Originally posted by ^tamago^:How do i go to "regedit.exe"? isit at the "run cmd"?
delete all entries in the follow key in registry (by running regedit.exe)
[b]KEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\MSN Messenger
then try again.[/b]
start -> run -> regeditOriginally posted by Maurince:How do i go to "regedit.exe"? isit at the "run cmd"?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Not everyone who posts questions in sgforums are geniuses like you ok.
then try again.[/b]
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Done.. Trying now.. Looks kinda dangerous clearing all the binary..
then try again.[/b]
are you using zonealarm software? there is a software conflict between live messenger and zonealarm im security. last i heard both side are still resolving the issue.Originally posted by Maurince:hmm.. same problem.. always stuck at signing in..
tink maybe i haf to accept fate to use ver7.5..
nope.. never use zone alarm before, dunno wats the function too.. juz sad not to be able to use new live messager, like some of the new functions tho..Originally posted by YI:are you using zonealarm software? there is a software conflict between live messenger and zonealarm im security. last i heard both side are still resolving the issue.
sian.Originally posted by Maurince:hmm.. same problem.. always stuck at signing in..
tink maybe i haf to accept fate to use ver7.5..
Originally posted by ^tamago^:disclaimer: average users shouldn't edit the registry file and when improperly executed, your computer may well need a complete reinstallation. there are precautive measures to take though if you wanna try. do a system restore and when things do get ugly, boot up in safe mode and restore the computer to the last safe point.
then try again.[/b]
cant be bothered to translate into layman terms.Originally posted by ditzy:Not everyone who posts questions in sgforums are geniuses like you ok.![]()
been doing that since win 95.Originally posted by YI:disclaimer: average users shouldn't edit the registry file and when improperly executed, your computer may well need a complete reinstallation. there are precautive measures to take though if you wanna try. do a system restore and when things do get ugly, boot up in safe mode and restore the computer to the last safe point.
some questions: are you using a windows xp os? is your internal windows firewall switched on? do you have any other firewall installed? does your laptop fit the minimum requirement as stated on live website? you may want to examine the firewall setting on both your laptops and try to spot any differences. there should be an error code. wait for the log on process to time-out.Originally posted by Maurince:As above.. Install the new live messenger in mi lappy.. Got problem logging in.. No error code.. Install with mi another lappy works fine.. Bo pian install back ver7.5, works normally..
1)Anyone facing same problem?
2)Anyway to resolve the problem?
oh well, all the best!Originally posted by Maurince:forget to do a restore point 1st.. everything is over liao.. will be sticking to ver7.5 anyway.. everybody peace okay!!
Yah, i was waitin for the error code.. but the page onie stuck in 'signing in'..Originally posted by YI:some questions: are you using a windows xp os? is your internal windows firewall switched on? do you have any other firewall installed? does your laptop fit the minimum requirement as stated on live website? you may want to examine the firewall setting on both your laptops and try to spot any differences. there should be an error code. wait for the log on process to time-out.
there is nothing wrong with your initial suggestion just thought that adequate warnings should also come along it. anyway, should the person expressed difficulty in carrying out the task, maybe you can do more by guiding him/her through the process. no hard feeling.. kOriginally posted by ^tamago^:cant be bothered to translate into layman terms.
u help me explain to him lor.![]()
oh you did. now's that's a commendable netizen.Originally posted by ^tamago^:start -> run -> regedit
you are most welcome. have a lovely day and your computer not crash on you so often.Originally posted by Maurince:Yah, i was waitin for the error code.. but the page onie stuck in 'signing in'..
waited ard 10 mins, still the same status.. reinstall a few times with same results.. tink mi ibm still haf the specs for running the live messager.. thks for ur help too dude.. xie xie..
nah~ mi lappy is workin fine.. onie hand itchy wan to install lie messenger nia..Originally posted by YI:you are most welcome. have a lovely day and your computer not crash on you so often.![]()