I assume that you have this laptop setting: When you close the lid, it will be on standby mode.Originally posted by shade343:Before I came back home, I was using my acer laptop in class to watch movies(namely Kill bill). After class ended, I shut down my laptop and press the lid down without waiting for the screen to go blank.
After when I came back home, I took my laptop out of the bag and I found it SUPER HOT. I tried to power it on, but it seems that the battery life was gone. But I charged it fully in school before that.
After charging for a while, I was able to boot up everything. Now the problem is, the fan keeps on running at a very high speed. This is the first time I hear the fan making so much noise. Is there anyway to reduce the speed of the fan or turn it off?
I set the CPU performance of my laptop to "low" but it didnt work.
Could anyone help me?
Yup. If I close the lid, it will switch to standby mode. WHen I took it out, it was real hot. I have fan blowing directly over it now.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I assume that you have this laptop setting: When you close the lid, it will be on standby mode.
So, although you ask the laptop to shutdown, you close the lid first, causing some confusion for the laptop. It chooses a standby instead of a shutdown.
I guess you leave it in a cool place, running. It can take really to cool down, so if it's an air-con room, it would greatly reduce the time. There is no way to turn the fan off, it would be disastrous.
Yup, I figured out how to do that.Originally posted by darkensun:In case u dunno how to set it to do nothing go to the Acer epower Management(the green rectangle bar at the taskbar there) click on advanced settings and go to Power Button and Password and set when I close the lid :no action...den apply and u r done...btw are u in SP EEE?
I think you bring it to Acer and ask them for help. This problem is probably more serious than I thought.Originally posted by shade343:The Fan is still running. And it increased its speed again....very very noisy...im worried.![]()
Its an acer ferrari right? Just showing you how a ferrari breaks the 14000rpm barrier.Originally posted by shade343:The Fan is still running. And it increased its speed again....very very noisy...im worried.![]()
Its an Acer 5514. Wtf, I have to travel all the way to Jurong to get this fixed? Is there anywhere nearer?Originally posted by ditzy:Its an acer ferrari right? Just showing you how a ferrari breaks the 14000rpm barrier.![]()
I had to go all the way to jurong to replace the inverter also. Sorry, no shortcuts buddy boy.Originally posted by shade343:Its an Acer 5514. Wtf, I have to travel all the way to Jurong to get this fixed? Is there anywhere nearer?
Is the on-site warranty still valid? If yes, use it. They will go to your school and fix for you. If on-site warranty ended, you have to go all the way to Jurong.Originally posted by shade343:Its an Acer 5514. Wtf, I have to travel all the way to Jurong to get this fixed? Is there anywhere nearer?
No on site warranty. I bought this from Sitex 2005, It came with a 3 year warranty.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Is the on-site warranty still valid? If yes, use it. They will go to your school and fix for you. If on-site warranty ended, you have to go all the way to Jurong.
Then you really have to go Jurong.Originally posted by shade343:No on site warranty. I bought this from Sitex 2005, It came with a 3 year warranty.
My poor poor laptop.
I only took good care of the external appearance but ignored the hardware...
But this time, user Kumlan meh....Originally posted by FireIce:told u dun buy acer liao mah
His school is SP. Quite near lah...but if there's flood in jurong. Interesting liao leh.Originally posted by ditzy:Eh, raining today leh, go jurong must take care ar.![]()