true. you just can't trust the quality control ten years ago. i can still vividly remember the circuit breaker tripping on quite a number of occassion, not to mention the nights i had to go through without electricity.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I think you got a faulty plug. For this to happen and to involve the circuit breaker, it is very obvious that the fuse in the plug failed to work.
eh?How come the system will not bypass the floppy disk and just continue to boot up?Floppy disk's not important anywayOriginally posted by lpx88:haha cables and wires disconnectin is a culprit and prime suspect of many problems![]()
LOL that one is you run too many proccesses at once...not enuf RAM...LOLOriginally posted by ceecookie:eh?How come the system will not bypass the floppy disk and just continue to boot up?Floppy disk's not important anyway
worst crash
there was a time when i started up my PC...everything was normal until a while later when i was navigating ard Windows when the PC suddenly began to hang and then error messages(which i 4got) began to pop up....totally hang up,press all kind of keys nothing happen...kicked motherboard in anger and then turned off the main outlet switch and then turn it on immedatially...then ok already![]()
i dont think so lah....the error message which i remember was not related to not enuf RAM appeared first then the PC stop responding...Originally posted by lpx88:LOL that one is you run too many proccesses at once...not enuf RAM...LOL
WTF!!!yr prob is the same as mi!!!AND I PAID 80 BUCKS AND HAD MT DOCUMENTS AND STUFF WIPED UP!!!Haiz....if oni i can consult u...Originally posted by launtpc:Mine is a wierd problem, but I know how to solve.
Everything is OK and normal. My custom bootscreen loads. Then, there is a blank screen.
Fine, go into Safe Mode. Hang.
Fine, use XP CD repair. No use.
Fine, try to re-install. XP CD says: "Your OS Kernel is modified. Please remove the modification to proceed with Setup."
WTF, how to remove modification if cannot even boot up?!
So, you use a floppy called "WIN98 STARTUP DISK"
I deleted a file called C:\Boot.ini
Done.
Moral: Don't use custom booting screens.
yea I tried using custom boot screens before and it also can't boot up properly. But I manage to get into safe mode and uninstall the programOriginally posted by launtpc:Mine is a wierd problem, but I know how to solve.
Everything is OK and normal. My custom bootscreen loads. Then, there is a blank screen.
Fine, go into Safe Mode. Hang.
Fine, use XP CD repair. No use.
Fine, try to re-install. XP CD says: "Your OS Kernel is modified. Please remove the modification to proceed with Setup."
WTF, how to remove modification if cannot even boot up?!
So, you use a floppy called "WIN98 STARTUP DISK"
I deleted a file called C:\Boot.ini
Done.
Moral: Don't use custom booting screens.
Don't know leh....Originally posted by ceecookie:eh?How come the system will not bypass the floppy disk and just continue to boot up?Floppy disk's not important anyway
worst crash
there was a time when i started up my PC...everything was normal until a while later when i was navigating ard Windows when the PC suddenly began to hang and then error messages(which i 4got) began to pop up....totally hang up,press all kind of keys nothing happen...kicked motherboard in anger and then turned off the main outlet switch and then turn it on immedatially...then ok already![]()
nex time this prob ocurs try pressin the start button yr keyboard.(the 1 wid the windows logoOriginally posted by kc_leung:this doesn't really count as a crash... but when I worked in the default Win XP theme, sometimes the buttons for some programs on the taskbar will just totally disappear... and the only way to switch to the program is to Alt-Tab... anyone kena this bug before?
(disappear = really disappear, it isn't collapsed into another button... for example i noticed my firefox taskbar button sometimes totally disappeared and there is no firefox button in taskbar at all, even though i could have started firefox only 1 minute ago)
this doesn't seem to happen on my laptop, but then i switched to the windows classic theme.![]()
Hahaha... Reminds me of this video...Originally posted by kc_leung:Dunno what I did the other day, but I was working on a 1800-page document in MS word when all of a sudden, the dialog box appeared: "saving of autorecovery info is delayed" or something like that.
then I had a feeling something was wrong, and then I press Ctrl-S to save the file. WT... it complained "disk is full"?! I checked the drive free space in explorer, only 14 GB used out of total 60GB, which isn't "full"...run scandisk, then try to save again, and still the same "disk full" error.
and i noticed also, in the save dialog box, all the icons for the folders on the left sidebar had ALL disappeared.
i had to reboot before MS word would act properly. lost 3 pages of edits. and i still have no idea why it would complain "disk full" on a disk not even half full.![]()
Maybe this may enlighten things for you:Originally posted by ceecookie:
may i know what program is this?
becoz this error also appeared with another error before the whole computer crashed and i had to power-reboot it
The Blue Screen Of DeathOriginally posted by fudgester:Once while I was doing a routine virus scan on my laptop (using AVG Antivirus), I found four files infected with a Trojan Horse. Worse still, the program couldn't seem to delete the files or the virus.
So I looked at the location of the infected files, which happened to be in the Mozilla FireFox Internet Cache. So I manually deleted the files and rebooted my laptop.
When I rebooted my laptop, guess what I got - The Blue Screen of Death.
I had to send it down to the pros to fix it.![]()
This one I also kena. If you don't minimise the prog and you find its window, click on it, you get your prog bar back.Originally posted by kc_leung:this doesn't really count as a crash... but when I worked in the default Win XP theme, sometimes the buttons for some programs on the taskbar will just totally disappear... and the only way to switch to the program is to Alt-Tab... anyone kena this bug before?
(disappear = really disappear, it isn't collapsed into another button... for example i noticed my firefox taskbar button sometimes totally disappeared and there is no firefox button in taskbar at all, even though i could have started firefox only 1 minute ago)
this doesn't seem to happen on my laptop, but then i switched to the windows classic theme.![]()
Vista sux...accordin to task manager the CPU usage is always 80 to 100 percent 1....Originally posted by chanff8:The Blue Screen Of Death
When Windows Vista come out, its not only going to have the Blue Screen Of Death, but also the Red Screen Of Death, the latter being the more serious error![]()