I lazy mah.Originally posted by stellazio:you should have done that a long time ago..![]()
i prefer firefox personally..aiyah its about the same la..except that u open new tabs in firefox instead of opening new windows in ie..Originally posted by MooKu:I lazy mah.
Too used to using Internet Explorer... If I switch to others have to figure out where everything is again.
Is Opera or Firefox better?
Originally posted by MooKu:1) You have gotten spyware. Until your picture links work, I can't help.
I WILL STOP USING IE!
I'm SO SICK and TIRED!
The stupid idiot window that came out (but suddenly stopped doing so for a while) popped out AGAIN!
[b]Dear Xiaomayi : Just now I went and deleted about 3.5GB of things. I also ran a "Error-Checking" scan via my C:\ Properties->Tools. Right now, my computer is functioning at normal speed. It doesn't hang anymore when I try to do anything, but the dumbass window is popping out again.
Questions!
1) Why does that window keep popping out?
2) How do I close that window without being led to a website to download antivirus program?
3)My virus scans (virus definitions updated) reveal nothing at all, not even spyware. Is there a possibility that Norton Antivirus is missing something?
Sobsobsob. My poor Mr Pawnut.[/b]
i can see her image leh.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:1) You have gotten spyware. Until your picture links work, I can't help.
2) Just click on the cross. If it brings you to other website, just cross it.
3) Has your Norton Antivirus expired? Did you renewed it?
How do I confirm if I have spyware?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:1) You have gotten spyware. Until your picture links work, I can't help.
2) Just click on the cross. If it brings you to other website, just cross it.
3) Has your Norton Antivirus expired? Did you renewed it?
I am a girl meh? o_OOriginally posted by stellazio:i can see her image leh.![]()
Originally posted by MooKu:I am a girl meh? o_O
Use more anti-spywares to scan.Originally posted by MooKu:How do I confirm if I have spyware?I renewed my Norton Antivirus a few days back, updated the virus definitions, ran more than three scans ever since then. The first scan revealed:
Adware.Navhelper - Status unsure
Spyware.CometCursor - Status unsure
Download.trojan - Repaired
All the above have not appeared again in the results of subsequent scans.I downloaded Ad-Aware, scanned my computer once with it. Nothing came out.
Just look through your task manager.Originally posted by MooKu:
Erm, actually I think the CometCursor spyware... is it harmful in other ways except that it changes the cursor when you visit some sites?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Just look through your task manager.
Has the CPU Usage been 100% for the past few days or is it just for that day? If it is just for that day, it could some programs which are unstable.
If it has been going on for the past few days, it could have the adware/spyware detected by Symantec. As they are removed, they no longer caused problems for you. Get a few more anti-spywares to be sure that there are no more spywares.
A list is here:
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=177927
Actually I was thinking of starting a thread to seek opinions on which are the better internet browsers. Is there an existing one already?Originally posted by the Bear:i found out that firefox is more vulnerable to spyware than opera...
so now using opera
Originally posted by MooKu:Actually I was thinking of starting a thread to seek opinions on which are the better internet browsers. Is there an existing one already?
My brother was saying Mozilla is the same as Firefox... They're different, aren't they?
Teeheeheehee. Okay.Originally posted by the Bear:uhh... mookie, it's Mozilla Firefox
It is indeed harmful in other ways. As its name suggests, it is a spyware. It logs your internet usage.Originally posted by MooKu:Erm, actually I think the CometCursor spyware... is it harmful in other ways except that it changes the cursor when you visit some sites?
I have also referred to your solution as above regarding NavExcel, and none of the entries you mentioned can be found in the registry.
The 100% CPU usage was only for yesterday, or maybe Sunday too. More probably only yesterday.
No lah.Originally posted by chanff8:Are you transferring anything or copying files to other places? Cos your explorer.exe, which is your taskbar, windows explorers etc, is functioning at 90+% CPU
Try ending the process. Don't be afraid to see your taskbar disappearing. Then restart the process by going to File-->New task and type explorer.exe
Hrm. ActiveX controls. It could be possible, but I can't remember...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It is indeed harmful in other ways. As its name suggests, it is a spyware. It logs your internet usage.
Have you downloaded anything recently? Especially when they IE warned about the ActiveX controls?
Since none of NavExcel entries can't be found in the registry, there are 2 possible reasons for it.
1) Norton cleared it.
2) You looked in the wrong registry key.
As for the CPU usage, it could be due to unstable programs that is causing it to reach the peak for that day. IE is usually the culprit. Usually, ending the process directly from task manager and restarting would solve it. Norton Antivirus is also another culprit, because they work in the background. But you can't end any of Norton Antivirus process, so you have to restart computer if it starts reaching 100% again.