paya Lebar Station
http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Paya%20Lebar%20Station.pdf
Stadium Station
I will have to pay adult fare after April 1st..Hopefully they can continue to push up the opening date
Now to wait for open house.
Hopefully got CCL discovery , same as stage 3.
in the pdf file, how come a trip from simei to amk is shorter than a trip from simei to bishan on EWL & NSL?
actually hor, tat travelling table dun reflect walking time to transfer and waiting time for connecting train
some connection still end up bus faster
11 CCL Station Open April
MRT line will have 16 stations over 16km linking suburbs to city
THE next leg of the MRT Circle Line, which connects the suburbs to the downtown area, will open on April 17.
Transport Minister Raymond Lim made the announcement on Tuesday morning at a visit to the line's Stadium and Paya Lebar stations. The 11km stretch from Tai Seng in Paya Lebar to Dhoby Ghaut via the Suntec area consists of 11 stations. They join a 5km, five-station leg linking Marymount to Bartley which opened last year.
Minister Lim said with this half of the Circle Lim opened, commuters will enjoy significant time-savings. The latest stretch of the orbital line offers train commuters a new interchange: Paya Lebar, which links the Circle Line to the East-West Line.
This allows residents living in the north, north-east and east to head to the city and back without having to pass the busy City Hall and Raffles interchanges. Likewise, commuters travelling between satellite towns can bypass the two hubs, opting to change trains at either Dhoby Ghaut or Paya Lebar. Other operational interchanges on the Circle Line the Serangoon and Bishan stations.
Mr Lim said the rest of the 33km Circle Line will open next year. This final stretch links the northern and western parts of Singapore, with stops at notable places such as Botanic Gardens, Holland Village, and HarbourFront.
The Land Transport Authority expects Circle Line ridership to soar from April 17: from an average 30,000 rides per day today to 200,000.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_482231.html
Time-savings for commuters
For instance, a Serangoon resident travelling to SingPost's Eunos office currently goes by bus, which takes around 25 minutes. From April 17, the same trip by train will take 12 minutes (excluding walking time to station).
And someone living in Ang Mo Kio heading for the Old Airport Road hawker centre currently go on a 40-minute bus ride. With the Circle Line, the commute will take 25 minutes - including transfer at Bishan station.
Paya Lebar Station
* The Paya Lebar station is an interchange station that connects the circle line to the East-West Line.
* It is the first interchange station integrating above-ground and underground lines.
* Commuters can gain access to the station from three new entrances located along Paya Lebar Road.
* Connectivity is a key consideration for the station's design. It is seamlessly bridged to the East-West line station via two passageways designed to move high volume of human traffic safely and efficiently.
* The station is designed inhouse by LTA.
Stadium Station
* The station is designed to accommodate surge crowds from nearby facilities with its open-air concourse and plaza with entrances at both ends.
* The concourse and plaza are naturally ventilated, and facilitate air flow.
* A central skylight creates an attractive, day-lit platform. Openings above ground allow views down to the platform from the ground level plaza.
* The station won the International Architecture 2008 Award conferred by the Australian Institute of Architects for its functionality and aesthetics.
Paya Lebar CCL will have 3 tracks serving the station, this is to cope when the platform is highly congested. From Zaobao
yes! finally...now half the circle will be in operational by then.
Can i say that the middle track at paya lebar station is just like the ones that we have at Yishun, like if there is heavy demand along Dhoby ghaut to Paya Lebar, CCL trains can turnaround at Paya Lebar and travel back to Dhoby Ghaut.
I hope the middle platform can be connected to proposed Eastern Region Line...... At least it seemed to me that Downtown Line and Circle is interconnected.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:I hope the middle platform can be connected to proposed Eastern Region Line...... At least it seemed to me that Downtown Line and Circle is interconnected.
You meant Paya Lebar still need another interchange?
Originally posted by BiminiRosy:You meant Paya Lebar still need another interchange?
The middle platform is also for CCL.