There's various Taiji Style around, Chen and Yang being the more popular ones. I'm currently learning Chen style Taiji Quan. This is the website of the Master of whom I'm currently learning from:Originally posted by Cenarious:Which school of taiji is for fighting?
http://www.geocities.com/tukylam/dantian.htmOriginally posted by Cenarious:Which school of taiji is for fighting?
Interesting. Are you in any of the classes? No informations on the intakes though on the website ; /Originally posted by samadhi_fire:Well... I would recommend the Hua Tiong Association for real combat Tai Chi. It used to be really big in Singapore until Master Tan retired to concentrate on his business but it's making a comeback now. The Hua Tiong presence in Malaysia is incredibly huge though.
Here's the website: www.geocities.com/huationg_wushu
It's a little cheesy though.
There is a saying:Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:As Taiji is an internal art, you need to master qigong before you can use it on combat. Qigong is the basis of all internal art. Without that, other arts can easily overcome.
Most internal art will teach you qigong when you start learning. Because if you don't learn, learning the martial art is as good as not learning. Internal arts, as you have seen, are as soft as water. But what makes it as good as external ones is the qigong. If your master doesn't teach you qigong, look for another master.Originally posted by NewAge:then where u go learn qigong? Art like kendo all that got learn qigong?
Think Kendo emphazise more on the KI or internal energy. Quite similiar with Aiki KenOriginally posted by NewAge:then where u go learn qigong? Art like kendo all that got learn qigong?
Greetings. I agree the part when qigong (we a call neigong) is essential part of an internal art training, but it is not advisable to start learning rite at the beginnng. I look from the standpoint of a Chen taiji stylist, so I might be bias. Usually I bring my students through the basics in Chansi (silk reeling), fajin kicks before enbraking on the traditional form, lao jia yi lu. My teacher will be a bit diffferent, he dun usually teach chansi now, he prefer to bring students through qigong then laojia. I do that for my students during combat practises instead.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Most internal art will teach you qigong when you start learning. Because if you don't learn, learning the martial art is as good as not learning. Internal arts, as you have seen, are as soft as water. But what makes it as good as external ones is the qigong. If your master doesn't teach you qigong, look for another master.
For Kendo, they do learn, but it's very different from Chinese martial arts. I'm not too sure, they are after all from another country.
Just a question, is fajin pronounced as fa1 jin4?Originally posted by Christoffel:Greetings. I agree the part when qigong (we a call neigong) is essential part of an internal art training, but it is not advisable to start learning rite at the beginnng. I look from the standpoint of a Chen taiji stylist, so I might be bias. Usually I bring my students through the basics in Chansi (silk reeling), fajin kicks before enbraking on the traditional form, lao jia yi lu. My teacher will be a bit diffferent, he dun usually teach chansi now, he prefer to bring students through qigong then laojia. I do that for my students during combat practises instead.
HiOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Most internal art will teach you qigong when you start learning. Because if you don't learn, learning the martial art is as good as not learning. Internal arts, as you have seen, are as soft as water. But what makes it as good as external ones is the qigong. If your master doesn't teach you qigong, look for another master.
For Kendo, they do learn, but it's very different from Chinese martial arts. I'm not too sure, they are after all from another country.
What about offence? Not just talking about self-defence. Just for information about Bruce Lee, the theorectical progenator of jeet kun do, he did punch a 100kg gorilla of a guy with a fist 1 inch away from the chest and caused the football player to stagger back 5 metres. Next question is about harnessing the full power of the blow. Ever tried to punch something hard? You will find that you slow your fist down before contact. Why? Because of your mind's subliminal fear of pain. Even if you master your fear, the next level is not to even feel the pain. And that's just for starters.Originally posted by NoRiceBoys:Hi
I think all this "qi" thing is all a myth. That is why Western medicine overtook Chinese medicine although Chinese medicine has such a long history.
Chinese like to base all their beliefs on theories, but never conduct any scientific experiments to test if their theories are true or not, or work or not. Chinese are unwilling to throw away beliefs that have been shown to be false and wrong, and just keep building layer upon layer of bullshit to explain things. I'm a Chinese btw. They just accept that just because someone said so, it must be true.
