yes, going on cruise control on a plymouth is not a good idea.Originally posted by Fatum:yeps .... the timing belt broke ........
I think it's one of the following reasons
1. bad karma ....
2. old age of the car
3. it's an american car
4. the fact that I had a plymouth at 140km on cruise control .......![]()
I will ..... I have this emotional attachment to "Michelle" now .....Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Ouch! Having a timing belt break is usually Not A Good Thing™, especially if the valves aren't actuated with hydraulic lifters, in which case the piston will most likely impact and bend the valve stems.
So, after forking out the money for the tow and repair, are you going to keep the vehicle?
Gong xi, gong xi............congrats ben1406!!!!Originally posted by ben1406:I just got a job offer again.. But this one, i'll have to relocate to Nova Scotia.. Anyone been there before ?
Please prove this contention, preferably with pictures!Originally posted by Fatum:Girls from the Maritimes are HOT ...... no, serious ! ....![]()
yeah, i checked out their website. totally different then ontario.. well, now i just need to wait for my employment letter then i can start applying for a work permit.Originally posted by littlestream:Alamak.........ben1406........so excited about your job offer, forgot to add that yes, I've been there but for holidays nia. It's different when on holidays. But one thing for sure.......the EAST move slow. Very relac.
And you get the Atlantic ocean!!! Peggy's Cove....a popular tourist spot and filming location.
Check out website of Nova Scotia too. Good luck!!!![]()
So, when ARE you making your move?Originally posted by Fatum:Girls from the Maritimes are HOT ...... no, serious ! ....![]()
Woohoo!!! Wow!!! Congrats ben1406!!!Originally posted by ben1406:yeah, i checked out their website. totally different then ontario.. well, now i just need to wait for my employment letter then i can start applying for a work permit.
just got an offer from westin harbour castle today too..
I was supposed to go in November last year to Halifax, but didn't get to go in the end. But I have been to St. John's, Newfoundland, and it was beautiful. It had the feel of a small European town. I imagine Nova Scotia would be like that too.Originally posted by ben1406:I just got a job offer again.. But this one, i'll have to relocate to Nova Scotia.. Anyone been there before ?
Got eat lobsters not? Better than Boston's right?Originally posted by Xfr8dog:I was supposed to go in November last year to Halifax, but didn't get to go in the end. But I have been to St. John's, Newfoundland, and it was beautiful. It had the feel of a small European town. I imagine Nova Scotia would be like that too.
i'll have to really think this through.. cos if i work in ontario, i'll only get 1 year wrok permit.. if it's outside ontario, quebec or BC, i'll gt 2 years !Originally posted by littlestream:Woohoo!!! Wow!!! Congrats ben1406!!!
Honestly, I would take the Westin offer. Please re-consider hor. Good luck!![]()
Hmm....yeah, tricky eh? Okay, whatever you come up with, I wish you all the best!!!Originally posted by ben1406:i'll have to really think this through.. cos if i work in ontario, i'll only get 1 year wrok permit.. if it's outside ontario, quebec or BC, i'll gt 2 years !
yar it's damm tricky.. if i stay in ontario, i'll have to leave Canada when applying form my PR.. if it's in Nova Scotia, i still have a year to work here while applying..Originally posted by littlestream:Hmm....yeah, tricky eh? Okay, whatever you come up with, I wish you all the best!!!![]()
Hmm.....looks like you have to head out to the Maritimes then eh? Ben1406, the East Coast is nice lah. Enjoy different part of Canada mah. After all, only 2 years and then when you get your PR, you can settle down anywhere liao.Originally posted by ben1406:yar it's damm tricky.. if i stay in ontario, i'll have to leave Canada when applying form my PR.. if it's in Nova Scotia, i still have a year to work here while applying..
well, it seems like a good idea to head to the maritimes really.. it's different ! My gf will really kill me if i do take up this offer..Originally posted by littlestream:Hmm.....looks like you have to head out to the Maritimes then eh? Ben1406, the East Coast is nice lah. Enjoy different part of Canada mah. After all, only 2 years and then when you get your PR, you can settle down anywhere liao.
Right?![]()
honestly, between the maritimes and mauritius, to me there's no contest ...Originally posted by ben1406:well, it seems like a good idea to head to the maritimes really.. it's different ! My gf will really kill me if i do take up this offer..
Got another one today but it's in Mauritius ! Friend's Dad is the GM of a hotel there..
well depends, if i really want to settle down in Canada, yeah Nova Scotia will be the best option.. But the hotel in mauritius is a 5 star hotel and it's one of the best in that region..Originally posted by Fatum:honestly, between the maritimes and mauritius, to me there's no contest ...![]()
well ... we're all young chaps ... my philosophy is "go where the job is" ....Originally posted by ben1406:well depends, if i really want to settle down in Canada, yeah Nova Scotia will be the best option.. But the hotel in mauritius is a 5 star hotel and it's one of the best in that region..
Yap true. Altot its dangerous but I think its worth to take the risk. Since we r young, Y not?Originally posted by Fatum:well ... we're all young chaps ... my philosophy is "go where the job is" ....
hell ... my some of my canadian friends have been telling me about jobs in the middle east too .... they pay good money and have fantastic expat terms ... I'm firing a few resumes in that direction too ...
honestly .... if you intend to stay and retire in Canada or something, you can always do that later ... and travel around and make the moolah before you're saddled with kids and wifey eh ? ...![]()
Unfortunately I didn't have time to try the lobsters. I had just enough time to walk through downtown early in the morning. We arrived about 11pm and then were out again about 7am the next morning. I did manage to try some Newfoundland breakfast specialities at the hotel before I left, though. Very nice. As expected, it involved smoked salmon.Originally posted by littlestream:Got eat lobsters not? Better than Boston's right?
Eh, are you in New Jersey now? You did say you were gonna relocate there, right?
Wah seh..........a travelling chef!!! You sure got into the right industry eh?Originally posted by ben1406:well, it seems like a good idea to head to the maritimes really.. it's different ! My gf will really kill me if i do take up this offer..
Got another one today but it's in Mauritius ! Friend's Dad is the GM of a hotel there..