Need HELP seriously to design an office PC at the lowest cost possible. The PC must come with an office suite software that can perform common office automation tasks like word processing, presentation, spreadsheet and simple database. In addition, the PC must also have email, instant messaging and internet access.
|
Components |
|||
|
1 |
CPU |
||
|
Manufacturer & Model : |
|
||
|
Features/Design Considerations : Cost:
|
|||
|
2 |
Motherboard |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
3 |
Memory |
||
|
|
||
|
Amount of Memory : |
|
||
|
|
|||
|
4 |
Fixed Storage |
||
|
|
||
|
Amount of Storage : |
|
||
|
|
|||
|
5 |
Removable Storage |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
6 |
Monitor |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
7 |
Graphic Adaptor (Note : Leave this part empty, if you intend to use onboard graphic adaptor) |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
8 |
Speaker |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
9 |
Sound Card (Note : Leave this part empty, if you intend to use onboard sound card) |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
10 |
Network Interface Card (Note : Leave this part empty, if you intend to use onboard NIC) |
||
|
Manufacturer & Brand : |
|
||
|
|
|||
|
11 |
Keyboard |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
12 |
Pointing Device |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
13 |
Operating System |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
14 |
Additional Hardware (if any) (Note : Insert or delete row as necessary) |
||
|
1. |
|||
|
2. |
|||
|
3. |
|||
|
|
|||
|
15 |
Additional Software (if any) (Note : Insert or delete row as necessary) |
||
|
1. |
|||
|
2. |
|||
|
3. |
|||
|
|
|||
|
16 |
System Casing |
||
|
|
||
|
|
|||
|
Total Cost: |
|||
Need help from IT experts seriously! Can kindly help to fill up the blanks provided? THANKS A LOT IN ADVANCE.
go sim lim lah, so many shops there that build PC models at cheap prices.
Now the cost is quite cheap already, $250+ and above.
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:go sim lim lah, so many shops there that build PC models at cheap prices.
Now the cost is quite cheap already, $250+ and above.
My manager want me to come up with the plan first then submit it to him according to the form given. Since ours is a budget company so boss say must plan properly then purchase. But im not IT expert, therefore i sincercely hope that any IT expert can guide me along.. THANKS
WTF is this? Open tender ar? You want lobang I have. Service is slow, delivery takes ages, prices not cheap either, but the goods is top notch.
http://www.hotfrog.sg/Companies/Alpha-Integration-Systems
hiaz, tell ur boss go n buy used PC. sure its the cheapest u can get.
Sure is by your manager?
Looks like some DIY PC Course GEMS project by Singapore Polytechnic.
Please note down your admission number, Name and class, and i will have you retake this GEM module in the next semester.![]()
Anyway, you can check out my thread on DIY PC Specs, can copy and paste from there
Originally posted by iSuperintending_Officer:In addition, the PC must also have email, instant messaging and internet access.
"Must have integrated network card at least" would be better.
Email, IM automatically comes when there is an internet connection, so you might as well join all three up.
Just curious, roughly how many PC your boss needs?
Originally posted by playmemory:hiaz, tell ur boss go n buy used PC. sure its the cheapest u can get.
True, this is the cheapest way.
Even better, buy those with Microsoft Office installed,since TS needs it.
just go online, look at the brands that sell PC and match their specs and price to your list.
you probably need to factor in tech support and probably next day onsite servicing. unless u repair them yourself.
Originally posted by Call4ljw:"Must have integrated network card at least" would be better.
Email, IM automatically comes when there is an internet connection, so you might as well join all three up.
Just curious, roughly how many PC your boss needs?
How does the integrated network card works ?? can share?
Number of PC depends on my boss. he makes the final decision. Boss said it all comes down to the price.. What a budget boss!
you can get your PC from dell, hp
their pc are already cheap enough, but if you are buying as a company size, they can give you a even cheaper price. and there is support from them also.
Originally posted by iSuperintending_Officer:
How does the integrated network card works ?? can share?
Number of PC depends on my boss. he makes the final decision. Boss said it all comes down to the price.. What a budget boss!
I havent seen a computer without network...so dont need to worry about this point.
Originally posted by Call4ljw:I havent seen a computer without network...so dont need to worry about this point.
isit? thx
Originally posted by iSuperintending_Officer:
My manager want me to come up with the plan first then submit it to him according to the form given. Since ours is a budget company so boss say must plan properly then purchase. But im not IT expert, therefore i sincercely hope that any IT expert can guide me along.. THANKS
This is the advice of an IT expert - Me !!!
First if you so budget and zero on computer knowledge don't waste time which is $ to work out specs !!! Each expert here can give you different specs due to the wide range of options and parts available in different shops.
Don't even try to get from Sim Lim since if you all are asking for specs - mean you don't know enough to even try to choose.
