haha cables and wires disconnectin is a culprit and prime suspect of many problemsOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I think there is something wrong with sgforums server, because it happened to me. Now I think everything is back to normal.
My worst computer crashes:
Well, my computer didn't crash. I boot up the computer as usual. The computer didn't even boot up. It just keep beeping. I then opened the CPU and inspect it. Still find nothing wrong with it. Then I decide to let it rest for a while. After lunch I came back and tried to start it, it is still in the same old condition.
I then opened up my other CPU and did a comparison. Then I hit my head. The floppy disk drive wire had dropped off, and I set my BIOS to detect the floppy disk drive. No wonder it failed to load. After re-connecting the wires back, the computer work again.
An advantage of having 2 CPUs --> use the other to compare and see what went wrong with the other one.
Yup. And I didn't notice that the wires connecting to floppy disk was gone.Originally posted by lpx88:haha cables and wires disconnectin is a culprit and prime suspect of many problems![]()
Laptop die how?Originally posted by FireIce:i cut long story short
5 yr old comp has 2 HDD
one old and one new
one day, old HDD (the one with OS) died
unable to revive
nehmind.....cry for a few days.....survive on new HDD
1mth later, new HDD oso say byebye
reason....
old HDD had damaged motherboard
motherboard in turn, damage new HDD
action: buy own laptop!
choy!!!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Laptop die how?![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:choy!!!
dun worry, i have another laptop
Originally posted by the Bear:mine was hilarious...
in the office...
"hey.. what's that smell?"
the HDD was a charred mess
After buying 2 laptops.....Originally posted by FireIce:im poor.......
bcos i have 2 laptops........
lol reminds me...i nearly fried my mobo when i tried to insert a ram module...my 1st ever attemp mah...lolOriginally posted by the Bear:mine was hilarious...
in the office...
"hey.. what's that smell?"
the HDD was a charred mess
But learning experience for you. Don't set the program files to hidden status if not crash again.Originally posted by chanff8:Ho ho ho... Speaking of crashes, I sure have alot...
First time, installed a trial version of anti-virus, called bull guard or something cos of kazaa last time. Messed around with it then set schedule for scanning every 3 days. Poof, 3 days later tio BSOD...
Second time, set one of the program files to hidden. Poof, next day startup crash...
The rest can't remember alrdy. Cos it was quite a few years ago...
Haha yea, I sure learnt alot from all theseOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:But learning experience for you. Don't set the program files to hidden status if not crash again.
Solve in time for your pitch?Originally posted by BÃ¥seline:My kinda work require to work on Mac platform and so far they tends to be very very stable. But on that day.. yrs ago, it's HD failed me.
*Sounds of thunder storm* Boooommmm.......
As usual, after I made my coffee and settled down on my seat... I switched on my office's Mac. As usual... the screen slowly lit up..... as usual, the Mac would display a smiling Mac icon... NOT! It displayed a sad Mac. Now, when a Mac boots up with that sad Icon, it usually meant a major problem.
Following that, I heard a weird sound coming from the CPU. It's likened the sound when you stir coffee in a cup... but in this instance.. it sounds smoother and consistent.
I rebooted the comp and wala..... but comp prompted tt the HD was missing. I was like.."W....T.....F." WTF cos I the day before I was rushing a pitch due two days later. On top of that, I was running tight on a deadline for a publication. Geee.... my bak sai almost burst into dam at that point of time.
Lolz whenever it shows an icon like that its hardware failureOriginally posted by BÃ¥seline:My kinda work require to work on Mac platform and so far they tends to be very very stable. But on that day.. yrs ago, it's HD failed me.
*Sounds of thunder storm* Boooommmm.......
As usual, after I made my coffee and settled down on my seat... I switched on my office's Mac. As usual... the screen slowly lit up..... as usual, the Mac would display a smiling Mac icon... NOT! It displayed a sad Mac. Now, when a Mac boots up with that sad Icon, it usually meant a major problem.
Following that, I heard a weird sound coming from the CPU. It's likened the sound when you stir coffee in a cup... but in this instance.. it sounds smoother and consistent.
I rebooted the comp and wala..... but comp prompted tt the HD was missing. I was like.."W....T.....F." WTF cos I the day before I was rushing a pitch due two days later. On top of that, I was running tight on a deadline for a publication. Geee.... my bak sai almost burst into dam at that point of time.
Unfortunately... no.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Solve in time for your pitch?
Never mind, here got Mac pros to answer your questions. They are not online now.
hahaha.Originally posted by chanff8:Lolz whenever it shows an icon like that its hardware failure
He just sent me a PM. Should become one by tomorrowOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Chanff8, lypx88 haven't make you a mod yet?
He says he decided you will take the last space for the mod.....
I suppose yr using Mac OS8 or OS9 at that time. Yup Apple has a unique sense of humour. Just watching the way Steve Jobs introduced the iPod Nano makes me laughOriginally posted by BÃ¥seline:hahaha.
U know, they sure hv a wicked sense of humour... imagine all along it's a Smiling mac everytime you bootup. Then, one fine day... it's not smiling anymore.. I tell you, it's gonna hurt ya.![]()