hey guys... need your help..... come come... help to recommend some good pc spec leh...mi thinking of getting a DIY pc... but too long never play with pc already.. (almost 4 yrs never play pc game) ... not looking for a "money not an issue" pc.. just maybe a good or powerful pc to play game.... below is some of my idea...
22" lcd monitor
8800GT
AMD cpu
good PSU
sound card not a problem.. integrated can already..
ok ok.. come help... everyone give mi their idea ok.. thanks.
wait for new radeon come out la.. HD4870.
thru past experience i feel that ati goes well with amd.. but tat doesent mean nvidia is lousy when paired up with amd. u might wanna wait a bit to get newer hardware.. or if u wish to stick with nvidia, the 9600 series can do.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:wait for new radeon come out la.. HD4870.
thru past experience i feel that ati goes well with amd.. but tat doesent mean nvidia is lousy when paired up with amd. u might wanna wait a bit to get newer hardware.. or if u wish to stick with nvidia, the 9600 series can do.
mi not looking for the latest lah as it will be more ex anyway... also... i thought 8800GT is suppose to be better than 9600?
u got a point there, but what games are u playing?
if crysis then certainly, 9600 wont do, but a 9800 wd be nice =)
Originally posted by SBS7484P:u got a point there, but what games are u playing?
if crysis then certainly, 9600 wont do, but a 9800 wd be nice =)
mi 4yrs never play pc game already.. so what u think... any game in the market or in near future lor... but not looking for the latest card lah.. just a good one for mi to use for the next 2 yr or so lor...
hmm.. an 86 is too weak to play anything serious.. 88 can do crysis.
id say if ur budget is willing then go ahead and get an 88, but the base one would do, since it isnt extreme heavy gaming.
on the other hand, ati has better color quality than nvdia chipsets
Originally posted by SBS7484P:hmm.. an 86 is too weak to play anything serious.. 88 can do crysis.
id say if ur budget is willing then go ahead and get an 88, but the base one would do, since it isnt extreme heavy gaming.
on the other hand, ati has better color quality than nvdia chipsets
yes yes.. my plan is so go for 8800GT unless anyone here tell mi otherwise.. which 8800GT?? can state the actual spec and model?? ... also what about the rest of the part??? i plan to give all the detail spec to those pc shop to quote ar... thanks
the gt wld be fine..
if ud like warmer colours go for ati
which GT?? u see from here got alot of different GT... i checked the market.. the price can be quite different too..
and what about other part?? anyone got suggestion?
8800GT 1GB is pretty enough .. As for processor if u are looking at intel go for 9420 (U gotta confirm with MyPillowtalk, that was my dream processor) AMD i dunno cos i am not into AMD. PSU go 650w .. I guess its more than enough .. As for monitor its up to u ya. As for chasis .. I am using CM690 not bad ya .. Or Antec 900. Ram hmm go 1080 02 x 1gb. And dun go Vista imho hogging too much sys. resoucres .. Go XP.
Dun get 4gb ya.. cos xp 32bit could onli detect up to 3gb. As for mobo.. I am not sure.. I am using Asus P5kpro.
AMD is not recommended as they do not perform as well as Intel.
I advise that you go for Intel Core 2 Wolfdale E7/E8 series processor for the best performance.For the graphics card i believe that if u wait a while,the 98 series may come out soon and replce the 88.
Do bear in mind to make sure that your DIY PC is future proofed(newest mobo etc) as the upcoming sucessor to Core 2 is due to be released around 09.Nehalem is quite a good deal since in addition to 4 cores for mainstream variant,there is HyperThreading to double their logical number.
thing is how much u want to spend...like my own DIY which i set up 3 months ago spend around 2k+...actually not bad for gaming..u can use for reference if u like....