I have a lot of respect for the ancient Chinese. But I think that along the way, the essence of things have been lost, and all that's survived are unworkable things. If Huo Yuan Jia could fight and beat ang moh boxers and all that, he must know how to fight. Look at the shaolin monks and the kind of fitness/endurance training they do, and all the conditioning of their hands/heads/neck/legs etc. Even if their kung fu doesn't work for nuts, their conditioning will allow them to win a large majority of fights against untrained people. This is also why the Muay Thai boxers can beat everyone else. And the stuff they do works.
One must realise that the power of suggestion is a powerful thing. There is this guy in US claiming he can "stun" someone and make them knockout without touching them! Master of Dim Mak or some other bullshat. When he tried it against his own disciples, they all fainted. When he tried it on people outside of his gym, nobody felt anything. Why do people still believe such bullshat? I don't know. I've learnt not to believe anything any "sifu" or "master" or "tough guy" says unless he can back it up and demonstrate it on a fully resisting person intent on punching and kicking the shats out of him.
If "qi" is so deadly, will any "qigong" master kindly join the UFC or Pride/K1 and kindly blow everyone to smithereens with his super power.
If "qi" is so powerful then how come the muay thai boxers beat up everyone in stand up fighting? They don't have any "qi", they only have scientific methods that work. Fitness training, strength training, conditioning to take hits, simple and KISS attacks and defense, realistic fight drills, full contact sparring, endurance, etc. No "chi" or "qi" and no cosmic power or super power. Yet they kick everybody's ass.
If one's ever been in a real fight before, you'll know that the 101 moves to counter a punch that you've learnt in kung fu class will not work for you under stress. You cannot think, your mind starts to shut down. And why make yourself nervous and edgy by learning 101 moves against a punch and 202 moves against a kick? Just 1 or 2 moves will be enough. Imagine what it'll take for your mind to process all that information and ask yourself "Hmmm..which move will I use today."
Not meaning to diss anyone or any art, but we should keep it realistic. Wing Chun guys may be able to kick my ass from here to Timbucktoo for all I know, but we should always keep an inquiring and skeptical mind and question everything. Honestly ask ourselves, will it work in a real world situation, when a 100kg gorilla of a guy is charging at me and swinging his arms trying to knock me out cold. He's not a compliant partner, he's not going to hold out his hand and wait for you to Akido him to death, he's going to beat and kick and push and choke the shat out of you.
Will it work in that situation? If the answer is no, the art is useless for self defense.
I think the once inch punch is a trick...in any case, why would you want your punch to push someone back?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:What about offence? Not just talking about self-defence. Just for information about Bruce Lee, the theorectical progenator of jeet kun do, he did punch a 100kg gorilla of a guy with a fist 1 inch away from the chest and caused the football player to stagger back 5 metres. Next question is about harnessing the full power of the blow. Ever tried to punch something hard? You will find that you slow your fist down before contact. Why? Because of your mind's subliminal fear of pain. Even if you master your fear, the next level is not to even feel the pain. And that's just for starters.
Certainly. The truth is painful, but only when we're willing to wake up and see the truth can we start to learn and improve.Originally posted by scabstermooch:I think you just opened a can of worms...
Have you seen anyone do the "one inch punch" in a real brawl before?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:What about offence? Not just talking about self-defence. Just for information about Bruce Lee, the theorectical progenator of jeet kun do, he did punch a 100kg gorilla of a guy with a fist 1 inch away from the chest and caused the football player to stagger back 5 metres. Next question is about harnessing the full power of the blow. Ever tried to punch something hard? You will find that you slow your fist down before contact. Why? Because of your mind's subliminal fear of pain. Even if you master your fear, the next level is not to even feel the pain. And that's just for starters.
It's exactly this kind of stupid charlatans that I'm talking about. It's ok if they want to believe in this bullshat, but people come to them wanting to learn how to defend themselves are getting cheated not only of their money but their time and effort.Originally posted by scabstermooch:Now that the can of worms has been opened, how can anyone believe this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAiwnNSh49c
You know, when I was watching the video, I was just thinking how funny it'll be if in the middle of all his bullshat, a little kid goes up to him and kicks him in the nuts. Hahahaha! That would really be hilarious!Originally posted by scabstermooch:Now that the can of worms has been opened, how can anyone believe this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DPAmScOHCYQ
Note: I have absolutely no experience of Taiji; so will some one in the know explain the video? I believe it is known as Ling Kong Jin