i disagree. ok now lets be practical. what do we mean by cheap and exp computers?Originally posted by Farmerseed:I feel that part of the reason holding some DIY enthhusiast back is the 64bit OS. The hard disk is reasoned as the slowest component of a pC because it is the only part operating by mechanical means. However only a fraction of a chunk of data leaves the hdd at one time before being broken up into many more fragments for data processing down the stream to the CPU and buffered at the ram. With hdd going SATAII and possibly SATAIII or higher, throughput has been greatly increased. seek times of hdd have also improved down to 4ms (seagate) and 2ms (WD raptor). One of the challenges to hdd maker now is making reliable hdd with larger storage capacity to satisfy the digital multimedia age and users.
Most people do not really need good computers because computer is not a thing of the past. Almost everyone owns one and our younger generation are taught how to use them at school. expensive computers is no subsitute for a reliable computer. you can get a cheap computer but you will never to expect it to run good for long 24hr a day for weeks and months and years. it will fail earlier than expected and you will have to spend money on a new cheaper PC again. it takes more than a cheap PC to dl while you do other stuff with your other programmes. you should not buy the cheapest and hope to squeeze every ounce from it. it is a very wrong concept.
ego is never an excuse for ignorant![]()
i disagree...to me cheap computers are just a computer someone had just to give an excuse of getting by.Originally posted by manyu882:i disagree. ok now lets be practical. what do we mean by cheap and exp computers?
this is what i think.
cheap computers: Parts which are from reliable company but the performance of it is optimum for average users.( normal games like CS, and warcraft 3 is still not a problem)
exp com: parts which is also from reliable company but for high end users( extreme gamers)
from this defination( not ass u and me), can we say that most of the parts from reliable company have almost the same lifespan ?( other than overclocking)
do u know that, expensive computers u are talking about will be cheap computers in the future? the cause of it is because computer parts depreciate its value by 1 -2 times every 0.5-1 year. eg: 1yr ago u bought a computer for $2300, 1 now it cost $999. does it mean that the $999 cannot withstand moden usage?
and do u realise that computer technology is going faster than what we need of it today? think about it.
so, its better to buy a cheap computer cos: depreciation of value, technoogy moves too fast and thus its not a need or even a must.
nvm if u dont believe it. the world is going to be this way anyway. face it. since u think com is more impt than car. so i guess u have an exp com. did u show off? no yes?or because the moderaters dont have a sub forum for showing off pc? and also, if someone would to think of PC133 ram and PC133 ECC ram has plunged, why i'm wrong?does it concern me?Originally posted by Farmerseed:i disagree...to me cheap computers are just a computer someone had just to give an excuse of getting by.
expensive computers are computers people paid a high price for not knowing what it can or cannot do just for showing off.
technology is always going on but u never seems to realize that despite all the jazz about ddr2 and 3 and SATA2 and 3 and so on speed of computer has come to a standstill. processor makers are now making 'faster' computers with multi core so that your 'cheap' computer can do more things all at a time.
i have a need and use for a reliable computer so to me a computer is by far more godly than owning a car so please stop using the term depreciation on certain computers and parts.
after all if someone think that the price of PC133 ram and PC133 ECC ram has plunged you are very wrong.
technology is always going on but u never seems to realize that despite all the jazz about ddr2 and 3 and SATA2 and 3 and so on speed of computer has come to a standstill. processor makers are now making 'faster' computers with multi core so that your 'cheap' computer can do more things all at a timeyou dont need to tell me this man. what makes u think i dont know or not realizing it. is it because that i say technology is moving too fast which most of us dont even need it? i dont find a link in it.
