Thanks MC!!!Originally posted by M©+square:1) Heavy in terms of spending or in weight?
The box set should be managable to carry and take public transport home.
2)Yes it is a good idea, but overall really depends on your needs and what you actually do with your notebook. Open your eyes wide and spot for small booths that'll give amazing ext HDD offers. Sometimes, there will be announcements.
But the best is to spot before others does so that you'll escape the squeezing and queuing.
3)It's DVD writer because only DVD rom have dual side recording ability.
4)I think it's a good bet.
____
If you're really considering a Mac, it is best to make your way down to any Mac centres(iShop club21 is the best) to have a personal assessment on a Macbook and see if it suits your needs.
Cheers!
ok but how will i know if there's any security software.... what are a few of them?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Like square, please, no Vista. Only a few here have switched over to Vista and you will spend a lot of time just figuring out what's wrong with your laptop.
And also, make sure the laptop doesn't come bundled with whatever Security software. They are hard to uninstall.
ALready written in the specsOriginally posted by smudgey:ok but how will i know if there's any security software.... what are a few of them?
The famous ones are Norton or Symantec, McAfee, eTrust, CA, Computer Associates or PestPatrol, Bitdefender, Norman, Sophos.Originally posted by smudgey:ok but how will i know if there's any security software.... what are a few of them?
But recovery discs got such option?Originally posted by Farmerseed:ALready written in the specs
XPS and McCafee
There should be drivers and cleaning utilities out ther to completely remove them. Also you can choose not to install them duirng the initial OS installation or if you do a format.
Some far i have only used one OEM computer (win ME) and one notebook (XP Home). The OS with graphics drivers usually comes bundled in the recovery disc while a separate disc has the antivirus or other protection software written.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:But recovery discs got such option?
I'm not so sure, since manufacturers are so fond of recovery discs, and the discs usually have these products bundled.
ok.... think i understand this part liao..... i think....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:The famous ones are Norton or Symantec, McAfee, eTrust, CA, Computer Associates or PestPatrol, Bitdefender, Norman, Sophos.
The manufacturer will usually say the software is bla bla Internet Security Suite, anti-spyware, antivirus or security suite.
If there's such a suite, just tell them to remove it. For Dell, if you order online, you have the option to remove it if I'm not wrong.
notice a * there? yea, its a 3 month subcription.Originally posted by smudgey:the Acer laptop comes with these software....
Acer Empowering Technology (Acer eNet, ePower, ePresentation, eDataSecurity, eRecovery8, eSettings, ePerformance Management)
Acer GridVista™
Acer Arcade™
Acer Launch Manager
Norton AntiVirus™ *
Adobe® Acrobat® Reader®
CyberLink® PowerProducer™
NTI CD Maker™
are all these ok?
ok but other than the Northan Antivirus that is a security software that i should avoid, anyother i should uninstall?Originally posted by manyu882:notice a * there? yea, its a 3 month subcription.
NTI CD Maker™ is the most stable burning program i used so far.
my CyberLink® PowerProducer™ has bug.. cannot use only for aspire 5500z i guess
Acer Arcade™ <---- u wont use it..
acer GridVista™ <-----a cool tool.. good for multi tasking users
Acer Empowering Technology and Acer Launch Manager<---- well, you will use it when u need it. or else u wont use at all
all are ok, except norton anti virus, juz un install it and get a better antivirus software....Originally posted by smudgey:the Acer laptop comes with these software....
Acer Empowering Technology (Acer eNet, ePower, ePresentation, eDataSecurity, eRecovery8, eSettings, ePerformance Management)
Acer GridVista™
Acer Arcade™
Acer Launch Manager
Norton AntiVirus™ *
Adobe® Acrobat® Reader®
CyberLink® PowerProducer™
NTI CD Maker™
are all these ok?
mine cannot donoe why...when startup that program sure tiok error one.. and the error message damn long...press OK liao still load very long den in the end clash the whole program. also dont care about it. using own media player also can view movie.Originally posted by hiphop2009:all are ok, except norton anti virus, juz un install it and get a better antivirus software....
the rest are pretty gd. adobe reader is essential, dun uninstall it. acer empowering technology actually helps u to fine tune ur laptop, for example, it can boost ur wifi signal, or the eperformance management thing can juz reduce ur CPU speed by half when u do not need it and running on batt, to extend the life of ur batt when u do nt hav ac power available
5500z cannot use cyberlink producer meh? mine can =P and it is working fine...
me is no time for it to update,because it takes rather long to d.l from the net....n i hav no patience =X....Originally posted by manyu882:mine cannot donoe why...when startup that program sure tiok error one.. and the error message damn long...press OK liao still load very long den in the end clash the whole program. also dont care about it. using own media player also can view movie.
btw, your adobe can update to 7.5? i mean as in 7.0 auto update to 7.5... mine that one got bug.. cannot successfully update it. cos it needs the 7.0 installation file thingy.
empowering tech eperformance not much help also. tweak liao also no much difference... tweaking the throughput, signal strength in your wireless adapter is much better.
its auto update.. u dont need to download manually from the internet.Originally posted by hiphop2009:me is no time for it to update,because it takes rather long to d.l from the net....n i hav no patience =X....
ok la, empowering tech still does the trick for me yeah? yeap i also did configure the intel-wireless thingy properties to further enchance my laptop signal....sometimes my laptop can detect networks dat most of my frenz cant, coz i tweaked a lot of times n fine tune it =P
wow....Originally posted by M©+square:Ahem, two of you.
Please start new topic or use PM function.![]()
so which is better....Originally posted by abao:GM means integrated graphics.
At the graphics there you'll probably see "Intel Graphics Media Acelerator 900 with up to xMB RAM... "
PM means dedicated graphics. You'll probably see a ATi or nVidia Graphics card in the laptop.