A damaged motherboard does not automatically mean damaged hardwares. Take out the hard disk, try it on another spare PC. If it's an IDE hard disk, set it to Master mode to make sure that Windows can boot. Remember to take out the other hard disk.Originally posted by digicharat:few days ago my pc in my room suddenly had a loud 'pop' sound then got burning smell. after that i cant on my pc anymore.
my friend said his pc also kanna before and his hd burnt another motherboard when testing at the repair shop.
so is my hd comfirm die liao? anyway to access the data in it without burning another motherboard?
and
how many times is winxp allowed to activate or on a particular pc?
how many pc is allowed to be activated with one copy of winxp home edition?
for the winxp activation problem is like this...
my living room pc with winxp had a few accounts, 1 admin account and rest limited account.
my sister plays maple story on one of the limited account. and everytime after she played maple story, the system got screwed up when i tried to log on into another account. it asked me to activate the xp from the admin acoount again.
so i just activated it online again. but after some time of keep on reactivate it, the xp said i used up my limit of activation.
then i called ms support and told them to help me activate it.
but the staff kpkb said what not possible for the system to ask for activation again after i activated it.
but i kept insisting that it happened on the same pc after my sister played maple story on a limited account. in the end the staff bo bian help me activated it.
then the first thing i did and tried was to change all the limited account to admin account. and the problem did not occur anymore.
funny right?
some help please?![]()
my house no more spare pc.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:A damaged motherboard does not automatically mean damaged hardwares. Take out the hard disk, try it on another spare PC. If it's an IDE hard disk, set it to Master mode to make sure that Windows can boot. Remember to take out the other hard disk.
Same for all other hardwares on the damaged motherboard, except that there's no master or slave.
Windows can be activated only one time, each time after you reformat. To add on, the hardware specifications must be the same, or else, it will fail to activate.
Since your motherboard is basically gone case, you have no choice but to call up MS and ask for verification. Tell them what happened and they will do it nicely for you.
And err... you need admin rights to activate XP if I'm not wrong.
hi, good day to you.Originally posted by Cool-gal:hi digi, long time no hear from u.
Well, you will have. You have to buy a motherboard. Try plugging in all the old hardwares in first. If it doesn't work, you basically have to buy a new system.Originally posted by digicharat:my house no more spare pc.
but if i use that hd as an external hd using external hd casing by usb port, is the chance of spoiling my pc lesser? or the risk of frying my pc is the same as connecting it directly to my motherboard?
and
ok, so winxp can only be activated on one single pc. im fine with that.
but then how come got limit cap on how many times the activation code can be used one? it is on the same pc somemore lor...
that isnt very fair leh...
now my original winxp feel like pirated copy liao. i feel cheated.
but i have this hd casing which can hold an internal hd. the casing came along with an usb cable and a power cord which can power the internal hd in it. and i can just pluck the usb into the pc usb port. and the system will read all the data in it like a spare hd.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Well, you will have. You have to buy a motherboard. Try plugging in all the old hardwares in first. If it doesn't work, you basically have to buy a new system.
That HD from the fried motherboard will never be an external hard disk. However, it can work as a spare hard disk if it's still working fine (assuming the fried motherboard didn't affect it)
As for the activation issue... no choice, MS rules. However, they are very flexible in helping users validate their copy of Windows... so no worries.
I have no idea for this. As long as you follow instructions and plug it properly, it shouldn't fry the motherboard.Originally posted by digicharat:but i have this hd casing which can hold an internal hd. the casing came along with an usb cable and a power cord which can power the internal hd in it. and i can just pluck the usb into the pc usb port. and the system will read all the data in it like a spare hd.
lets say i pluck it into my other working pc usb port and test if the hd is still working, is there a chance of it frying my motherboard if the hd was affacted by the previous burnt?
since im connecting it by usb and not directly connecting it to the motherboard?
and thanks for the winxp advice.
hmm... ok. nevermind. i going to be a bastard and bring it over to a repair shop to test.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I have no idea for this. As long as you follow instructions and plug it properly, it shouldn't fry the motherboard.