tell me about it. i was with security for FOUR years before moving to finance.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Can't blame the security guys. It's the people's money.![]()
I don't know much. From my own experience, the VPN allows you to connect to a company's network if you are outside, for example overseas or working from home. This would allow you to access customers records and update it (I presume, since it's a bank job). Without that VPN, you would treated as an intruder.Originally posted by littlestream:tell me about it. i was with security for FOUR years before moving to finance.![]()
Collectively, it's known as the IT department. But within them, there are even more sections, dealing with the different areas of IT.Originally posted by laurence82:why are they called security and not IT dept or something?![]()
hi xiaomayi, remember the last time i asked u regarding my laptop cannot surf internet using broadband at home?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:
Take one end of this cable, connect to the laptop. The other end of this cable to the router.
See can go Internet. This will limit your movement though, because it's connected through a cable.
Yup, remember your question.Originally posted by Gordonator:hi xiaomayi, remember the last time i asked u regarding my laptop cannot surf internet using broadband at home?
my laptop has a built in modem/network card. it have 2 ports, one for normal phone cable and the another for RJ45.
i can use the RJ45 port to connect to my office lan network to surf the internet but i cannot use my USB broadband modem to excess internet at home.
do i need a router too?
i guess that means i need a router cos i'm very sure the driver and connection are correct.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yup, remember your question.
By right, a USB broadband modem should be able to let you surf the Net (provided everything is connected and configured properly). If you aren't able to surf, you might need a router.
Any brand of router will do. Cost wise should be around $80.Originally posted by Gordonator:i guess that means i need a router cos i'm very sure the driver and connection are correct.
so let say if i were to buy a router, any ideas how much one cost? is it any brand/type of router will do? are additional drivers needed?
thanks for answering.
Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee........Gordonator.............borrow my thread hor, must pay one leh.![]()
so expensive!?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Any brand of router will do. Cost wise should be around $80.
Any additional drivers is provided with the router's CD.
don't like that lah. next time u got any office problems, come find me in the concrete jungle. free advice.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee........Gordonator.............borrow my thread hor, must pay one leh.![]()
Originally posted by Gordonator:don't like that lah. next time u got any office problems, come find me in the concrete jungle. free advice.![]()
Router mah...Originally posted by Gordonator:so expensive!?
it's not worth it man.![]()
Got ants nests.Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
joke nia lah.
eh, concrete jungle got what ah? hdb flats ah?![]()
Isn't there where you live?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Got ants nests.![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:WOOHOOOOO~~~~~~~~
I am surfing with my lappy............from home!!!! It is working. The problem earlier was 'cos of the encryption set up.
Now, boh tai ji liao. The only thing now is to surf wireless. Looks like me gotta get a card![]()
This thinkpad boh built in card one. And someone said "got"
Xiao Mayi, what card shd i buy ah? Yu pe yu chiMy router si linksys, must bring same brand?
xie xie ke wei![]()
My T43 has a built in card....wat model is urs again?Originally posted by littlestream:WOOHOOOOO~~~~~~~~
I am surfing with my lappy............from home!!!! It is working. The problem earlier was 'cos of the encryption set up.
Now, boh tai ji liao. The only thing now is to surf wireless. Looks like me gotta get a card![]()
This thinkpad boh built in card one. And someone said "got"
Xiao Mayi, what card shd i buy ah? Yu pe yu chiMy router si linksys, must bring same brand?
xie xie ke wei![]()