ok..Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:$1099 and $1999 both also $1k++ leh!!
hmm....we need ur budget more specifiacally as a $500 diff can already means a dual core or a single core..Originally posted by RSP:Am looking to get a new computer.
Main uses for this PC will be ...
1. Internet Surfing
2. Gaming eg. SIMS 2 and Football Manager.
3. Watch DVDs.
4. Burn DVDs.
Any advises on the specs that I should look out for?
Budget 1K++
Originally posted by skeujin:computer can wear specs? new range from oakley?![]()
OK 1 GB RAM sounds good to me.Originally posted by ceecookie:hmm....we need ur budget more specifiacally as a $500 diff can already means a dual core or a single core..
anyway looking at ur requirement u probly need a 512MB RAM or 1GB RAm with dual core and 80GB...however due to ur budget u might have to forgo dual core and have 512 Mb RAM....u too need DVD-RW driver...its avail as a upgrade...it will most likely be from 2.4GHZ- 2.8GHZ...one more thing do not choose those PC wif shared memory...a 128Mb graphic card is enuf...
that'll be great!Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:Will do up something for u tonite if i dun feel too lazy at home..
meanwhile u can go to vr-zone to have a look at what u can get within your budget.
dual core means have 2 core...er i dunno much of these but they will increase the performace...something like turbo and twin-turbo...Originally posted by RSP:OK 1 GB RAM sounds good to me.
80GB HDD works well for me too.
Pardon but whats the difference between single and dual core? in terms of performance, reliability and durability.
his budget is not much to include high end one w/o sacrificing his pc specOriginally posted by Aveme:i think you should mention here whether you are going to include a monitor within this budget of yours and maybe speaker since you are into gaming and the sound quality may make a difference.These 2 can add a substanial amount into the budget
yeah but if he mentions it,it may give people a better idea on what to recommend him to give him as best a configuration he can get for his budget.Originally posted by ceecookie:his budget is not much to include high end one w/o sacrificing his pc spec
oh forget abt the speakers ...it's not included in the budget..I've got good enough systems at the moment..Originally posted by Aveme:i think you should mention here whether you are going to include a monitor within this budget of yours and maybe speaker since you are into gaming and the sound quality may make a difference.These 2 can add a substanial amount into the budget
do u want the lcd monitor?Originally posted by RSP:oh forget abt the speakers ...it's not included in the budget..I've got good enough systems at the moment..
The budget is solely for the CPU..
no need for LCD monitor..Originally posted by ceecookie:do u want the lcd monitor?
if u shave it off the package u can save $300-$500 at the most
Internet surfing: Use back the old modem or router. Saves costOriginally posted by RSP:Am looking to get a new computer.
Main uses for this PC will be ...
1. Internet Surfing
2. Gaming eg. SIMS 2 and Football Manager.
3. Watch DVDs.
4. Burn DVDs.
Any advises on the specs that I should look out for?
Budget 1K++
$160 to $330 depending on the technology. CL4 will cost around $300++Originally posted by lpx88:go hardwarezone.com and check out the singapore pricelists there tooanyway jus curious...anyone noes roughly how much i can get for a 1GB ram?
I think u got ur prices sala leh.. CL2 all faster than CL3.. and CL3 is more expentive?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:$160 to $330 depending on the technology. CL4 will cost around $300++
CL2 to CL2.5 cost around $160 to $200++, depending on the brand.
All these are just one piece only.
Got meh?Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:I think u got ur prices sala leh.. CL2 all faster than CL3.. and CL3 is more expentive?![]()
I prefer Seagate. But up to them lah. They can change this and that to suit themselves.Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:and most will recommend hitachi hdd now... unless they wanna clear stock
got.. go check properlyOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Got meh?
Seagate hdds all run v silent.. and also damn hot.. and heat would eventually make the hdd fail prematurely and suddenly.. bad experience with seagate la..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I prefer Seagate. But up to them lah. They can change this and that to suit themselves.