why dun u paste a screenshot here for us to see?Originally posted by littlestream:orh, okay. noted with thanks.
which brings me to believe :
1. lappy has not wireless capability
2. i need to install something but what, me hv no idea![]()
Yup, wireless router do have cables, in case wireless fail.Originally posted by littlestream:Thanks, mayiEh, mine si wireless router leh. Still must hook up cable ah?
I tot maybe I can set the lappy on my dining table so I can cook and work at the same time.Or at least bring the lappy around with me wherever I go, like the guest room lah, basement lah, living room lah. How? Can or not?

Still, it doesn't matter. The cables are just for the what ifs that happen.Originally posted by StarPuppy:if its wireless then no need liao
but first your lappy got wireless card mah?
Start -> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager
->Network adapter
what does it state?
thanks ItoOriginally posted by Ito_^:why dun u paste a screenshot here for us to see?
a picture describes a thousand words, dats for sure.
Originally posted by littlestream:Thanks very much, mayi.
I spoke to tech guy. Yah, he said i need to hook up the cable. Alamak, i so kayu leh. He gave me the cable last weekend liao.
Anyways, i am going home to try it out again. but then hor, i told him my personal PC in the guest room gains access via wireless connections leh. without cable mah 'cos the router is in the basement.
the tech guy said, if that is the case, i need to install a card. install a card meh? i tot just install the software. which is which ah, mayi?
thanks hor![]()

Originally posted by laurence82:Pls pay each person here $50 for consultation fees
Thank you![]()
If you have all these at home, you need not buy. If you are unsure, just post a picture of whatever you have in your house. Err... tech related, personal stuffs just cut away.Originally posted by littlestream:alamak............looks like ley chey leh. wah lau eh, work from home also so mah fun onebut when winter come knocking at my door, i will be so grateful.
okay, thanks, mayi. i will look for all these at home or do i have to go buy? can share share with other pc one or not?![]()
Sure.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee...........mayi.........i need to take baby steps ah. Let me go figure out tonight hor.![]()
Hee hee.......wah seh, u remembered ah?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Sure.
OK, now for my show. Synopsis leh?![]()
Haha, waiting to watch ma. If good, I see if Singapore can rent. Lazy to go out nowadays.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee.......wah seh, u remembered ah?
I went to the store, the DVDs not out yet. No worries, I will write after I watched it okay?![]()
yea need the model number...like mine is a T43...if u have the same model as mine, maybe i can helpOriginally posted by littlestream:thinkpad. erm, must gib model # boh? thanks ah rainee.
on a diff note, lucky you....escape the cold liao. it was zero this morning. brrrr
your router got password or btw the mac address mah?Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
aiyah, this lappy is driving me nuts lah.
it worked in the office today. then took it home, i hook up to my router, got 2 monitor and it showed connection but i still can't gain access to the internet nor conduct VPN access.
called ibm helpdesk, she also cannot help me.she said maybe something's wrong with the router set up. but then the PC in the guest room works very well ley.
*haiz*
VPN belongs to a company. As long as you are out of the company, the VPN will cease to work, unless your company has a separate VPN which allows you to connect from home to the office.Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
aiyah, this lappy is driving me nuts lah.
it worked in the office today. then took it home, i hook up to my router, got 2 monitor and it showed connection but i still can't gain access to the internet nor conduct VPN access.
called ibm helpdesk, she also cannot help me.she said maybe something's wrong with the router set up. but then the PC in the guest room works very well ley.
*haiz*
thanks, rainee...........i am kinda convinced it's an "administrative" issue now 'cos i was able to connect.Originally posted by rainee:yea need the model number...like mine is a T43...if u have the same model as mine, maybe i can help![]()
thanks for the reminder. i'll check it out.Originally posted by hisoka:your router got password or btw the mac address mah?
yeap, my lappy is supposed to be a mirror image of what i have in the office so i need to connect to bank's server to do my daily job (if any *giggles*)Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:VPN belongs to a company. As long as you are out of the company, the VPN will cease to work, unless your company has a separate VPN which allows you to connect from home to the office.
Different VPNs work differently, you have to call your company's tech support for help. It's already out of my area to help.
Can't blame the security guys. It's the people's money.Originally posted by littlestream:yeap, my lappy is supposed to be a mirror image of what i have in the office so i need to connect to bank's server to do my daily job (if any *giggles*)
i think the lappy is very restrictive so i do not have authorities to add hardware/etc and do other stuff. my goodness, the java script do not even allow me to detect any settings.
ahhh......our security dept is really doing a hell of a good job there.
thanks very much, mayi. really appreciate it.![]()