Recommended - just get from Dell and HP - look under their Basic PC for business model. The PC would have the basic harddisk , ram & network card ( for network ) - to meet the normal business need. Also with HP and Dell - you get on-site Warranty services .
Forget about getting from SIM LIM shops - the price is not that cheap to DIY type. Usually they cater more for GAMERS or people who like to modify and play with parts.
Originally posted by storywolf:This is the advice of an IT expert - Me !!!
First if you so budget and zero on computer knowledge don't waste time which is $ to work out specs !!! Each expert here can give you different specs due to the wide range of options and parts available in different shops.
Don't even try to get from Sim Lim since if you all are asking for specs - mean you don't know enough to even try to choose.
Recommended - just get from Dell and HP - look under their Basic PC for business model. The PC would have the basic harddisk , ram & network card ( for network ) - to meet the normal business need. Also with HP and Dell - you get on-site Warranty services .
Forget about getting from SIM LIM shops - the price is not that cheap to DIY type. Usually they cater more for GAMERS or people who like to modify and play with parts.
You're wrong...DIY is cheaper.
First, i would say...see the budget.
Second, with the budget, go to SLS and tell them you need a PC within this budget.
They surely wouldn't reject business.
erm so get from dell/hp or DIY better? how much does both the prices differ??
Originally posted by iSuperintending_Officer:erm so get from dell/hp or DIY better? how much does both the prices differ??
Definitely DIY better...and cheaper too.
But for DIY, the warranty would be seperate, as in each product has its own warranty unlike pre-built ones.
Originally posted by storywolf:Forget about getting from SIM LIM shops - the price is not that cheap to DIY type. Usually they cater more for GAMERS or people who like to modify and play with parts.
Not all shops in simlim cater only to gamers , they customise your spec to your price
Frankly speaking, if we are going to get a low budget system from simlim vs prebuilt ones, the price will be not much of a difference. It's only when buying mid range or high end specs, then we can feel the 'difference',
Components
CPU
Manufacturer & Model
: Intel E5400 2.7ghz
Features/Design Considerations
: The intel E5400 is a dual core processor. This cpu is choosen because nowadays our employees are capable of multitasking, and as a result, our computer system must be able to handle that as well.
For example, while designing a powerpoint for a company presentation, one will surf the net for information, download porn, watch porn, open up photoshop to put together some images, and this requires a processor that can handle quite a few lines of instruction at the same time, and that is where the 2mb cache of the E5400 comes in handy.
Cost: Go Simlim find the latest
Motherboard
Manufacturer & Model
: Biostar G41-M7
: The Gigabyte G41 is a micro atx form factor, however do not be fooled by this small versatile sized circuit board as it packs a punch of performance when matched with the E5400. This board comes with 4 sata ports, 6usb ports, ich 7 southbridge chipset, and that means fast performance when collaborating datas, or transfering porn from different storage sources. The integrated intel graphics accelerator supports high resolution graphics at high speed so that we can present action packed powerpoints, high resolution sexual scenes, flash presentations, high resolution graphics to our clients during meetings with out lag.
Memory
Manufacturer & Model
: Kingston DDR2-800
Amount of Memory : 4gb
: The kingston DDR2-800 is a ram running at a clock speed of 800mhz. The speed is choosen as it matches the processor's fsb speed. Meaning to say there will be constant speed through out your system. DDR2 stands for double data rate 2, meaning to say data is sent on the positive going edge of the clock signal and the negative going edge of the clock signal, compared to Single Data Rams, where data is only sent on the positive going edge. 4gb of ram also ensures there is no lag when the employee is closing the sexual game he is playing, just in case
Fixed Storage
Manufacturer & Model
: Hitachi Deskstar
Amount of Storage : 320gb
:This HDD comes with 16 mb cache, and it's just right to cater to office work/data processing. 320gb is not too much or too less for office use, and would help in saving unessecery cost. Also, there are also enough space left over from installing important programs so that they can hide their porn.
Removable Storage
Manufacturer & Model
: Ask the damn employees to buy their own thumbdrives, as an office worker in 2010, we cannot expect them to use floppy drive anymore right? And we also expect them to own their own thumbdrive so that they can complete their work at home if they are slacking off in the office.
: Thumbdrives must bare the company's logo to show their pride of working for this company, if not their pay would be cut.
Monitor
Manufacturer & Model
: Philips 24" 1900x1200 LCD
Features/Design Considerations : This monitor not only produces vivid colours, it comes with a contrast ratio of 25000:1, meaning i can compare how black this client's hair is compared to the older client with gray hair, and joke about how much time he have left. The nice elegant white design can also bring up the look of the office.
Cost:
Graphic Adaptor USE ONBOARD. And of course, employees are not suppose to play games in office, or watch Sexy 3D hot girls rendered by computers.
