hmmm good idea...Originally posted by sillyme:Mooku, I have another suggestion.
If your current broadband plan is out of contract, go renew it and ask for a free router (plus other freebies).
Sim Lim.Originally posted by MooKu:where is fuwell?
sim lim, i think funan also got oneOriginally posted by MooKu:where is fuwell?
Got young men also lahOriginally posted by MooKu:I no go Sim Lim before...
Is it like very lok kok like People's Park Centre?
The shops run by uncles one?
On the outside, it looks old. Once inside, another issue.Originally posted by MooKu:I no go Sim Lim before...
Is it like very lok kok like People's Park Centre?
The shops run by uncles one?
you one young gal go there sure kenna "chop carrot head". but then u might also get a good deal for being the only cutie aroundOriginally posted by sillyme:Got young men also lah
Hihi dondon!!!!!!!Originally posted by the_don:hi mooookkieeee!!!
firstly i agree with silly abt getting freebies from renewing ur contract. make sure you know wat you need then see if they can give you wat u need.
i've been reading your posts but still cannot make out wat u need leh (or maybe i blur). anyway here is some stuff u might wan to find out first:
1) what broke down (this i think u know oready)
2) wat do have now?modem with routing capabilities (this means u still gotta connect to a hub/switch for sharing your connection)
a modem and router as 2 different boxes? (this means you got one box (modem) that connects to another box (router), then share the internet conection)
modem and router all in one (one box only. this box connects to your internet plus shares the connection)
3) your internet connection is it with singtel/pacnet or with starhub? singtel/pacnet will connect from phone to modem. starhub is different (this i dun know liao). if you r getting a new modem/router all in one, you have to take note of this
about getting freebies from your internet service provider. i had v v bad experience with singnet staff. they gave me the wrong info abt the modem before. so i would suggest you bring someone who knows abt these things when u go ask abt the freebies.
then again, the easiest thing to do is to ask a fren who knows abt such stuff to go with you. i'm sure many GENTLEMEN here would volunteer their services plus fix up the whole thing for you![]()
the evil telebanana should be willingOriginally posted by MooKu:Hihi dondon!!!!!!!![]()
Hmmm... Actually I don't know what broke down.
The router has been giving me problems ever since the earthquake. Sometimes not all the lights that are supposed to be on are on. Sometimes the router will turn off and on by itself. It just doesn't always give me internet connection even though Pacific Internet has said our line is perfectly fine and there's no sign of disruption on their side.
So I emailed Aztech, and they said something might be wrong with my power adaptor. PacNet mentioned this too. Aztech then asked me to take my router to their Ubi office for a check... but I'm kinda lazy.
And because it's not under warranty (nobody sent out the card!), my sister says I might as well buy a new router to replace the current one that's about more than 2 years old.
Mine ismodem and router all in one (one box only. this box connects to your internet plus shares the connection).
Heeheeheeheheheh gentlemen... I'd actually much much prefer if dondon were to come with me instead![]()
Tmr I go check out some electrical stores in Parkway first.If don't have then I ah... will go to either Funan or Sim Lim and err... see who wants to come with me.
aiyoh. i is not technically inclined. not v good with this kind of thing. since yours is a all-in-one, i think better ask those who know to help you. mine is a modem + switch (2boxes) different set up.Originally posted by MooKu:Hihi dondon!!!!!!!![]()
Hmmm... Actually I don't know what broke down.
The router has been giving me problems ever since the earthquake. Sometimes not all the lights that are supposed to be on are on. Sometimes the router will turn off and on by itself. It just doesn't always give me internet connection even though Pacific Internet has said our line is perfectly fine and there's no sign of disruption on their side.
So I emailed Aztech, and they said something might be wrong with my power adaptor. PacNet mentioned this too. Aztech then asked me to take my router to their Ubi office for a check... but I'm kinda lazy.
And because it's not under warranty (nobody sent out the card!), my sister says I might as well buy a new router to replace the current one that's about more than 2 years old.
Mine ismodem and router all in one (one box only. this box connects to your internet plus shares the connection).
Heeheeheeheheheh gentlemen... I'd actually much much prefer if dondon were to come with me instead![]()
Tmr I go check out some electrical stores in Parkway first.If don't have then I ah... will go to either Funan or Sim Lim and err... see who wants to come with me.
sillyme managed to find one model for meOriginally posted by the_don:aiyoh. i is not technically inclined. not v good with this kind of thing. since yours is a all-in-one, i think better ask those who know to help you. mine is a modem + switch (2boxes) different set up.
why not call pacnet (tt is your isp i supposed) and ask if they got any free modem with router if you recontract your line? if they do, u can get them to set up for you also.
but if they dun, you might want to grab someone to help you out. if you wan i can get TX to ask his fren (working in sim lim) if he does modem with routers. but i dun know if the price will be good or not. you can ask TX can go with you to sim lim to check it out (depend he free or not tho). u got his number ya?
ooh okie got expert to help you then ok liaoOriginally posted by MooKu:sillyme managed to find one model for me
I think I'll bring the router to Aztech after all, because I noticed it's actually only 1 yr old and not 2. But if the cost of repair is higher than getting a new one, then I'll get a new one... hopefully from Aztech, then I can ask them for one that has the same capabilities as my current one... maybe the one sillyme picked out.
Hehehe you know what happened this afternoon... I was trying to flip the router over to check the model number... and then I got disconnected. x_x
And my contract only expires end-May... so no free router for me now.
i am an ex-birdOriginally posted by the_don:ooh okie got expert to help you then ok liao![]()
Linksys = I not sure.. never use b4...Originally posted by hisoka:erm linksys no good, d-link also no good.
both routers use awhile only will get erratic signal, disconnection and no internet access even if the signal is 100%