- Gigabyte Ga-P35-DSR intel Motherboard
- Intel Quad Processor 2.4Ghz
- 2 x Hitachi 160GD Sata Drive ( For me extra one is for backup...so actually for gaming 1 is more than enough)
- XFX 8800GT 512MB 600Mhz Alpha Dog Graphics Card
- Asus DVD R Drive (Again i think 1 DVD drive more than enough...got two only becoz easier to copy stuffs...lazy to change discs....lol)
- LG Sata DVD RW Drive
- Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Card
- Coolmaster 690 Casing + Side Windows
- 4GB Corsair Memory
- Corsair 550W ATX Power Supply
- Samsung 223BW Wide Screen 22inch Monitor
- Edifier E1100 w/Sub woofer ( Sound not bad not top notch...thing is i like the looks which represent an alien head)
- Windows Home Vista Ultimate edition ( A bit regret should have use XP...but then again vista is ok if u upgrade to SP1 )
Anyway for gaming 8800 series is good enough liao....unless u ready to spend big bucks for dual 8800 card...which is not realistic..unless again if u no place to offload ur cash lol.....![]()
side track a bit.
wanna ask ddr3 ram is still not very receptive yet?
Originally posted by Midlusionz:8800GT 1GB is pretty enough .. As for processor if u are looking at intel go for 9420 (U gotta confirm with MyPillowtalk, that was my dream processor) AMD i dunno cos i am not into AMD. PSU go 650w .. I guess its more than enough .. As for monitor its up to u ya. As for chasis .. I am using CM690 not bad ya .. Or Antec 900. Ram hmm go 1080 02 x 1gb. And dun go Vista imho hogging too much sys. resoucres .. Go XP.
Dun get 4gb ya.. cos xp 32bit could onli detect up to 3gb. As for mobo.. I am not sure.. I am using Asus P5kpro.
question... 8800GT 1GB vs 8800GT 512MB... worth the money to get the new 1GB meh?? or is 512MB already good enough... heard 1GB increase the performance by around 15% only.. but price is alot more right?
xp32bit? is it the standard for all XP? that mean if i plan to use XP... no point buying 4gb ram right? 2gb is enough...
No,if u plan to have more than 4GB RAM, u can use XP also but u need to get a 64bit version...not sure if its still out there so recommend u get Vista 64..or stick with 32 and 4GB RAM....32bit can use at most 3.25GB
Originally posted by ceecookie:AMD is not recommended as they do not perform as well as Intel.
I advise that you go for Intel Core 2 Wolfdale E7/E8 series processor for the best performance.For the graphics card i believe that if u wait a while,the 98 series may come out soon and replce the 88.
Do bear in mind to make sure that your DIY PC is future proofed(newest mobo etc) as the upcoming sucessor to Core 2 is due to be released around 09.Nehalem is quite a good deal since in addition to 4 cores for mainstream variant,there is HyperThreading to double their logical number.
AMD still so good i know.. but is it more value for money? i'm going for it's 64bit... intel using 64bit now? too long never play with pc already so not updated.
any news when 98 coming out? is it already out in usa?.. i am thinking once it's officially out the price of 88should go down right? but how long more should i wait??
intel core...any more detail intro? model?
and yes... for mobo... i am also thinking for a future proofed one... any intro? thanks
Originally posted by maxsee:thing is how much u want to spend...like my own DIY which i set up 3 months ago spend around 2k+...actually not bad for gaming..u can use for reference if u like....
- Gigabyte Ga-P35-DSR intel Motherboard
- Intel Quad Processor 2.4Ghz
- 2 x Hitachi 160GD Sata Drive ( For me extra one is for backup...so actually for gaming 1 is more than enough)
- Asus DVD R Drive (Again i think 1 DVD drive more than enough...got two only becoz easier to copy stuffs...lazy to change discs....lol)
- LG Sata DVD RW Drive
- Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Card
- Coolmaster 690 Casing + Side Windows
- 4GB Corsair Memory
- Corsair 550W ATX Power Supply
- Edifier E1100 w/Sub woofer ( Sound not bad not top notch...thing is i like the looks which represent an alien head)
- Windows Home Vista Ultimate edition ( A bit regret should have use XP...but then again vista is ok if u upgrade to SP1 )
Anyway for gaming 8800 series is good enough liao....unless u ready to spend big bucks for dual 8800 card...which is not realistic..unless again if u no place to offload ur cash lol.....