Speaker
Manufacturer & Model : Use monitor onboard speakers to save cost, and of course, employees are not suppose to be listening to music, nor are they allowed to be jerking off to loud pornography videos during work. The onboard speakers on the monitor is already an added bonus.
Sound Card
Manufacturer & Model
: Use onboard sound.
Features/Design Considerations :THe motherboard comes with Onboard HD audio which can decode 5.1 or 7.1 movies clearly, although employees are not suppose to watch HD movies/pornography where you can hear things flying around in 5.1 or 7.1
Network Interface Card (Note : Leave this part empty, if you intend to use onboard NIC)
Manufacturer & Brand
: Use onboard LAN, the 10/100 lan on the motherboard is fast enough to transfer important work datas from the server to the local drive with ease. This is also fast enough for your employees to stream HD porn from the internet.
Keyboard
Manufacturer & Brand
: Any keyboard will do, as long as the keyboard is a QWERTY, as most people nowadays are used to QWERTY keyboards. I did not consider any fanciful keyboards as i do not want employees to play left 4 dead 2, or crysis, starcraft 2 on the system(anyway the system i configured will run games so slow that they rather watch HD porn)
Pointing Device
Manufacturer & Brand
: Any mouse that correspond to hand actions, eg. when the user move his hand to the right, the display should move to the right as well. Be sure to check that the mouse work this way.
Operating System
Manufacturer & Brand
:Microsoft windows 7 Professional 64bit. This is choosen as windows xp is going to lose it's support soon, and windows vista isnt very stable nor fast. ALso, windows 7 is the latest operating system and the 64bit will fully utilise the 4gb ram installed into the system. WIndows 7 also comes with the homegroup option, where it is easier to share printers, documents, pornography, pictures across computers running windows 7. This would be an added benefit when you need to access a file you created, but forgot to upload it to the server.
Additional Hardware (if any) (Note : Insert or delete row as necessary)
1. Water cooling system, prefably corsair H50
Additional Software (if any) (Note : Insert or delete row as necessary)
1. Microsoft office Suite
2. AVG Internet Security
3. Adobe Acrobat Professional
4. Starcraft 2
5. Left 4 dead 2
6. Crysis
: Programs 1-3 are self explanatory Program number 4 onwards will produce sound and fanciful graphics when started. This is a signal given out by the program to show that the employees are not doing work related jobs, and should be sacked immediately.
System Casing
Manufacturer & Brand
: CoolerMaster Centurion 5/Elite series
: Elegant design and adequate cooling, Not too big nor too small. Best if you can ask your manager to choose himself, so that it matches the office's theme
Total Cost: Need to find out urself, im out of simlim currently.
Need help from IT experts seriously! Can kindly help to fill up the blanks provided? THANKS A LOT IN ADVANCE.
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:Originally posted by iSuperintending_Officer:I Have help you typed in some neccesary points,and also not appropriate points that will cost you your job(or module),so please read through and remove them(it is to help you to understand what i have wrote, so you can answer questions when ur manager(or lecturer) asks, and also to makeyou do some work)Please click the show button, i guess my post is too longComponents
CPU
Manufacturer & Model : Intel E5400 2.7ghz
Features/Design Considerations : The intel E5400 is a dual core processor. This cpu is choosen because nowadays our employees are capable of multitasking, and as a result, our computer system must be able to handle that as well.
For example, while designing a powerpoint for a company presentation, one will surf the net for information, download porn, watch porn, open up photoshop to put together some images, and this requires a processor that can handle quite a few lines of instruction at the same time, and that is where the 2mb cache of the E5400 comes in handy.Cost: Go Simlim find the latest
Motherboard
Manufacturer & Model : Biostar G41-M7
Features/Design Considerations : The Gigabyte G41 is a micro atx form factor, however do not be fooled by this small versatile sized circuit board as it packs a punch of performance when matched with the E5400. This board comes with 4 sata ports, 6usb ports, ich 7 southbridge chipset, and that means fast performance when collaborating datas, or transfering porn from different storage sources. The integrated intel graphics accelerator supports high resolution graphics at high speed so that we can present action packed powerpoints, high resolution sexual scenes, flash presentations, high resolution graphics to our clients during meetings with out lag.
Memory
Manufacturer & Model : Kingston DDR2-800
Amount of Memory : 4gb
Features/Design Considerations : The kingston DDR2-800 is a ram running at a clock speed of 800mhz. The speed is choosen as it matches the processor's fsb speed. Meaning to say there will be constant speed through out your system. DDR2 stands for double data rate 2, meaning to say data is sent on the positive going edge of the clock signal and the negative going edge of the clock signal, compared to Single Data Rams, where data is only sent on the positive going edge. 4gb of ram also ensures there is no lag when the employee is closing the sexual game he is playing, just in case
Fixed Storage
Manufacturer & Model : Hitachi Deskstar
Amount of Storage : 320gb
Features/Design Considerations :This HDD comes with 16 mb cache, and it's just right to cater to office work/data processing. 320gb is not too much or too less for office use, and would help in saving unessecery cost. Also, there are also enough space left over from installing important programs so that they can hide their porn.
