Originally posted by mhcampboy:My Acer computer has been giving me problems, ie cannot be turned on. Normally I would just unplug the wires then reconnect again then turn it on. Think its because I always turn it on for a long time before shutting down.
Then got one time, I did all that but to no avail. So I go meddle with the switches behind the cpu. I saw a voltage slider? Red color slider. So I decided to slide it with the main switch still on.
Then there was a spark and soft "bang". Spark is in the fan area. Smoke came out from the tiny round holes.
Hmmm what would be spoilt now? The entire computer and all drives? Or just the fan area? If so, how much would it cost?
Any good service providers around?![]()
Please help.![]()
computer almost 3 years already...Originally posted by missqi:nt under warranty?
hhhaar?? motherboard gone also?? but got chance only fan or power supply spoil only right??Originally posted by Ito_^:![]()
u win liao lor.
err.. i think ur fan, power supply and motherboard is a goner.
if u go neighbourhood shops, it'd cost 20 to 60 for a diagnostic. depending.. some anyhow one so be careful.
there is one at causeway pt, quite expensive and their components are quite few but overall still alright. been to there twice. if dun have the parts u wan, u can get it from sim lim den pass it to em.
if need to replace parts, juz add on lor.
Ho seh... though I don't really know much about Acer PC, those sliders are for adjusting voltages. By adjusting with the power turn on, you are asking for trouble. Thank goodness only smoke came out, or you could see yourself in hospital.Originally posted by mhcampboy:My Acer computer has been giving me problems, ie cannot be turned on. Normally I would just unplug the wires then reconnect again then turn it on. Think its because I always turn it on for a long time before shutting down.
Then got one time, I did all that but to no avail. So I go meddle with the switches behind the cpu. I saw a voltage slider? Red color slider. So I decided to slide it with the main switch still on.
Then there was a spark and soft "bang". Spark is in the fan area. Smoke came out from the tiny round holes.
Hmmm what would be spoilt now? The entire computer and all drives? Or just the fan area? If so, how much would it cost?
Please help.![]()
I can confirm PSU gone. Since smoke comes out, it doesn't mean motherboard is fried, it could also be the PSU. But PSU connects directly to the motherboard, so if PSU is destroyed... motherboard may well be destroyed. Don't be too pessimistic yet. Maybe your motherboard is alive.Originally posted by mhcampboy:hhhaar?? motherboard gone also?? but got chance only fan or power supply spoil only right??![]()
i have no idea wads PSU...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I can confirm PSU gone. Since smoke comes out, it doesn't mean motherboard is fried, it could also be the PSU. But PSU connects directly to the motherboard, so if PSU is destroyed... motherboard may well be destroyed. Don't be too pessimistic yet. Maybe your motherboard is alive.
PSU is power supply unit.Originally posted by mhcampboy:i have no idea wads PSU...
hmm so meaning... the power surge could spoil my motherboard?
hmmm wad are the chances tat its still alive??
i love my comp... i slhdnt have move the slider..![]()
PSU is power supply...Originally posted by mhcampboy:i have no idea wads PSU...
hmm so meaning... the power surge could spoil my motherboard?
hmmm wad are the chances tat its still alive??
i love my comp... i slhdnt have move the slider..![]()
Might not be. It depends on the severity of your action. I can't tell for this, you have to bring it to a technician for checking.Originally posted by mhcampboy:motherboard spoil...means... entire info on drives also gone??![]()
mostly wont affect your HDOriginally posted by mhcampboy:motherboard spoil...means... entire info on drives also gone??![]()
okie... tis si sad... very very very sad... disheartening...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Might not be. It depends on the severity of your action. I can't tell for this, you have to bring it to a technician for checking.
harddrive means motherboard?Originally posted by BenBenDeZhu:mostly wont affect your HD
HD = harddisk. its where your store your stuffOriginally posted by mhcampboy:harddrive means motherboard?
wont spoilt?![]()
Hard drive IS NOT motherboard.Originally posted by mhcampboy:harddrive means motherboard?
wont spoilt?![]()
orh meaning... my info and stuffs are still around!???Originally posted by BenBenDeZhu:HD = harddisk. its where your store your stuff
motherboard is the big piece plastic with lots of chips on it when u open up yur casing
if your motherboard is down u have to buy new 1 dont go n service.Originally posted by mhcampboy:orh meaning... my info and stuffs are still around!???![]()
oh wow... tats nice to hear...i tot my entire comp is down...
if U have warranty...just go back to them for service.Originally posted by mhcampboy:My Acer computer has been giving me problems, ie cannot be turned on. Normally I would just unplug the wires then reconnect again then turn it on. Think its because I always turn it on for a long time before shutting down.
Please help.![]()