how much u got for these
Originally posted by ceecookie:No,if u plan to have more than 4GB RAM, u can use XP also but u need to get a 64bit version...not sure if its still out there so recommend u get Vista 64..or stick with 32 and 4GB RAM....32bit can use at most 3.25GB
oic.. no lah.. dun wish to get vista lah.. heard of all the complain here from u guys is enough haha..... anyone using 3GB ram one?? haha...... then what is the official name for xp 64bit? how to i tell the pc shop staff?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
oic.. no lah.. dun wish to get vista lah.. heard of all the complain here from u guys is enough haha..... anyone using 3GB ram one?? haha...... then what is the official name for xp 64bit? how to i tell the pc shop staff?
The only available 64bit version for XP is Windows XP Professional x64 Edition.
However,do be warned that its rather buggy so for true 64 bit i recommend Vista.
u can read the review here to see if u want to take the risk
"...If you already have one of the millions of 64-bit-capable desktops or laptops running 32-bit Windows and want to switch, be prepared for headaches. Windows x64 doesn't offer a 32-bit Windows upgrade option; you'll need to do a fresh install. That means booting your system from the installation CD and navigating through some confusing text prompts to install the system. If you're planning to upgrade from a 32-bit Windows computer, you'll have to copy your settings (we recommend storing an image of your existing hard drive on an external hard drive) and reinstall all of your utilities and applications later. Though most of your applications will work fine within Windows x64's 32-bit compatibility mode, if the software includes its own device driver, you may encounter difficulties. For instance, when we tried to install iTunes, we were greeted with an error message saying that one of the drivers included with the software wasn't compatible with Windows x64. Though the application launched and appeared to work, there's likely a compatibility issue lurking below.
In addition, each piece of hardware in your system needs a 64-bit driver to work properly. Though Microsoft includes many common device drivers with Windows x64, older or less common pieces of hardware won't work without a driver supplied by the manufacturer. Vendors such as Brother, Canon, Epson, Lexmark, Ricoh, Samsung, Wacom, Xerox, and Zoran currently offer driver support for the new OS, with other vendors expected to do so by the end of this year."
Originally posted by ceecookie:The only available 64bit version for XP is Windows XP Professional x64 Edition.
However,do be warned that its rather buggy so for true 64 bit i recommend Vista.
u can read the review here to see if u want to take the risk
"...If you already have one of the millions of 64-bit-capable desktops or laptops running 32-bit Windows and want to switch, be prepared for headaches. Windows x64 doesn't offer a 32-bit Windows upgrade option; you'll need to do a fresh install. That means booting your system from the installation CD and navigating through some confusing text prompts to install the system. If you're planning to upgrade from a 32-bit Windows computer, you'll have to copy your settings (we recommend storing an image of your existing hard drive on an external hard drive) and reinstall all of your utilities and applications later. Though most of your applications will work fine within Windows x64's 32-bit compatibility mode, if the software includes its own device driver, you may encounter difficulties. For instance, when we tried to install iTunes, we were greeted with an error message saying that one of the drivers included with the software wasn't compatible with Windows x64. Though the application launched and appeared to work, there's likely a compatibility issue lurking below.
In addition, each piece of hardware in your system needs a 64-bit driver to work properly. Though Microsoft includes many common device drivers with Windows x64, older or less common pieces of hardware won't work without a driver supplied by the manufacturer. Vendors such as Brother, Canon, Epson, Lexmark, Ricoh, Samsung, Wacom, Xerox, and Zoran currently offer driver support for the new OS, with other vendors expected to do so by the end of this year."
hmm.. so if i really wan to use AMD for the 64bit.. it's also better for mi to use xp64 bit right? so to used it's full power... what about all the other game and ms office? can use on a 64bit pc right? mine will be a new pc.. not upgrade.. so ok right?
