It doesn't happen for XP SP2 because once you installed SP2, you would have installed the necessary patches as well.Originally posted by GSL:hmm..... strange never see before this kind of shutdown on Windows XP Service Pack 2 ,then it must kanna virus, possible is Sasser.
yep and after that while the shutdown process is being cancelled download This Patch to remove the worm frm ur system...i kena dis worm 2 yrs ago..and my frien taught me a method lyk this to cancel the 'shut down within one sec' thingOriginally posted by chanff8:If it appears again, try either one of the following methods:
1. Disconnect the LAN cable (If your using broadband). If this can't work, refer to 2.
2. Go to Start --> All Programs --> Accessories --> Command Prompt and type "shutdown -a" without the quotes and press enter. The shutdown process should be cancelled.
Now to check whether you have Blaster, which is rather unlikely, see if the process msblast.exe is in your Task Manager (Ctrl+Alt+Del).
If so, report back here...
Oh, and are you using Internet Explorer? You said it appears when you log on to the net. Can state internet connection?
Watch out also for these processes:
rpc.exe
rpctest.exe
dcomx.exe
lolx.exe
worm.exe
Make sure that the username is system, not some other user names.Originally posted by chanff8:http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?letter=&filter=lsass&count=50&offset=0
If theres 2 lsass.exes in yr task manager... Congrats, you strike toto![]()

yea I saw that too. Lol was thinking exactly the same thing as youOriginally posted by GSL:Your screenshot SiBeh small![]()
I know. Don't know why. Resubmitted a bigger one and give me the same thing.Originally posted by chanff8:yea I saw that too. Lol was thinking exactly the same thing as you
Then another loophole of Microsoft discovered.Originally posted by GSL:ceecookie is using Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2).(because i have see it on the HijackThis Log he posted.
Probably he/she did not turn of firewall.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Then another loophole of Microsoft discovered.![]()
noOriginally posted by GSL:Did u see this Screenshot First:
Then![]()
hmmm........ Have u Download all the Windows XP Patch on the Windows update WebsiteOriginally posted by ceecookie:no
i've only seen the second one...never the top one
ive set the computer to dl the important patch....u know...the computer will dl them if avail b4 the computer turn off....Originally posted by GSL:hmmm........ Have u Download all the Windows XP Patch on the Windows XP Websitebecause there's an Emergency Patch for Internet Explorer.
I know, is called automatic update.Originally posted by ceecookie:ive set the computer to dl the important patch....u know...the computer will dl them if avail b4 the computer turn off....
me too...but now got exploits in FF liaoOriginally posted by chanff8:I made a wise choice switching to Firefox![]()
Yea, since more ppl are switching to FirefoxOriginally posted by ceecookie:me too...but now got exploits in FF liao
Switch to Opera or other browsers. But Opera is really very slow on my computer, even though others say it is good. Still think Firefox is better. Can use Netscape also. Accept both of them.Originally posted by ceecookie:me too...but now got exploits in FF liao