projects running also.....handling events backup setup etc etc.....Originally posted by Rockhound:IT support doesnt mean stay in office..most of the time u walk around alot...meet vendors..evaluate products..go for meetings...decisions..decisions
and insane deadlines
i think the IBM ppl quite kilat arh..but the systems are solid..so yeah..hardly have to call em....Originally posted by duotiga83:paiseh..is no longer a subsidariy for IBM....just a partner n as usual High turnover rate also....i USED to be there as IT Support last yr![]()
Yeah... I agree. If it's more of a hobby, it's acceptable. I probably won't see myself in IT field either...Originally posted by Rockhound:but its not something u wanna do for the rest of ure life..thats for sure
yeah..can die lor..Originally posted by duotiga83:projects running also.....handling events backup setup etc etc.....
I'm still pleased that none are so idiotic to make me feel so. I'm still waiting for one to come along to test me and others.Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:ish this wad mayi felt when we ask for help?![]()
don't generalise ah....OPUS IT got their OWN helpdesk LOCALLY depends on which site you go ah....Originally posted by Rockhound:i think the IBM ppl quite kilat arh..but the systems are solid..so yeah..hardly have to call em....
but ure helpdesk in KL damn PMS leh...lol..unlike dell..acer helpdesk
quite wide la the biz nessOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yeah... I agree. If it's more of a hobby, it's acceptable. I probably won't see myself in IT field either...
thats what my former collegues said also.....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yeah... I agree. If it's more of a hobby, it's acceptable. I probably won't see myself in IT field either...
Support field is one of the lowest of the corporate ladder and they don't really pay well... they do lots of sai kang... and they get all the shit thrown at them.Originally posted by venny:lol! but its one of those gd paying jobs in the industry rite? if u dun wan, i also wan lehz.... get paid to slack in air con office check email... nice.....![]()
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:not to mention 1st to get booted out
Support field is one of the lowest of the corporate ladder and they don't really pay well... they do lots of sai kang... and they get all the sh[b]it thrown at them.[/b]
everytime i call it'd be the KL one picking up leh.......Originally posted by duotiga83:don't generalise ah....OPUS IT got their OWN helpdesk LOCALLY depends on which site you go ah....
OPUS IT ! = IBM
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:yeahyeahyeah.......alot of shit...and ppl dun care abt ure feelings one...plus the most expendable..
Support field is one of the lowest of the corporate ladder and they don't really pay well... they do lots of sai kang... and they get all the sh[b]it thrown at them.[/b]
Support have to play with politics which i hate it.....thats why i quittedOriginally posted by Rockhound:yeahyeahyeah.......alot of shit...and ppl dun care abt ure feelings one...plus the most expendable..
ure users dun like u...they complain.....and u might just get fired
mine..worse was 10pm..earliest was 6amOriginally posted by BrUtUs:at least u dun get calls from middle of nite-7am...
NOT TRUE...depends on which COY n which SITE you are ATTACHED to...some site handle 24/7 supportOriginally posted by BrUtUs:at least u dun get calls from middle of nite-7am...
You reminded me of the wireless stuffs I did. Everything good, so now what?Originally posted by Rockhound:yeah..can die lor..
supporting events..damn sian...u'd end up asking ureself..."y am i here?"
i hate evaluations..cos everyone would say their barang is best...then wanna make decision..like hard like that
I look at all, I don't think I will stay long in any of the fields. Even for Support, Networking and Security where my strengths are, I feel that it's not really something you would look to everyday.Originally posted by Rockhound:quite wide la the biz ness
u can go into sales
research..
IT support...
education...
wireless
networking...
programming..
so it really depends on wat u fancy
my worse....software upgrade weekends burn...not only that work non stop for 2wks without any breakOriginally posted by Rockhound:mine..worse was 10pm..earliest was 6am
i now in Data migration...nw everything i see is excel excel excel.....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I look at all, I don't think I will stay long in any of the fields. Even for Support, Networking and Security where my strengths are, I feel that it's not really something you would look to everyday.
Now in IT Security, everyday the word is "secure". Secure secure secure. I never found a nicer word.![]()
Try working as a server or network admin.Originally posted by BrUtUs:at least u dun get calls from middle of nite-7am...
hahahahahahahahahahahha......Originally posted by duotiga83:i now in Data migration...nw everything i see is excel excel excel.....![]()