Therotically, yes.But for XP the trouble may not be worth it.
But again, i really recommend you to get Intel Processor.
AMD is known to underperform compared to the Intel counterpart.
For example, the Phenom cannot even exceed that of the first generation Intel Quad Core processor.
Originally posted by ceecookie:Therotically, yes.But for XP the trouble may not be worth it.
But again, i really recommend you to get Intel Processor.
AMD is known to underperform compared to the Intel counterpart.
For example, the Phenom cannot even exceed that of the first generation Intel Quad Core processor.
hmm then which intel using 64bit now??? or which u intro??
a 32bit XP will do.. 2GB ram .. 8800GT 1GB (Cost about 400 +) just make sure u get a mobo which u can upgrade in the future.
I got bad experience with AMD so i die die wun get AMD
hmm then which intel using 64bit now??? or which u intro??
Actually,i think u got a little confused by the defination of 64 bit.
64 bits for processors means native dual core processors.Not logical cores as with pentium 4 HT but true dual core.By right virtually most and even all processors from Intel and soon for AMD is fully dual core, like for instance even the celeron budget processor is turning dual core now.
Intel Core is the latest microarchitecture in use now,suceeding the Pentium era.The processors that use the Core microarchitecture is Core Duo and Core 2 Duo.The former is now obsolote/aging since the sucessor is Core 2 Duo.
Depending on your budget, you can take the E7,E8(both Wolfdale) or the E4(Allendale) series.They are the same processor only that the L2 cache size vary.
The Wolfdale 8 series has 6MB L2 cache while the Wolfdale-3M 7 series has 3MB.
Do bear in mind that even though the Allendale(E4 series) is cheaper,it is the older generation 65nm chip.It has only 2MB L2 cache
64 bit for OS is different.There is only a small performance gain in using 64bit OS for 64bit processor so dont worry.
PS: For the Wolfdale 8 series Core 2 Duo + a average mobo - expect to shell out abt 300-500+
And i do stress future proofing your set now.Nehalem is a worthy processor to switch too once it is out in 09/10
Originally posted by ceecookie:Actually,i think u got a little confused by the defination of 64 bit.
64 bits for processors means native dual core processors.Not logical cores as with pentium 4 HT but true dual core.By right virtually most and even all processors from Intel and soon for AMD is fully dual core, like for instance even the celeron budget processor is turning dual core now.
Intel Core is the latest microarchitecture in use now,suceeding the Pentium era.The processors that use the Core microarchitecture is Core Duo and Core 2 Duo.The former is now obsolote/aging since the sucessor is Core 2 Duo.
Depending on your budget, you can take the E7,E8(both Wolfdale) or the E4(Allendale) series.They are the same processor only that the L2 cache size vary.
The Wolfdale 8 series has 6MB L2 cache while the Wolfdale-3M 7 series has 3MB.
Do bear in mind that even though the Allendale(E4 series) is cheaper,it is the older generation 65nm chip.It has only 2MB L2 cache
64 bit for OS is different.There is only a small performance gain in using 64bit OS for 64bit processor so dont worry.
PS: For the Wolfdale 8 series Core 2 Duo + a average mobo - expect to shell out abt 300-500+
And i do stress future proofing your set now.Nehalem is a worthy processor to switch too once it is out in 09/10
hmm mi still lost hahaa.. anyway.. did some reading..... so core 2 duo also 64bit now right? but not core or core duo right?? like i said.. long long never play with pc already.. last time i remember only AMD using 64bit design... so now intel also using lah.. and all future one right? ..... ok.. so if i am using core 2 duo.. that my xp also dun need to be xp64bit u were trying to say right? 32bit also ok ok... tio bo??
what other part u suggest?? anyway... 22" lcd monitor... can use for wii or ps3?? what should i look out for if i wan to do that? .. my tv down for few mths already.. dun plan to buy yet... but thinking to pay wii or ps3 in future maybe