Originally posted by uaremyfayth:bro...ghz le lah
You DIY also got warranty de mah, every single item inside ranging from processor to PSU ram and HDD even ur GFX card all got manufacturer warranty.Originally posted by gigabyte14:i prefer branded
cos got warranty and free gift
i oso scare here scare there spoil 1
soooooooooo![]()
That's why it's called convenience.Originally posted by uaremyfayth:You DIY also got warranty de mah, every single item inside ranging from processor to PSU ram and HDD even ur GFX card all got manufacturer warranty.
But problem is, u need to go different places when different item spoil
Then hor, what if your computer won't start up?
You need to spend time or even money for someone to come and check to see what is wrong, isolate the problem to a component then find where to send it for service.
You buy branded one just make phone call ask them come down collect and be done with it.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Last time hor... I had to bring down the Acer one OK and also the HP laptop... have to bring down one... and the HP laptop hor, so funny, after the repairs, anyone can just quote the reference number and they give you the laptop!!!! I was so shocked!
ya lor! I was also think the same... even if they replace with new... data will be gone...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:![]()
If anybody caught hold of the reference number pattern, Goodbye to my laptop.
Lucky Acer not like that.
Is HP still practising this?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:ya lor! I was also think the same... even if they replace with new... data will be gone...
The incident I talked about was only a couple of months back! Even the one that went to collect was shocked because they never asked for anything other than the ref number!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Is HP still practising this?
the problem isOriginally posted by uaremyfayth:You DIY also got warranty de mah, every single item inside ranging from processor to PSU ram and HDD even ur GFX card all got manufacturer warranty.
But problem is, u need to go different places when different item spoil
Then hor, what if your computer won't start up?
You need to spend time or even money for someone to come and check to see what is wrong, isolate the problem to a component then find where to send it for service.
You buy branded one just make phone call ask them come down collect and be done with it.
And also hor, my cousin bought a computer from courts 3 years ago, bought extended warranty for +$200 the blardy gfx card keep spoil, one year spoil 2 - 3 times, dunno is he watch too much av or what, then recently courts ran out of Nvidia GF4s so they upgraded his mother board gave him a 6600 -.-""
THen his monitor from 19 inch 4:3 dunno what china brand now is acer 20" wide. His warranty ends next month.
Who is that "you" you referring to?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:I thot you in POLY???!!!![]()
They need a wake up call. If the employee is one theirs and they lost a laptop this way, I'm going to send them an orbi good e-card.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:The incident I talked about was only a couple of months back! Even the one that went to collect was shocked because they never asked for anything other than the ref number!
the guy that said he dunno how to fix...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Who is that "you" you referring to?
1) The main problem now with computers are not the CPU... By changing the architecture and some software of the processor does help in the performance of the computer but the help is really insignificant. The main problem now with computer is the harddisk. The accessing speed of harddisk is too slow for the ram or CPU to run even faster... Therefore, the technology breakthrough tat I mean is the invention of faster but affordable harddisk...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:1. A lot of applications are still optimized for 32-bit platforms and single core CPUs, which is why there isn't any improvements. Between 2005 and 2007, I've seen a great improvement for 32-bit programs on single core CPU. They no longer use as much resources or have other sort of bugs which eats resources.
However, the same can't be said for duo core or even quad core CPU and 64-bit platforms PC. Although some programs are specifically for such platforms, the programs more or less are going the way of their predecessor.
2. Not really. It really depends.
3. LOL, Accepted.
4. OK, nice friend you are.
As for you... well... nothing to say. You are contradictory.![]()
lol... u diy yr computer wrongly, is it ??Originally posted by amusing_dick:i've been using a DIY comp for almost 3yrs.. goodddaaammniiittt i swear to change to dell after this one get outdated..
causes so much problem initially graphic cards spoil then spent like 3 days to get a new one replaced.. then monitor dont how come also can spoil,not even a single pixel can light up. a whole pitch of darkness... then again i have to spend some time figuring out which hardware failed then finally sometime later,got it replaced.. then juz a week ago got a power surge...WAAAAA!!!!
ram stick the slot kenna burnt until got black patch..
powersupply spoil
monitor no screen.. then motherboard cpu fan also not moving CCB at that moment my mind went blank.blank because its totally impossible for me to figure out exactly which hardware failed.. then initially want to get a new harddisk,then a new mobo,then finally it comes to psu... whole fixing process took a whole month.. goddamn if it was a dell i would just have to pick up the phone and the comp got a fixed by at most a week.. i WILL choose dell depite the higher price cuz if major hardware failure at least i would have something to fall back on.. not lost in the forest all alone buying parts to try out exactly which hardware failed and need to replace.
if u buy dell, i think it will give u even more problems.Originally posted by amusing_dick:i've been using a DIY comp for almost 3yrs.. goodddaaammniiittt i swear to change to dell after this one get outdated..
causes so much problem initially graphic cards spoil then spent like 3 days to get a new one replaced.. then monitor dont how come also can spoil,not even a single pixel can light up. a whole pitch of darkness... then again i have to spend some time figuring out which hardware failed then finally sometime later,got it replaced.. then juz a week ago got a power surge...WAAAAA!!!!
powersupply spoil
monitor no screen.. then motherboard cpu fan also not moving CCB at that moment my mind went blank.blank because its totally impossible for me to figure out exactly which hardware failed.. then initially want to get a new harddisk,then a new mobo,then finally it comes to psu... whole fixing process took a whole month.. goddamn if it was a dell i would just have to pick up the phone and the comp got a fixed by at most a week.. i WILL choose dell depite the higher price cuz if major hardware failure at least i would have something to fall back on.. not lost in the forest all alone buying parts to try out exactly which hardware failed and need to replace.
You definitely need an OEM one.Originally posted by amusing_dick:i've been using a DIY comp for almost 3yrs.. goodddaaammniiittt i swear to change to dell after this one get outdated..
powersupply spoil
HiOriginally posted by freedom4ever:if u buy dell, i think it will give u even more problems.
We are flattered..indeed DIY isn't just for anyone or everyoneOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You definitely need an OEM one.![]()
I feel that part of the reason holding some DIY enthhusiast back is the 64bit OS. The hard disk is reasoned as the slowest component of a pC because it is the only part operating by mechanical means. However only a fraction of a chunk of data leaves the hdd at one time before being broken up into many more fragments for data processing down the stream to the CPU and buffered at the ram. With hdd going SATAII and possibly SATAIII or higher, throughput has been greatly increased. seek times of hdd have also improved down to 4ms (seagate) and 2ms (WD raptor). One of the challenges to hdd maker now is making reliable hdd with larger storage capacity to satisfy the digital multimedia age and users.Originally posted by ispyyy:1) The main problem now with computers are not the CPU... By changing the architecture and some software of the processor does help in the performance of the computer but the help is really insignificant. The main problem now with computer is the harddisk. The accessing speed of harddisk is too slow for the ram or CPU to run even faster... Therefore, the technology breakthrough tat I mean is the invention of faster but affordable harddisk...
1 & 2) Most computer users do not really need very good computers... Majority will use computer to surf net, download, play and use simple applications... They do not need really expensive computers and thus if they diy themself, it doesnt really save much... <---- assuming diy uses original software
In fact, it is encouragble to buy the cheapest computer... lol... Reason is very simple... Computer depreciates very fast... And therefore, one should buy the cheapest and make the computer dl 24 hrs daily... You use cheapest computer and force the computer do lots of work... In return, save more money ><
I am not being contradictory. It is just a pride ---> I know tat I m in the wrong but I still insist I m in the right.... Well... u can say male ego if u want... ><