Originally posted by miss_soojung:this one looks like cheng teng leh...
[b]SUJUNGGWA
Sujunggwa or persimmon punch is a popular traditional Korean desert that contains lots of Vitamin C. The punch is made with dried persimmon, ginger, pine nuts and cinnamon.
Really refreshing taken chilled [/b]
HungryOriginally posted by tare:this one looks like cheng teng leh...
Thanks so much for the encouragement, littlestream Will continue to do my best!Originally posted by littlestream:Wow, miss_soojung, you ARE doing an excellent job introducing Korean cuisine here.
I'm not very good at making orders at the restaurant so ended up tau pau and after a few days, ended up in my garbage bin.
Thanks a gazillion. I will look out for what you have posted when I next visit one.
Yeah ... except they stuff their chicken, right?Originally posted by littlestream:Hey, that chicken soup like our very own ginseng soup ley.
Yeap, thanks miss_soojung. I think I may try it but our chickens here like overweight ones. So gigantor ones. Must be smaller chicken then tasty right?. But interesting. To stuff glutinous rice in it. I mean I cook chicken rice and stuff ginger, garlic and spring onion. But glutinous rice....hmmm...the rice must be tasty. When I try it, I'll come back to post, okay? But first, got to look for spring chicken. May be hard lah. It's end of summer and coming to autumn. Just kidding.Originally posted by miss_soojung:Yeah ... except they stuff their chicken, right?
Wonder if kampong chickens might be the smaller, more tender alternativeOriginally posted by littlestream:Yeap, thanks miss_soojung. I think I may try it but our chickens here like overweight ones. So gigantor ones. Must be smaller chicken then tasty right?. But interesting. To stuff glutinous rice in it. I mean I cook chicken rice and stuff ginger, garlic and spring onion. But glutinous rice....hmmm...the rice must be tasty. When I try it, I'll come back to post, okay? But first, got to look for spring chicken. May be hard lah. It's end of summer and coming to autumn. Just kidding.
Originally posted by miss_soojung:wooo... this is my fav..
[b]BULGOGI
Bulgogi is one of KoreaÂ’s most well known grilled dishes that is usually recommended to first timers to Korean cuisine. Traditionally eaten served wrapped in moo shu pancakes, itÂ’s not uncommon to see bulgogi served with tortillas and lettuce leaves. Or with rice. One way of eating bulgogi is to wrap a piece of cooked beef in lettuce with rice and accompanying garnishes. Bean paste or doenjang can also be added if you prefer more flavour! [/b]
Oh, you are so kind. Make me blush leh.Originally posted by miss_soojung:Wonder if kampong chickens might be the smaller, more tender alternative
The koreans apparently use the young 5 - 7 month chickens for this dish coz they're more nutritious. I found the glutinous rice ingredient interesting too
Would love to see pix of your very own dish! I saw the chilli crab you posted over at Club30 (I think) and ... I drooled, craved and almost died of greed at 3+ in the morning
Men can be difficult to please sometimes ... spend too much time in kitchen, complain ... spend too little time in kitchen, complain ... still we can't help but adore themOriginally posted by littlestream:Oh, you are so kind. Make me blush leh.
Yeap, I love to cook and bake. Sometimes hubby complains I spent too much time in the kitchen.
Bo pian. When I first landed, no maid, no extended family. Everything also DIY. Gone through some struggles and challenges. So learn lor. Got to start from somewhere, right? But I must admit I got a very good bunch of S'poreans/M'sians friends. Very supportive. My critics. And VERY honest also! They helped me improve lah.
One time I made chai tau kuay. They asked me for a straw. Too soft.
Hmmm....I think you are right. Got to be young chicken. I'll go check out at the stores.
Originally posted by miss_soojung:Men can be difficult to please sometimes ... spend too much time in kitchen, complain ... spend too little time in kitchen, complain ... still we can't help but adore them
Wow ... if I discovered that super soft chai tau kuay first I think I'd consider getting a copyright of some sort for it - coz when I become a lao ah ma, got no teeth and dentures become way too expensive in Singapore, I'm going to be wanting to hunt down that suck-it-up-with-a-straw Chai Tau Kuay to ease my craving! My cronies will be wanting a share too
Raddish cuts the skin? Could that only be when it's being grated? The smallest size I've massacred raddishes into are cubes ... onions always get my eyes. And when I have little cuts on my skin, I dread mincing garlicOriginally posted by littlestream:
So true. We have a friend who complains to my hubby that his wife doesn't cook.
Oh, you are so kind and generous with your words. Soft chai tau kuay also can ah? But I stopped making already. Strangely, raddish "cuts" the skin, your know? If I grate too much, my fingers starts to feel stinging.
Guess what? I was at the grocer last weekend checking out on spring chicken. The spring chickens look like super size like that. Ended up cooking Hainanese Chicken Rice. Anyways, I bought the glutinous rice already so will try out.
Originally posted by miss_soojung:Hmm ... how about asking KFC where they get their supply of tiny chickens coz I swear those chickens of theirs have shrunk
Originally posted by the Bear:Supposed to be on the table for dinner tonight. But hubby commented "smelly". Looks like I will have to end up eating it ALL by myself. Errr....only the green radish. I like green radish.
radish, i got a fool-proof [b]radish soup recipe.. but it's chinese so i won't post it here [/b]
Yeah, they did all right! A two-piece meal used to be enough for my dinner ... now I have to go for the three-piece meal Strange thing is, if there's no land to run, they should be fat little chickens, right? Eat, eat, no excercise ...Originally posted by littlestream:
Funny. Really ah? The chickens shrunk ah? No land to run around lah. Cdn still got plenty of land. I once saw a turkey farm. Oh my goodness.........the whole field like white colour (feathers). And I felt like a real country bumpkin then. Da jin siao guai.
Perhaps we should start a "Share Your Asian Recipes" thread?Originally posted by the Bear:yeah.. radish are kinda.. i dunno.. will hurt your skin...
wear gloves when grating it.. or use one of those things they sell over the TV.. the types where you can use a thingy to hold the radish instead of your fingers
radish, i got a fool-proof radish soup recipe.. but it's chinese so i won't post it here
Originally posted by miss_soojung:Oh yah hor.........chey........I'm really not thinking......
Yeah, they did all right! A two-piece meal used to be enough for my dinner ... now I have to go for the three-piece meal [b]Strange thing is, if there's no land to run, they should be fat little chickens, right? Eat, eat, no excercise ...
I remember seeing little lambs with their Mommies in the English countryside skipping/stumbling about the wide open fields ... adorable! Some of them must have been just days old coz their umbilical cords were still hanging on their tummies! Won't see something like this in Singapore [/b]
Can fedex over?Originally posted by the Bear:if there's potluck one of these days, i make my infamous braised duck
I don't have like personal recipes leh. Mine all from books. If not fancy ones, then it's really humble ones leh.Originally posted by miss_soojung:Perhaps we should start a "Share Your Asian Recipes" thread?