Removable Storage
Manufacturer & Model : Ask the damn employees to buy their own thumbdrives, as an office worker in 2010, we cannot expect them to use floppy drive anymore right? And we also expect them to own their own thumbdrive so that they can complete their work at home if they are slacking off in the office.
Features/Design Considerations : Thumbdrives must bare the company's logo to show their pride of working for this company, if not their pay would be cut.
Monitor
Manufacturer & Model : Philips 24" 1900x1200 LCD
Features/Design Considerations : This monitor not only produces vivid colours, it comes with a contrast ratio of 25000:1, meaning i can compare how black this client's hair is compared to the older client with gray hair, and joke about how much time he have left. The nice elegant white design can also bring up the look of the office.
Cost:
Graphic Adaptor USE ONBOARD. And of course, employees are not suppose to play games in office, or watch Sexy 3D hot girls rendered by computers.
Speaker
Manufacturer & Model : Use monitor onboard speakers to save cost, and of course, employees are not suppose to be listening to music, nor are they allowed to be jerking off to loud pornography videos during work. The onboard speakers on the monitor is already an added bonus.
Sound Card
Manufacturer & Model : Use onboard sound.
Features/Design Considerations :THe motherboard comes with Onboard HD audio which can decode 5.1 or 7.1 movies clearly, although employees are not suppose to watch HD movies/pornography where you can hear things flying around in 5.1 or 7.1
Network Interface Card (Note : Leave this part empty, if you intend to use onboard NIC)
Manufacturer & Brand : Use onboard LAN, the 10/100 lan on the motherboard is fast enough to transfer important work datas from the server to the local drive with ease. This is also fast enough for your employees to stream HD porn from the internet.
Keyboard
Manufacturer & Brand : Any keyboard will do, as long as the keyboard is a QWERTY, as most people nowadays are used to QWERTY keyboards. I did not consider any fanciful keyboards as i do not want employees to play left 4 dead 2, or crysis, starcraft 2 on the system(anyway the system i configured will run games so slow that they rather watch HD porn)
Pointing Device
Manufacturer & Brand : Any mouse that correspond to hand actions, eg. when the user move his hand to the right, the display should move to the right as well. Be sure to check that the mouse work this way.
Operating System
Manufacturer & Brand :Microsoft windows 7 Professional 64bit. This is choosen as windows xp is going to lose it's support soon, and windows vista isnt very stable nor fast. ALso, windows 7 is the latest operating system and the 64bit will fully utilise the 4gb ram installed into the system. WIndows 7 also comes with the homegroup option, where it is easier to share printers, documents, pornography, pictures across computers running windows 7. This would be an added benefit when you need to access a file you created, but forgot to upload it to the server.
Additional Hardware (if any) (Note : Insert or delete row as necessary)
1. Water cooling system, prefably corsair H50
Additional Software (if any) (Note : Insert or delete row as necessary)
1. Microsoft office Suite
2. AVG Internet Security
3. Adobe Acrobat Professional
4. Starcraft 2
5. Left 4 dead 26. Crysis
Features/Design Considerations : Programs 1-3 are self explanatory Program number 4 onwards will produce sound and fanciful graphics when started. This is a signal given out by the program to show that the employees are not doing work related jobs, and should be sacked immediately.
System Casing
Manufacturer & Brand : CoolerMaster Centurion 5/Elite series
Features/Design Considerations : Elegant design and adequate cooling, Not too big nor too small. Best if you can ask your manager to choose himself, so that it matches the office's theme
Total Cost: Need to find out urself, im out of simlim currently.
Thanks A Lot man.. the info u gave is very good!! But i see got some parts u using high resolution.. is it require for an office PC? as im not good in IT, so jus curious only..
Anyway thanks alot! The other time i came it was a person call "Mayi" helping ? now become u already
i jus realise after reading through that if u use the philips monitor cannot use on board speaker right? since the philip monitor got no built in speaker oso
I it not necessary to use high resolution, but when u are using big monitor, the resolutino will be high, like 1920x1080. You can set it to a lower resolution, but when u see the difference in quality you will keep on sticking to a higher resolution
There monitor have built in speaker, meaning to say whne u want to listne to music, you just plug in the cable into the monitor. If you want to simultaneously output the sound to another source, just connect the cable to another speaker, then select it to front speaker out.
Mayi is still around! Just that maybe at the time when you posted this thread she isnt around.
24" pc for office abit overkill leh...i think a 15" crt good enuff... ![]()