uh why?Originally posted by lwflee:I hope you never watch Brokeback Mountain.
The school teaches Xingyi mainly. It's an internal art as well, like Tai Chi, but it's more on the offensive side.Originally posted by Rynax:I want to learn the art along with qigong not just qigong but i am more interested in taichi or wingchun.
let me guess, u defend by directly the force away, while advancing into the opponent's area of influence under his defence?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:The school teaches Xingyi mainly. It's an internal art as well, like Tai Chi, but it's more on the offensive side.
Offensive not as in offending or it attacks a lot. It's a very straight-forward style; it doesn't take a lot of moves to defend. You will learn self defense not by dodging... an error that I've not managed to overcome...
what is your take on muay thai?Originally posted by Short Ninja:Taiji can be fast also but its not the numero uno martial art when you want to hurt people.Every one of these 'Self Defence' arts has its advantages.For example Jujitsu which is good for grappling or when you are on the ground (most street fights end with one or two fighters on the ground).Karate/Taekwondo for staight forward brute offensive but may not be suitable for most people same goes for Judo/Aikido/Bersilat.Jeet kun do is practical but still it is very Wing Chun.The one you should be learning is Unarmed Combat from any army.It teaches you where to hit where it hurt most.Imagine a soccer player using all his kicking force on a point that can actually hurt someone real bad or a softball pitcher throwing his fist at your groin.Nowadays its al recreational but if you ever get caught in a real life situation unarmed combat is the ultimate one that helps you to kick ass.How I know? I have learned it and have used it.
Muay Thai is more brute than the other conventional Martial arts and so if you want to look at it that way then it is better lah.Note that it is easier for boxers to convert to Muay Thai than the other way around....reasons? I also dont know why.I was trained in Unarmed combat by 2 senior korean officers when I was in the SAF.Those trained by the PTIs are not just useless but also hopeless>Originally posted by dumbdumb!:what is your take on muay thai?
i've never been to saf, so i didn't try their unarmed combat, but i heard its kinda useless.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:Bodyblows takes out the wind in the opponet.I have also seen hugh fighters falling on the canvas like a buffalo in "Dances with Wolves" because the little fighters use pain on them by attacking the shin and calves only.
(the boxer kept relying on his awesome strength, trying to end the fight asap with a 1 hit KO. but because of that, he got tired very quickly. while the kickboxer kept dodging, and landing blows and using everything from elbow to feet stomping to knee-kicks, to side kicks, and finally able to make his opponent weary and knock out.)[/b]
there was one scene pretty nice. the muay thai guy threw in a kicked aimed at the artery and nerves at the inner thighs near the groin area, to try to take out the strength in the legs of his opponent. but missed and landed a really solid kick into his groin. the boxer went down and had to rest for awhile before continuing the fight.Originally posted by Short Ninja:Bodyblows takes out the wind in the opponet.I have also seen hugh fighters falling on the canvas like a buffalo in "Dances with Wolves" because the little fighters use pain on them by attacking the shin and calves only.
After getting kicked in the balls I am sure he(boxer) was thinking about going fishing tomorrow.....so did the boxer lose ? Last month there was a K-1 competition in Japan where Musashi got kicked like three times in the balls by two different fighters which reminded me of the movie Kung Pow but this one was really Jialat .When Musashi couldnt continue the chinese fighter felt so guilty that he gave the fight back but by the next bout the Japanese champion was already on his way to the urologist>Originally posted by dumbdumb!:there was one scene pretty nice. the muay thai guy threw in a kicked aimed at the artery and nerves at the inner thighs near the groin area, to try to take out the strength in the legs of his opponent. but missed and landed a really solid kick into his groin. the boxer went down and had to rest for awhile before continuing the fight.
there are quite a no. of places u can try out. Every Sunday morning at Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 carpark (top floor). It's on top of the carpark near the 2 coffee shops. Directly opposite block 326. I think it's around 8am. I heard this frm a friend. Master Kwek Lee Hwa.Originally posted by Rynax:May I know where you train taichi at ? I have been very interested in taichi but those taught in CCs are usually catered for "exercises" for old folks not the real deal focusing on self defence. Can anyone point me in the right direction for learning taichi ?
True but some of them start picking it up after their careers are over.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm anyway, just a point to note.
i've never seen people use taiji in UFC fights before.
i normally see wrestlers, boxers, jujitsu, muay-thai
Yup. And also purposely step in directly to upset his balance. Exact steps differ in real life and practice as it depends on how the attacker attacks you. If needed, moving backwards while borrowing the attacker's attacking force will also upset his balance...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:let me guess, u defend by directly the force away, while advancing into the opponent's area of influence under his defence?
(the judo guy seemed very amateurish, although he took all the blows well. He was unable to do any judo throws, and his flying kicks were very amateurish, he couldn't grapple the karate guy. as for the karate guy, he threw in a few good back kicks and punches and elbows. and he managed to slip out of and counter the judo guy's attempts.)Judo practitioners can handle throws and locks and unbalance someone quite well, but their weakness is at kicking. Watching my friends practice, they always come back with numerous blue-black.
the judo guy was at a disadvantage during UFC, because the opponents were not wearing any clothes so the judo guy got nothing to grab on to, to throw. he could only do leg sweeps, which the karate guy side stepped easily, before throwing an elbow or a kick.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Judo practitioners can handle throws and locks and unbalance someone quite well, but their weakness is at kicking. Watching my friends practice, they always come back with numerous blue-black.
A well-trained Judo practitioner can actually throw and lock you very well, as well as trying to unbalance you. When you think you have upset their balance, the next minute you are on the ground.
I've tried this once... I never dare to try again...
its only good against 1 on 1 then. don't say vs 20 la.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I will just say run once he's on the ground. Why wait for him to get up and get back at you? That's assuming if there's enough pain for him to lie on the floor for at least 30 seconds or more.
Yes, 1 on 1. More than that, just run.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:its only good against 1 on 1 then. don't say vs 20 la.
2 is enough to pk anyone with judo. and i'm saying this out of ignorance la. i'm thinking judo is more of a throwing and grappling art.
my little secret.Originally posted by Troll Warrior:where u watch it from?