Alamak... u should compare the speed of harddisk to the speed of ram and CPU but not compare the speed of harddisk of now with the previous type of harddisk... We need a revolution in harddisk...Originally posted by Farmerseed:I feel that part of the reason holding some DIY enthhusiast back is the 64bit OS. The hard disk is reasoned as the slowest component of a pC because it is the only part operating by mechanical means. However only a fraction of a chunk of data leaves the hdd at one time before being broken up into many more fragments for data processing down the stream to the CPU and buffered at the ram. With hdd going SATAII and possibly SATAIII or higher, throughput has been greatly increased. seek times of hdd have also improved down to 4ms (seagate) and 2ms (WD raptor). One of the challenges to hdd maker now is making reliable hdd with larger storage capacity to satisfy the digital multimedia age and users.
Most people do not really need good computers because computer is not a thing of the past. Almost everyone owns one and our younger generation are taught how to use them at school. expensive computers is no subsitute for a reliable computer. you can get a cheap computer but you will never to expect it to run good for long 24hr a day for weeks and months and years. it will fail earlier than expected and you will have to spend money on a new cheaper PC again. it takes more than a cheap PC to dl while you do other stuff with your other programmes. you should not buy the cheapest and hope to squeeze every ounce from it. it is a very wrong concept.
ego is never an excuse for ignorant![]()
alamak you should compare apple with aplles and not oranges with apples. which is why you should compare hard disks with hard disks and not cpu with hard disks.Originally posted by ispyyy:Alamak... u should compare the speed of harddisk to the speed of ram and CPU but not compare the speed of harddisk of now with the previous type of harddisk... We need a revolution in harddisk...
lol... u can always off the download when u r using the PC... Anyway, I have tried it b4... using a computer tat is well ventilated running 24 hrs in room temperature, it can last at least 3 years... Hohohoho... if u r using the computer in air con room, then, it will be much much longer... In fact, the life of the computer last longer if u run it in air con 24 hrs than switching on and off the computer in the air con room...
And lastly, I guess u consider me ignorant to compare with u... NICE 1 sia...
my point on 'cheap computers..." are really targeted at people who hear from friends and peers about how blah sheet good this and that and crap is while they themselves never really build or own a reliable computer before in their lives. these people tends to BS and crap around in conversations and forums and it really pissed me off. they appear and find numbers in groups and at the point of losing or facing challenge in a discussion with join in arms and crap more with irrelvent arguments.Originally posted by orionlight:DIY for me
I disagree with farmerseed view of cheap com being lousy.It is very myopic to look at budget PC from an enthusiasts point of view.Of course we know comapared to your xxx quadcore processor, 10k raptor, x2900xt blah blah, budget PC are way out of your league.But that doesn't mean that they don't last or perform.Just look at the recent mobos from ASrock and Biostar, they are cheap and perform up to expectations for daily use.You must also know that not everyone has deep enough pockets to afford a high end com so your argument of "cheap computers are just a computer someone had just to give an excuse of getting by" simply doesn't hold.You expect a person to buy a high end com and eat grass for the next few months just because he needs a new com?
what are you writing? i don't think such off the line statements supports your claim in DIy or OEM PCs?Originally posted by manyu882:you dont need to tell me this man. what makes u think i dont know or not realizing it. is it because that i say technology is moving too fast which most of us dont even need it? i dont find a link in it.
and that or even this doesn't too. just look at the quotes, compare it with all my previous post and and u will know what i mean.Originally posted by Farmerseed:what are you writing? i don't think such off the line statements supports your claim in DIy or OEM PCs?
and do u realise that computer technology is going faster than what we need of it today? think about it.from u
technology is always going on but u never seems to realize that despite all the jazz about ddr2 and 3 and SATA2 and 3 and so on speed of computer has come to a standstill. processor makers are now making 'faster' computers with multi core so that your 'cheap' computer can do more things all at a time.and whats gonna link [technology that we dont need or beyon our usage] to [processor clock speed stops there(to increase performance, one uses multiple cores)while other components still has room to improve on their speed]
The Mac is probably the most famous prebuilt desktop. And it takes pride in that you can just run straight from the box.Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:I DIY PC myself, troubleshoot, repair, upgrade you name it all I do. Prebuilt is for kids.