My windows was original before that. What's worst for ACER computers is that they give you recovery discs and not a disc for the reinstalling the windows XP itself. =/Originally posted by BenBenDeZhu:before that was yur windows original?![]()
Looks like you have to email Microsoft and tell them about it. Or pay a few hundred bucks for a copy of Windows or just don't use Windows...Originally posted by coldzero:My windows was original before that. What's worst for ACER computers is that they give you recovery discs and not a disc for the reinstalling the windows XP itself. =/
Call them? The last time me called them, it took me close to 1.5 hours to have my call answered...Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:call them. its faster![]()
wtf...screw them...i did tat...and the call lasted less than 15mins n my problem was solved.Originally posted by dork3d:Call them? The last time me called them, it took me close to 1.5 hours to have my call answered...
THen use the recovery disks and load back the original that acer gave you lor.Originally posted by coldzero:My windows was original before that. What's worst for ACER computers is that they give you recovery discs and not a disc for the reinstalling the windows XP itself. =/
Provided that the partition is not gone.Originally posted by ditzy:THen use the recovery disks and load back the original that acer gave you lor.Its hard work but at least you get back the genuine one right?
That partition can be recovered by a full recovery.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Provided that the partition is not gone.
Acer uses a few gig for the recovery partition, if it's gone, I doubt the recovery discs would work.![]()
So up till now, you haven't done any updates for your pirated Windows arh?Originally posted by lpx88:I rmb..last time aft i format my com..used another XP CD.Tried to key in my original cd key.Cant work.Learnt that i need to call microsoft to get the CD and call my HP to get the recovery CD.
Then i give a damn about it and jus use the pirated one![]()
yep..actually ur win xp is in the 'recovery disk' itself. just run cd with the instructions...Originally posted by ditzy:THen use the recovery disks and load back the original that acer gave you lor.Its hard work but at least you get back the genuine one right?
Did you give the repairman your original recovery discs that comes with your computer? If so did you ensure that he uses the discs to format your computer? Did you even have any original recovery dics to begin with? If no to any of the above questions good luck.Originally posted by coldzero:My computer broke down recently and I sent it for repair. When I got back my computer, it was reformatted and after a few days of usage, a message appear that my window was not genuine and needs to vaildate in order to receive future updates from Microsoft. Why? My computer don't seem to have this problem before I sent it for the repair.
actually i am thinking if giving them the discs is good or bad?Originally posted by Farmerseed:Did you give the repairman your original recovery discs that comes with your computer? If so did you ensure that he uses the discs to format your computer? Did you even have any original recovery dics to begin with? If no to any of the above questions good luck.
Anyway ah yes..i think so...did i update?did i notOriginally posted by dork3d:So up till now, you haven't done any updates for your pirated Windows arh?
Duplicate for what sia? Especially OEM. OEM can only be used once, if you duplicate, the other PCs will end up using a "pirated" version, when it's not.Originally posted by Y_Shun:actually i am thinking if giving them the discs is good or bad?
later they go duplicate 1 for themselve to use...how?
ya...they duplicate the cd then use it for other PCs that is sent for reparation?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Duplicate for what sia? Especially OEM. OEM can only be used once, if you duplicate, the other PCs will end up using a "pirated" version, when it's not.
The other PCs will have problems with Microsoft, like threadstarter.Originally posted by Y_Shun:ya...they duplicate the cd then use it for other PCs that is sent for reparation?![]()
If I were to do that, I have to update everything again. =/Originally posted by Farmerseed:Did you give the repairman your original recovery discs that comes with your computer? If so did you ensure that he uses the discs to format your computer? Did you even have any original recovery dics to begin with? If no to any of the above questions good luck.
For noobs to PC, its always better to buy OEM computers from trusted dealers that provides the original recovery dics.
If you have your recovery dics you can do a format on your own, validate and activate windows within the 30 days period so that you can continue using windows on your PC.
same.. very fast for me oso.Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:wtf...screw them...i did tat...and the call lasted less than 15mins n my problem was solved.![]()
That's the way things work for software and OS updates. That's the responsibilities computers owners have to take if they need the computer to perform work for them and provide the leisure and entertainment.Originally posted by coldzero:If I were to do that, I have to update everything again. =/
They can duplicate but cannot use the duplicate recovery discs to install the OS onto another computer. The manufacturer (e.g acer) has that copy of OS/ recovery disc locked with the computer model and serial number it was assigned to. I believe the check is down when the discs have to synchronize with the correct data from the bios of the motherboard of that computer it was married to.Originally posted by Y_Shun:ya...they duplicate the cd then use it for other PCs that is sent for reparation?![]()