karate! http://www.pbase.com/laoda/sg_selectionOriginally posted by devils_advocate82:thinking if taking up some self defense...karate or tkd techniques better?
Both have their merits i think. But I prefer tkd. The stances are shorter, thus you would be more agile/ready to respond to your opponent/assailant's movements. Karate's stances are very wide, by the time you bring your leg to the front to kick the guy, the guy wld have gotten at you already (this is what my instructor demonstrated anyway hah).Originally posted by devils_advocate82:thinking if taking up some self defense...karate or tkd techniques better?
But for Karate, I definitely don't see how useful it could be, when strength is challenging strength. The stronger ones would win. Having hand combat can be risky as you are too near to your opponent. If you are using legs, at least there's enough room to separate you and your opponents. Of course, there's a chance that your opponent would grab your leg and cause you to fall off, but with proper training, you should be able to get up in time.Originally posted by Rynax:Im sorry to say this but by the way you guys reply, i don't think you guys are martial artist. or at least experienced ones. no all Karate-kas have wide stances, Its about what style you train. If you are talking about self defence, Karate over TKD anytime. What good would spins + no hand combat do for u in an actual street situation.
dats panic!!!in a fight have to remain calm...u anyhow kick n punch onli wasting ur strength...wif little effect if there is.Originally posted by missqi:actually hor, i always thought it was quite useless. because when u get attacked, u wont have time to think; you'll just kick and punch indiscriminately.
thats what my tuition teacher told me neways; she a TKD black belt.
-----------
ONE NIGHT IN BEIJING.........
and i am zhang san feng!!Originally posted by RaTtY8l:no stance is the best i think. attack when theres an opening n def when ur been attacked. no forms beat forms
yeah but still u have to learn.Originally posted by RaTtY8l:no stance is the best i think. attack when theres an opening n def when ur been attacked. no forms beat forms
not really useless lah. when a person learns martial arts he/she not oni builds up his body, but also reflexes, endurance, co-ordination (some clumsy people will fall down if u ask them to kick ), etc etc... also will be better at delivering power (if kick no strength oso no use mah).Originally posted by missqi:actually hor, i always thought it was quite useless. because when u get attacked, u wont have time to think; you'll just kick and punch indiscriminately.
thats what my tuition teacher told me neways; she a TKD black belt.
And confident. Sometimes confident is very important. If you are trained and confident of your skills, you already gain an upper hand.Originally posted by sgquitter:not really useless lah. when a person learns martial arts he/she not oni builds up his body, but also reflexes, endurance, co-ordination (some clumsy people will fall down if u ask them to kick ), etc etc... also will be better at delivering power (if kick no strength oso no use mah).
its always better to be trained, of coz as Sun-Tze said - zou wei shang ji (siam is still the best strategy)
true. but sometimes a trained person can get so over-confident that he/she get into trouble. IMO, this can be the most dangerous "disadvantage".Originally posted by Hidden^OnE:And confident. Sometimes confident is very important. If you are trained and confident of your skills, you already gain an upper hand.
A girl should always remember, most guys are still much stronger then she is.Originally posted by sgquitter:true. but sometimes a trained person can get so over-confident that he/she get into trouble. IMO, this can be the most dangerous "disadvantage".
for e.g., there was a recent case of a black-belt ger in M'SIA who got raped and killed when she went jogging. could it be possible that she tried to take them on instead of running away?...
If you are interested to learn JKD, you can go to www.ijkd.com for more information. Sifu Mark Stewart IS in Singapore and his students have been training with him for almost 2 years.Originally posted by kopikid:yeah but still u have to learn.
like lets say
u can start off with a muay thai kick to the knee n go into wing chun range then perform another muay thai elbow, then go into other forms of locks/take down.
so basically u still need to learn the same thing.
and i think TKD its a sport. cant really do anything in a real fight.
go JKD. pretty generalise u can kick in the groin, eye gouge.. pretty much anything goes.
but i dont think SG got any good JKD instructor oso hahah go MMA!