But Kingston Technician have told me that it will take two weeks to rectify if the RAM is faulty.Originally posted by alexkusu:Bring back to the shop. Threaten them with you consumer rights and Consumer Gurantees Act 1984.
U have a deadline to fulfill so cant afford to waste time on these matters right? Some more, ur more likely to make it worse. At least if they screw up, u can get some form of compensation.
Thats their standard response ma. U apply abit of pressure they can do it in 4 days.Originally posted by M©+square:But Kingston Technician have told me that it will take two weeks to rectify if the RAM is faulty.
OR
The RAM is not compatible with my Laptop. Then I LL liao. Got to buy new one.
How would you apply pressure? I don't know how to apply pressure one leh.Originally posted by alexkusu:Thats their standard response ma. U apply abit of pressure they can do it in 4 days.
If not, what other feasible options do you have?
They claim to send it back to Taiwan for product test, that's why 2wks.Originally posted by lpx88:ya change the RAM...best and fastest way
This one I duno. I think Yunhan can help u betterOriginally posted by M©+square:How would you apply pressure? I don't know how to apply pressure one leh.
Tip me can?
huh from what you read?Originally posted by chanff8:Yr ram may not be suitable for your motherboard. Did you ask Acer about the type of ram the motherboard supports? I suggest you force them to refund you your ram.
From what I've read, your ram doesn't seem to suit your laptop's motherboard... It may not be able to support DDR ram altogether
=.=" cos you didn't say anything about yr original ram being DDR...Originally posted by M©+square:huh from what you read?
What did you read which tells that DDR Ram doesn't support my Laptop?
When i took out my 256mb Ram from my RAM module slot. My old ram was stated DDR 256mb 266mhz.
Can you furnishmore details on which Ram will my Laptop support?
What kind of RAM your laptop use?Originally posted by M©+square:Yo Guys!!! I need help here.
Acer Travelmate 650
2.0Ghz P4 m
Kingston 512MB 266mhz DDR(1) SODIMM RAM was purchased on 24 Nov 2005.
Costronic, the boss fixed it in my Laptop and tested it. It works fine and until yesterday night when i got home from my gf's place.
When i pressed the ON button, there was
1) CPU Fan sound
2) Hard Disk sound
There wasn't BIOs and Windows XP SP1 boot up. It was a blank screen.
So i thought my monitor LCD is gone for good.
Or my HDD.
Then i tried removing the RAM which i've installed on 24Nov.
And press the ON button again.
Everything is back to normal again except that i'm left with 256MB of the original RAM which comes with AcerTM.
Quickly did virus scan and malware scan, nothing found.
But i've found out that my IE browser history, many porn websites visited and many mpeg files was in my HDD.
I am a Opera 8 user.
I tried again this morning, fixing RAM into my Laptop and switched on. Cannot.
Remove it, can boot.
I did this for three times. No avail.
I wish to check if anyone have experienced this kind of problem.Should I?
1) Bring the RAM back to Kingston dealer and wait for two weeks for the exchange?
2) Try reinstalling Xin XP SP1 to clear the potiental virus which might have affected my RAM?Virus affecting RAM???
Because i've been using it for the last 20 days and it was serving me well. How come the sudden failure...i've called Kingston up, the technican told me that some RAMs are genetic and some laptops are sensitive to the RAMs used.
Please advise.
With my 256mb RAM. I cannot use my Photoshop to render any of my works. My project deadline is two weeks from now....
My PS work size are 500mb to 1Gb. That's why 256mb RAM cannot take the rendering. It is possible to work with, but not effective.
Jiu ming ah.....![]()
http://www.acersupport.com/notebook/html/tm650.htmlOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:What kind of RAM your laptop use?
Not all RAM is suitable for laptop. Buy wrong one and if cannot work, no refund.
Since you have been using the RAM for 20 days before it hung up on you, so I think the RAM should be compatible with your laptop. So, it could be a faulty RAM. Just wait for your RAM or do OT in your company, if their hardware is as good.
Another question: How old is your laptop? I see the model and checked with Acer (Singapore) website. There is no such model. All their models (with teh exception of their tablet notebook) 4-digits one leh. Like Acer TravelMate 8100. Or yours not local product? If not local product, you have to call and ask back what kind of RAM they use.
Bro, when i bought it in the PC shop SLS-Costronic. I would have chosen the exact same PC266mhz to install tio boh...Originally posted by chanff8:=.=" cos you didn't say anything about yr original ram being DDR...
Singapore don't have such laptops, not my search engine skills bad lah. Your link go to US, while I am finding around .sg websites....Originally posted by M©+square:http://www.acersupport.com/notebook/html/tm650.html
The RAM is up and working again, after i've reformatted my Laptop.
I did option 2 and tried. It works. I'm quite convinced that either a virus got into my BIOs or Malware screwed up.
now i'm back with 768mb 266mhz RAM.
My travelmate is almost 3years old.
Bought in PC show 2003 i think. haha.
p.s You need to improve on your search engine skill.![]()