hmm...but the other comp seems to work just fine when we plug in the cable i used to plug into my lappie wor...so tink there are already two cables to begin with? the technician oso mention the router is already connected to the router sumhow...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You need two cables. One to connect your laptop to the hub, the other one to connect the hub to the router.![]()
Got enable LAN?Originally posted by rainee:hmm...but the other comp seems to work just fine when we plug in the cable i used to plug into my lappie wor...so tink there are already two cables to begin with? the technician oso mention the router is already connected to the router sumhow...
got, enabled oledi...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Got enable LAN?
Start > Control Panel > Network Connections
Right click Local Area Connection, then select Enable.
What websites?Originally posted by rainee:got, enabled oledi...
also tried repairing the connection a few times le, but to no avail. And it keeps saying there is no problem with the connection, so dunno why cant connect to the internet.
I realize that can go into certain websites like MSN and Google, can search using Google oso, but when I try to go into other websites, then cannot le![]()
Almost all websites besides Google and MSN cannot be accessed...SgForums can, but only the first page, after that cannot go in oso.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:What websites?
What kind of errors?
Bad gateway or something?
Start > Control Panel > Network Connections.Originally posted by rainee:Almost all websites besides Google and MSN cannot be accessed...SgForums can, but only the first page, after that cannot go in oso.
My lappie has this Access Connection program, so when I test the connection using that, it says no internet connection available, pls check your firewall. But I only have a Windows Firewall inside my lappie, and even when I removed that, there is no change in the internet connection. I asked my boss if there is a firewall in the office, he said no![]()
oledi did datOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Start > Control Panel > Network Connections.
Right click Local Area Connection, select Properties.
General tab, double click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
Select Obtain an IP address automatically and Obtain DNS server address automatically.
Not wires, not router, not hub.Originally posted by rainee:oledi did dat![]()
yea lor, very perplexing hor?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Not wires, not router, not hub.
Your laptop?
Try testing using the cables from your work mates. If it's still the same problem, try getting IBM to check.
Very. I'm almost prepared to throw in theories.Originally posted by rainee:yea lor, very perplexing hor?
i test it using another cable on a router, then it is working. maybe there is sth wrong with the cable i was using earlier to connect to the hub la. will get a lappie to test it soon
thanks for the help mayi
if it doesnt work...try port forwarding...Originally posted by rainee:yea lor, very perplexing hor?
i test it using another cable on a router, then it is working. maybe there is sth wrong with the cable i was using earlier to connect to the hub la. will get a lappie to test it soon
thanks for the help mayi
Your company then maybe still can.Originally posted by troublemaker2005:wah i feel that i am learning things new things every day...first say notebk cannot connect tointernet then say can connect to some sites but no the rest...got deal communicate with technician oredi tech can still tok c ock never solve the prob....worse in another thread we got an AMD 'dual core' naming for an Intel processor so now we call Intel 'Core duo' as Intel 'Dual Core'.
please provide hardware details of all notebks in use and router and hub spec ples thk u very much![]()
aiya for the specs lah...work things in all the ways u can...remember must test systematically and that includes cable and any accessories or hardware that connects up a link. if yr frens or the tech or yourself or any mods here can solve yr prob remember post results here let us know kOriginally posted by rainee:hmm so far have ruled out evthing except for whether the cable is working or not, cos still cannot find a lappie to test it today...tho someone told me that she has used her laptop with that cable before and it worked fine, tho that was a while ago...
as for the specs in my lappie, wat kinda specs u looking for? Think can just google for IBM T43, then shud be able to find le, it is quite a common model ma![]()
yea no prob, i oso wan to find out wats the cause itselfOriginally posted by troublemaker2005:aiya for the specs lah...work things in all the ways u can...remember must test systematically and that includes cable and any accessories or hardware that connects up a link. if yr frens or the tech or yourself or any mods here can solve yr prob remember post results here let us know k![]()