Originally posted by kenn3th:
hahas, 1hr nags.Btw whr to request for sp1 cds?
Got meh? I only know can download. But it's so damn freaking huge. -_-
should have.
I heard that discs would be shipped by microsoft ?
90% confirmed dates for released would be
February 18th or 19th.
Hmm... never hear about that.
As for release date, there seems to be some conflicts. LOL
2 versions I've read - mid Feb and mid March. Coincidentally, it's around 18 or 19 too.
we shall see.
mon or tue. or neither of both.
Vista is easy and free to get nowadays i got ultimate for free using torrent =.=?
Vista SP1 is already out. However, the official download won't be available until mid of March. My bet - 18 or 19 March. Might be later due to time zone differences.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windowsvista/bb738089.aspx
Windows Vista Service Pack 1 is an update to Windows Vista that addresses feedback from our customers. In addition to previously released updates, SP1 contains changes focused on addressing specific reliability and performance issues, supporting new types of hardware, and adding support for several emerging standards. Windows Vista SP1 also addresses some management, deployment, and support challenges.
On February 4, 2008 Windows Vista Service Pack 1 was released to manufacturing. TechNet Plus subscribers can now access Windows Vista SP1 in the Top Subscribers Download section on the subscriptions home page. Windows Vista SP1 will be available to the public in mid-March via Windows Update and the Microsoft Download Center.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Vista SP1 is already out. However, the official download won't be available until mid of March. My bet - 18 or 19 March. Might be later due to time zone differences.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windowsvista/bb738089.aspx
=/
so the release date is correct.
but it is released to manufacturers
oh well.
Do u think that one month is enough for laptops to be preloaded with Vista SP1 during IT Show '08?
I doubt so. The latest update is killing a lot of PCs. There's not enough time to test, not enough time to find out what's causing the issue. In fact, the cause is not identified yet.
All Microsoft offers is
1. Boot up to Vista disc and repair Windows.
2. Boot up to Safe Mode and do system restore ---> for those who use branded PCs. Frankly, this is not even a solution. If you can't boot up to Normal Mode properly, don't even think of Safe Mode. Safe Mode is only for those who haven't killed their PCs.
On another note, manufacturers should now consider giving users the installation disc.
Some not really known knowledge about vista...
Windows Vista's installer can detect serial-ATA (SATA) drives without the need to provide a driver diskette. Don't bother creating a diskette for your SATA drives before you install Vista.
If, for some reason, the Vista installation gets interrupted due to an unintentional shutdown or reboot, start the computer without booting the Vista DVD. Windows Vista's installer should pick up where it left off. If it does-n't, then restart the installation over from scratch
Bravo... in XP, it's the other way round. That's why I never owned a SATA HDD prior to Vista.
does your vista comes with solitaire??
mine did not.
i try dragging the sol.exe from my xp over to vista. but still need to drag cards.dll or something as well and put it in the same folder..
maybe those gian to play solitaire on vista can try it out
Start > Control Panel > Programs and Features
Click on Turn Windows features on or off link. Install the games that you want.
They got some new games. New Vista solitaire looks nicer, easier to play.
Also got Mahjongg... but is those mix and match kind.
Kindly do not install Purple Place game. Crap piece of game. More for gina to play.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Start > Control Panel > Programs and Features
Click on Turn Windows features on or off link. Install the games that you want.
They got some new games. New Vista solitaire looks nicer, easier to play.
Also got Mahjongg... but is those mix and match kind.
Kindly do not install Purple Place game. Crap piece of game. More for gina to play.
thanks for your help. you really lived up to your name~!
http://www.microsoft.com/singapore/windows/products/windowsvista/sp1.mspx
Vista sp1.
Dragged again.
mid april.
Vista SP1 is available for download liao... who cares about Singapore.
I can't download now because I using Chinese version... will need to get an ang moh version to test.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948343
This KB article lists why you can't update Vista to SP1.
Manual download link - http://malwareremoval.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=28875
Double post removed.
so is still not official out yet?
Officially out. If you are using an English, French, German, Japanese or Spanish version of Vista, you should be able to receive it via Windows Update (Start > All Programs Windows Update for the new Start Menu or Start > Windows Update for the classic Start Menu users).
Reference to read - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948343
If you can't find it, kindly scroll down and read Cause 5 first. If Cause 5 doesn't apply to you, scroll down and read Cause 6.
Cause 6 matters for those who installed Vista SP1 Release Candidate or the beta. Or those who have automatic updates turned on and got an earlier version of Vista SP1 on February. The February version is the one that causes crashes on some computers. If you are lucky and survive through it, Vista SP1 would have been installed on your computer by now. Read through Cause 6 to remove the patch and SP1.
Renamed title of thread. Should this be our official Vista thread?
ok tonight go home and try... hopes it works for my 64bit vista...
strange.
strange.
strange.
Okie, I got the service pack liao..I wonder if it does any good to my system?