nope.. actually hor computers consumes little electricity (eg 450watt PSu udont actually use all. so maybe only use 350watt ba, with moniter). try one day off everything in your house. den stand outside your house see the meter.Originally posted by Eric Cartman:what about in the night when the monitor goes to sleep will it cost a lot of electricity too?
different thing leOriginally posted by gigabyte14:wat abt laptops?
see how u use lo..whether u set power medium high or low. should be cheaper than Pcs cos the technology use in laptops are suppose to eat lesser battery for long lasting. the laptop parts produces low heat than PC. low heat = less resistence=less electricity neededOriginally posted by gigabyte14:wat abt laptops?
mushroom again?Originally posted by Ito_^:different thing le
laptops are not designed to operate long hours and the temperature control is not as efficient as a normal computer.
not to mention it will be damaging to your laptop battery also, in the long term.
so never ever do dat!
wait one fine day really explode gib u see.
no.Originally posted by manyu882:mushroom again?
eh brother i use 2 yr liao leh...Originally posted by Ito_^:different thing le
laptops are not designed to operate long hours and the temperature control is not as efficient as a normal computer.
not to mention it will be damaging to your laptop battery also, in the long term.
so never ever do dat!
wait one fine day really explode gib u see.
even if now no prob better not on 24 hrs often la. lappy easier to spoil.Originally posted by gigabyte14:eh brother i use 2 yr liao leh...
still no prob... but maybe the batt tio problem liao... haha...
but anyway, does the brand of the laptop concerns the battery life? like hp more durable ah, acer and such.

wah.Originally posted by Farmerseed:Usually people leave their PC on to run research or testing programmes, the PC can also serve as a main control in a backup or server environment. People also switch on their computers to upload or download staff, as a game server etc. From what i see as long as you have a good ventilated case with good and proper cooling devices and methods, proper cable tie and management it shouuld be alright. Also running a computer 24/7 can be taxing on the HDD so it is recommended to RAID it (prefereably mirroring) to prevent data loss in the event of a hard disk failure. For online connection, be sure to have the best antivirus and protection/ security software in place and running. Keep computer or server in a cool dry location and avoid dusty environment. Have power surge protection and proper grounding and emi shields. All in all as long as the consistant and working temperature of the boards and cards are maintained, they can last for a longer time as compared to hard disk drives in operation.