The guy say no need to upgrade ram, cuz nothing to do with ram. He say its CPU too busy.....Originally posted by ditzy:Trust me, 99% system idle is better than 99% busy, coz I can show you what its like.Seems like not enough ram.
Huh............i kena cheated liao. My friend recommend me because of my tight budget (1.5K) I dont know much about laptops, any1 can help me out with the other above problems?Originally posted by ^tamago^:http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF06b/321957-64295-89315-321838-f33-471752-471755-1817153.html
business. gaming machines tend not to use shared VRAM's.
and laptops arent build for gaming too.
Then he's most probably right.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:The guy say no need to upgrade ram, cuz nothing to do with ram. He say its CPU too busy.....![]()
But the process which is too busy is --> System IDLE Process.......Originally posted by ditzy:Then he's most probably right.My setup has p4 1.4ghz, 728mb ram, and 128agp dedicated graphics, if I use solidworks 2006 and resolve 1500 counterbored holes simultaneously, the processor goes to 99% busy time, but ram remains untouched, and solidwork just hangs until all holes are displayed, then everything back to normal again.
That's normal, if it ain't doing anything, its suppose to be idle right? Why the hell would it be busy if its not doing anything?Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:But the process which is too busy is --> System IDLE Process.......![]()
Er...i dont play Dota. The most i run is Internet Explorer 7. And it also can hang somemore. -_-;;;Originally posted by ^tamago^:so the best solution: dont play so much DOTA.![]()
You use internet explorer 7?!?!Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:Er...i dont play Dota. The most i run is Internet Explorer 7. And it also can hang somemore. -_-;;;
At that point of time, i am running IE 7 and the System idle process is at 99%. IE7 was downloading something. Haiz...i not really well versed in laptops though.Originally posted by ditzy:That's normal, if it ain't doing anything, its suppose to be idle right? Why the hell would it be busy if its not doing anything?![]()
Would you believe that's supposed to be good?Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:At that point of time, i am running IE 7 and the System idle process is at 99%. IE7 was downloading something. Haiz...i not really well versed in laptops though.
Uh..yea. Why? I also use Mozilla Firefox 2.0 . And is it true that Turion 64 chips are hotter then their Centrino Duo counterpart? I have a friend whose Acer Centrino notebook @ 2.0Ghz is quite warm as compared to mines which is very hot. Both were in A/c rooms.Originally posted by ditzy:You use internet explorer 7?!?!
/smacks forehead![]()
I remember Digital Life did a review of it. It is meant for businesses. Games wise, probably not.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:Is my laptop a buisness class or a gaming class? Judging from the black exterior, i think it's a buisness one. HP nx6115. I wish to play Call of Duty, but it hangs.
I don't know what's this SMART thingy. You can try to defrag your hard disk. Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk DefragmenterOriginally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:1)My laptop's SMART monitoring software says my HDD is now 58% fitness, and having 182 reallocated blocks. What should i do? I sent it for servicing to replace the 1st HDD, which had that same SMART error. Now this is my 2nd HDD and i don't wish to send it for servicing. 3 days of torture.
The technician is right. It has nothing to do with the RAM. If you wish to improve speeds, you can upgrade the RAM. HP has added loads of rubbish which will load during boot, that's why it's CPU intensive. Nothing else. If there's anything, it's HP.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:2) My laptop has 512MB (effectively 384 due to the 128 eaten up by graphics). Should i upgrade the ram to increase the speed? A technician says that my laptop processes are CPU intensive ,nothing to do with the ram.
(The process taking 99 CPU time is System Idle Process)
Not too sure. I'm not using HP, but Acer. Perhaps any HP users can clarify this.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:3) Is it common for HP laptops to hang while shutting down? My laptop always hang while shutting down, even if i did not run any programs and it's a unit just back from servicing.
IE7 in testing stage. If it crashes, most likely due to bugs.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:Er...i dont play Dota. The most i run is Internet Explorer 7. And it also can hang somemore. -_-;;;
I only know AMD chips are cooler in desktop PCs.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:Uh..yea. Why? I also use Mozilla Firefox 2.0 . And is it true that Turion 64 chips are hotter then their Centrino Duo counterpart? I have a friend whose Acer Centrino notebook @ 2.0Ghz is quite warm as compared to mines which is very hot. Both were in A/c rooms.
So Centrino is cooler? I planning to trade in my nx6115....cannot tahan. Hot + cannot play games + buiness class....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I only know AMD chips are cooler in desktop PCs.
AMD chips in laptops are damn hot, enough to burn hands. Trust me. That's my heater in RP, where the air con temperatures are almost nearing zero (not exactly, just that it's so cold that it feels like it is).![]()
It din crash. It hang. The whole laptop including the keyboard cannot respond.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:IE7 in testing stage. If it crashes, most likely due to bugs.
Otherwise, your system is not meant to use IE7.
I think so.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:So Centrino is cooler? I planning to trade in my nx6115....cannot tahan. Hot + cannot play games + buiness class....
I got this lappy for $1.5K, still have i think 6 months warranty. If, and only if i want to trade in/resell, how much will i get? ( i personally thinking of trade -in).
As good as it crashed. Since the whole laptop can't even respond.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:It din crash. It hang. The whole laptop including the keyboard cannot respond.