Yep then there's no default gateway neither a dns server...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Click on your connection near the clock.
Select the Support tab.
What's the IP address? Does it start with 169 ?
So I assume you are using someone else's PC to post this problem? Or is another PC in your home?Originally posted by wonderamazement:Yep then there's no default gateway neither a dns server...![]()
Another PC...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:So I assume you are using someone else's PC to post this problem? Or is another PC in your home?
Try restarting the computer... perhaps you are not able to get an address from the router...Originally posted by wonderamazement:Another PC...My sister's, and she's irritated by it
So you've got a solution?
Done that about 5 times... Doesn't work!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Try restarting the computer... perhaps you are not able to get an address from the router...
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.htmlOriginally posted by wonderamazement:Done that about 5 times... Doesn't work!Piece of sh*t!!!
What's winsock? How the hell you know all these?! Can i call you master?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
Your winsock is corrupted... need to repair. Use the above program to do so. When prompted to reboot, do so.
Otherwise, might need to repair the whole TCP/IP settings.
Winsock = Windows socketOriginally posted by wonderamazement:What's winsock? How the hell you know all these?! Can i call you master?![]()
You are welcome.Originally posted by wonderamazement:YES!!!! YIIPEEEEE!!! HUAT AH!!! I'm using the problematic PC to access sgforums!!! WOOOOHOOOO!!! Thanks MASTER!!!
but now got one small problem, the fonts damn funny looking...![]()
aiyo, call mod laOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Winsock = Windows socket
It's part of the TCP/IP services and are arranged in numerical order. If it gets out of order, you can't access the Net, or if it's corrupted, it will behave like what you experience.
As for master.... no. Got more pros here.
The prob resurfaced again... I'm not sure bout it cos i lost my default gateway again after i exit from C&C3... Gotta use the program again and restart pc... Well gotta see how it goes for the next few days... Thanks again.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You are welcome.
That one repairs TCP/IP services, not Windows... don't know liao.
hmm... i'm abit confused here... if wonderamazement was not able to access the internet... How was wonderamazement able to use the above program to fix it since it requires internet access...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
Your winsock is corrupted... need to repair. Use the above program to do so. When prompted to reboot, do so.
Otherwise, might need to repair the whole TCP/IP settings.
From another PC. Read the 3rd reply in this thread.Originally posted by Negger:hmm... i'm abit confused here... if wonderamazement was not able to access the internet... How was wonderamazement able to use the above program to fix it since it requires internet access...![]()
Damn!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Looks like your system is in pretty bad shape
Ya, if not just borrow from your friends... should work, I think.Originally posted by wonderamazement:Damn!Is is a must for me to use the XP disk? Cos i dun wanna tear open the packaging
Boohoo! Gotta rip open the packaging...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Ya, if not just borrow from your friends... should work, I think.

I don't think it's supposed to be there...Originally posted by wonderamazement:And erm...
Is THAT supposed to be there?
The complete thing says "Google Desktop Search Backup Before First/Last Install"
Btw i've got 2 disks... Which one?
I can't find it in the Control Panel... How?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I don't think it's supposed to be there...
Uninstall Google Desktop. It has screwed up the TCP/IP numbering.