What is OS?Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Window is shutting down? You using which OS?
Oh I see, I am using Window 98.Originally posted by TrixCereals:Operating System.
XP, Windows 95. You know.![]()
try to do a scandisk.Originally posted by DeadPoet:Oh I see, I am using Window 98.
Hmm. Thanks I will give it a try.Originally posted by mancha:Win 98 quite sturdy lah.
When it happens again shut-down manualy by:
1. Press the On/Off button and hold till PC is off. or
2. Switch off at the power point.
Maybe also. Anyway my PC quite old liao. Let me see, about 8 - 9 years old?Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:try to do a scandisk.
maybe you didn't close or shut down application of com last time that created this bug.
Hmm I don't think you can do anything in the "windows is shutting down" screen. Alt ctrl del will have no effectOriginally posted by TehJarVu:i am a noob ok
but i thought can press Ctrl Alt Deleter to call for Task Manager
Then choose shut down from there
someone please confirm
i dun wan to misguide DP
one thing to take note which i'm not sure for windows 98 but definitely for windows ME. the scandisk will not be able to scan properly if you are using the com at the same time.Originally posted by DeadPoet:Maybe also. Anyway my PC quite old liao. Let me see, about 8 - 9 years old?![]()
hmm.. let me see. i have a pc around the same age as yours utilising win98 as well. it is having the same problem although it is pretty random. i just let it be and ultimately it will shut down. it may take as long as half an hour.Originally posted by DeadPoet:Maybe also. Anyway my PC quite old liao. Let me see, about 8 - 9 years old?![]()
Thanks for the info!Originally posted by kawasaki2:
I waited for more than half an hour still hang. Just now evening hang again but now seems to be okay. Crazy PC.Originally posted by YI:hmm.. let me see. i have a pc around the same age as yours utilising win98 as well. it is having the same problem although it is pretty random. i just let it be and ultimately it will shut down. it may take as long as half an hour.
Too many improper shutdown may damage your harddisk.Originally posted by DeadPoet:I waited for more than half an hour still hang. Just now evening hang again but now seems to be okay. Crazy PC.![]()
Thanks. Next time I will shut down slowly.Originally posted by mancha:Too many improper shutdown may damage your harddisk.
Since you PC is old, I suggest you do not be too fast in shutting down. Click Start, dialog box pop up, wait, a few seconds, then click, OK for shutdown.