x2Originally posted by chenc:Define safe. What is it to you?
Not get busted and sued by police?
Not get virus attacks?
The answer to both is technically, no.
First of all, i am not so sure but dun think there has yet been a case where someone was caught using p2p illegally and fined. Although there are some cases of mass distribution of copyrighted materials online.
Truth is, there is no way the police is going to sit there and trace ppl who download things. The ISPs are doing it. However, it is impossible to do effective tracing and keep the cost down. You need to employ thousands of ppl who sits infront of the computer all day and trying to find patterns in their customer's received and sent data every second. Usually it take months and luck just to catch 1 guy.
Virus attacks? Not so much. But there are plenty of trojans. P2P is 1 of the easiest way for these things to enter your computer. Softwares like limeware proved to be the most dangerous. As for torrent clients, it is possible, but so far no problems for me.
Not get busted and sued by police?Legally, if you are distributing your own work, it is all right. P2P started off this way; artists wanting their name to be known distributed free copies of their work on a P2P network.
okok know liao lolOriginally posted by chenc:Define safe. What is it to you?
Not get busted and sued by police?
Not get virus attacks?
The answer to both is technically, no.
First of all, i am not so sure but dun think there has yet been a case where someone was caught using p2p illegally and fined. Although there are some cases of mass distribution of copyrighted materials online.
Truth is, there is no way the police is going to sit there and trace ppl who download things. The ISPs are doing it. However, it is impossible to do effective tracing and keep the cost down. You need to employ thousands of ppl who sits infront of the computer all day and trying to find patterns in their customer's received and sent data every second. Usually it take months and luck just to catch 1 guy.
Virus attacks? Not so much. But there are plenty of trojans. P2P is 1 of the easiest way for these things to enter your computer. Softwares like limeware proved to be the most dangerous. As for torrent clients, it is possible, but so far no problems for me.
if im not wrong the tracker should be a computer or a server or something that is the "server" of the file. Or you can say a tracker is the host of the file, if the tracker is offline then the speed will be as fast as when the tracker is onlineOriginally posted by Classyfied:okok know liao lol
but then hor how u download chinese songs from torrents ar?
and wad is torrent tracker? do i use the tracker to track down the songs i want or wad? plz advise![]()
Well, limewire opens up a backdoor in your computer, making it always ready for anyone with skills to enter. You never did experience any problem coz there are millions of users and thousands of hackers. Considering the ratio, you must be really unlucky to fall prey to them.Originally posted by gohkatkat:lime wire giving trojans???? never encountered any before..........edonkey gave some......not limewire.........limewire is good........but limited files you can seek..........
that's why XP windows sp2 incorporated windows firewall in it to block intruders..........
but i can get all the games and software who cares actually..........
If you put the whole P2P program on your firewall's block list, it might not get through. Only those skilled enough would be able to get those stuff through.Originally posted by chenc:Well, limewire opens up a backdoor in your computer, making it always ready for anyone with skills to enter. You never did experience any problem coz there are millions of users and thousands of hackers. Considering the ratio, you must be really unlucky to fall prey to them.
Did some testing with my friends. SP2 do block some light stuffs, but not effective. my friend could get a keylogger to my com when i tried getting a normal word doc from him through limewire. It installed itself and recorded some keystrokes too, sp2 don't do much, really