recently, my PC got hit by spyware and viruses quite often and now i have no choice but to install anti virus and the like.
i've installed the Avast! Anti-virus (free, home edition) and my firewall is Norton Internet Security 2002 (i know, badly outdated).
other than commercial software, are there any free All-in-one-solution?
if none, then what other free anti-spyware and firewall are there?
i heard of zonealarm but it's minimum system requirements seems to be very high (1 GB RAM).
thanks!
AVG antivirus free home edition,
Spybot S&D
Zone alarm no need la..
Get AVG antivirus.
Spybot Search & Destroy. (trojan, etc)
Ad-aware. (adware, malware, etc)
Spyware Blaster. (help you block websites)
Diff programs are meant for diff things. Cannot rely on just 1 program. Rem this point.
Another point is run 1 program each time. Dont run all at the same time.
Google them on net. Easy to find 1. And all i listed are free.
And most impt is, update each program before scanning.
Tada.
thanks all!
Another point is run 1 program each time. Dont run all at the same time
- not possible leh......if you don't run anti-virus and firewall and anti-spyware at the same time, then a powerful virus / trojan / spyware / intruder can attack liao.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks all!
Another point is run 1 program each time. Dont run all at the same time
- not possible leh......if you don't run anti-virus and firewall and anti-spyware at the same time, then a powerful virus / trojan / spyware / intruder can attack liao.
no!!
What i mean by 'run' is, scanning. Scan each program one at a time. Dont save time by scanning all together. Like when you run AVG then you just run that (as in scan), dont run other anti-virus programs at the same time to 'save time'.
Of course, activate all when you use your computer lor. (your term of 'run')
ah, i see now. :-D
btw, you ever used Comodo (www.comodo.com)'s Internet Security before (includes anti-virus and firewall)?
not sure how it compares with Avast, but i'm more interested in one which uses less system resources.
according to my bro, avast seems to slow down his DOTA considerably.
avg so far so good. ;)
Originally posted by Nikar 3:ah, i see now. :-D
btw, you ever used Comodo (www.comodo.com)'s Internet Security before (includes anti-virus and firewall)?
not sure how it compares with Avast, but i'm more interested in one which uses less system resources.
according to my bro, avast seems to slow down his DOTA considerably.
heard of, but never try before.
No harm trying lor. Diff ple prefer diff programs.You can try lor.
I think he scans AVG while playing DOTA? That of course, will slow down la, even if not playing games but doing other stuffs. Will affect the speed in some ways.
i'm using nod32.
while surfing i am using web security guard on firefox. this is very useful, if there's any website which tries to download something fishy, this program will stop it
Comodo Internet Security is not bad. But since the Antivirus component just came out of beta, I would not trust that component too much. Their firewall is pretty well regarded though. Award winning.
I tried it for a while but the Antivirus component was too sensitive and prevented me from accessing one of my projects on Visual Source Safe. So I ditched it and got Kaspersky Antivirus instead.
Maybe in a few more years time, CIS will be a real contender but for the moment, not for me.
so, AVG is the overall best in terms of resource-wise and protection?
Originally posted by Nikar 3:so, AVG is the overall best in terms of resource-wise and protection?
only anti-virus and stealth protection. resource-wise is okay okay
you still have to couple up with other programs (as recommended by other forummers above) to make your system robust against malicious attacks