but juz only the fan cant move lehz. n i dun hav budget to buy another one. and my this desktop is damn old, no point getting those what GE force 6600 graphic card which i think my 1GHZ desktop celeron processor cant even match up lo.....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Sometimes too much dust can prevent it from spinning.
Most tech products are best not be repaired, but replaced.
Second hand? They are cheaper... if it doesn't cause heat problems, there shouldn't be any problems... if not, just add another fan or leave the casing the open to keep it cool.Originally posted by hiphop2009:but juz only the fan cant move lehz. n i dun hav budget to buy another one. and my this desktop is damn old, no point getting those what GE force 6600 graphic card which i think my 1GHZ desktop celeron processor cant even match up lo.....
might as well, spend 100 over dollars on a budget card, good enough alreadyOriginally posted by hiphop2009:but juz only the fan cant move lehz. n i dun hav budget to buy another one. and my this desktop is damn old, no point getting those what GE force 6600 graphic card which i think my 1GHZ desktop celeron processor cant even match up lo.....
zhun bo? lol. for the time now, i blow my hse fan into my cpu. LOL.Originally posted by allentyb:yes you can
i done it before
-_-
in the end, i change another vga card instead
dunnoe lehz. lol. my desktop over 5 years liao, so far only replaced the harddisk only, which is also second hand....hmm. dunnoe worth it or nt...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Second hand? They are cheaper... if it doesn't cause heat problems, there shouldn't be any problems... if not, just add another fan or leave the casing the open to keep it cool.
yes i done it before,Originally posted by hiphop2009:zhun bo? lol. for the time now, i blow my hse fan into my cpu. LOL.
no la, i no longer play game using desktop liao. too slow for games nowdays. more like or work or storage.Originally posted by allentyb:yes i done it before,
in the past, i play wow, until my vga card become so damn hot, i thought it is my vga card is giving me problem then i realise the data are corrupted, not my vga card problem
now i cannot close my casing at all
change another card lah, buy a budget card, very cheap, buy a fan already over 40 dollars, and you still have to buy a good fan, or no effect at all
you try and play C&C3 with your old card, and see whether it will lag or can you start or not
got, but pointless, what if, it is not because of, the fan, but the card itself is already damaged that caused it to be over heatedOriginally posted by hiphop2009:no la, i no longer play game using desktop liao. too slow for games nowdays. more like or work or storage.
40 dollars for over a fan? i dun think so la. those small small one lehz. a few dollars nia i tot?
no lehz, the thing is, the card is nt damaged. still can work...Originally posted by allentyb:got, but pointless, what if, it is not because of, the fan, but the card itself is already damaged that caused it to be over heated
of course, can work, but if the fan is unable to disperse the heat smooth enough, how?Originally posted by hiphop2009:no lehz, the thing is, the card is nt damaged. still can work...
hmm. okay. but will it be difficult to install? i mean, i do noe these stuff but den nt experienced enough though.Originally posted by allentyb:of course, can work, but if the fan is unable to disperse the heat smooth enough, how?
anyway, since you said that, the card is not spoilt, then buy those small fan lor, very cheap
it is very easyOriginally posted by hiphop2009:hmm. okay. but will it be difficult to install? i mean, i do noe these stuff but den nt experienced enough though.
I thought "cheap fans" start from $6 onwards?Originally posted by Farmerseed:Can TS take a photo fo the card pointing to the area at the fan? Maybe getting a cheap 20 dollars fan can fix the problem. In the photos please also capture the connector of the card fan if there is any that draws power from the card.
cough coughOriginally posted by coolgeek84:I would suggest you to just get another card. Don't go for the latest budget series or anything.. They are waste of money since your comp is old anyway. Get an old Gefore 3 Ti200 through auctions if available or go SLS ask for cheapest graphics cards..
Usually ard $40 to $50. Don't bother to get AGP8x also since your comp most probably is AGP4x. But AGP4X almost impossible to find I think. Ask in a few shops and see bah..
If the card u have right now is working properly but just the fan is spoilt then I suggest you just get another extra fan and plug it in near the graphics card such that the air around it circulates properly. Its very easy to plug in fans and there is really no way that you can go wrong.
I don't mind paying 20 dollars for a 40~50mm fan. If it can churn out more airflow definitely saved some money than replacing the whole card.Originally posted by coolgeek84:I thought "cheap fans" start from $6 onwards?$20 fan for a 32Mb graphics card is an overkill. =)