Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
They look more like ph than cn... ![]()
good evening
Good evening jiani
not sleeping yet?
Tomorrow is Monday, I think you have school?
BG (NS) Tan Chuan Jin
A homeless woman in dire straits walked 24km with her 2 daughters from Yishun to Chai Chee, stopping to rest at the void deck at nightfall, planning to walk another 6km to Tampines the next morning to seek help from a relative.
Tipped off by grassroot volunteers, Minister of State and Member of Parliament (MP) for Marine Parade GRC BG (NS) Tan Chuan Jin approached the family and accompanied them for a few hundred meters as he profusely advised them to accept his assistance.
BG (NS) Tan narrated this incident on his facebook with a heavy heart (edited for clarity).
On late Wednesday (11 Jan 2012) night, he was doing house visits at Chai Chee, and was about to call it a day when he was informed by a grassroot leader about a homeless lady who was putting up at the void deck of Block 26 with her 2 daughters. He rushed over with a few volunteers and discovered that the family was sleeping on a mat. Beside them was a load of personal items on a trolley.
He woke them up and asked if there was anything he could do to help. According to the woman, she was recently divorced and unable to go home. On that day, she had wanted to seek assistance from a relative who was residing at Tampines and planned to walk there with her 2 daughters.
Hearing this, BG (NS) Tan advised the woman to apply for assistance from the relevant agencies and also offered to arrange for transport to send them to the relative’s place but the woman rejected it. Despite repeated offers of assistance from BG (NS) Tan, the woman insisted that they were good on their own and started walking away.
BG (NS) Tan subsequently called the police and followed the woman for a few hundred metres hoping to convince her to accept his assistance but again his offer was repeatedly rejected. It was only after the police arrived that the woman agreed to letting the police sent her and her daughters to the relative’s place.
According to BG (NS) Tan, the woman was 46-years-old and her 2 daughters were 16 and 14-years-old respectively. Both the daughters have stopped schooling and the 14-year-old daughter is an unwed single mother who gave birth to a child at the age of 13.
According to Google map, the distance from Yishun to Chai Chee is about 24km and from Chai Chee to Tampines is about 6km, by foot.
Editor’s note:
1. During a Parliamentary session recently, MPs are encouraged to report person(s) needing assistance to the relevant agency, it is not known if BG (NS) Tan had done so and if any agency are following up on the matter.
2. The team at TR Emeritus (TRE) is concerned that the 2 daughters have stopped schooling at the young age of 16 and 14-years-old and would like to appeal to the relevant agency to please look into this.
3. Of another concern in this case would be the fact that the youngest 14-year-old daughter reportedly gave birth at the age of 13 which unless she is legally married, whoever got her pregnant with or without her consent would have committed an offence of Rape under section 375 of the Penal Code, that carries a maximum imprisonment term of up to 20 years, and shall also be liable to fine or to caning.
Since the police was involved in this matter indirectly (of sending them to the relative’s place), did the police smell a rat and proactively launch an investigation into an alleged offence of Rape? Rape of a minor is a very serious criminal offence and the ignorance of her mother (by not reporting or failing to report) should not be an excuse for the police to not take any action considering that it is a seizable offence, against a minor who needs to be protected at all cost.
TRE was unable to confirm at print time if there was any subsequent follow-up by BG (NS) Tan or the relevant agencies to the woman’s plight and would like to appeal to readers with information to please update us through our online web form.
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Good evening jiani
not sleeping yet?
Tomorrow is Monday, I think you have school?
yup
There is a village that only has one restaurant. Everyone in the village has to eat at that restaurant PAPCH Garden which serves $10 XO Chye Tow Kueh.
Villager: Why can’t we have more than one restaurant?
Head Waiter: Our village is at a critical point in it’s economic development where more than one restaurant can lead to chaos, so we only have one restaurant. Also, if there are other restaurants, I might get distracted and be unable to concentrate on my job.
Villager: But the food here is really not good! And it’s very expensive because all the staff are paid so much. And it’s also full of outsiders from other countries eating in it – and you have them working in the kitchen too, taking away ours jobs.
Head Waiter: Our restaurant is a small one. If you were to open another restaurant, the prosperity of the village would be fundamentally threatened.
Villager: But can’t it be a little cheaper?
Head Waiter: That would not suit the conditions of our village; the restaurant also needs to develop. We need to pay top dollar to attract top talents for our restaurant.
Waitress who called herself Ms Eff You: When I made the decision to join the restaurant in 2006, pay was not a key factor. Loss of privacy, public scrutiny on myself and my family and loss of personal time were. The disruption to my previous career was also an important consideration. I had some ground to believe that my family would not suffer a drastic change in the standard of living even though I experienced a drop in my income. So it is with this recent pay cut. If the balance is tilted further in the future, it will make it harder for any one considering joining the restaurant.
Villager: But the employees of the restaurant are all driving Mercedes Benz! And living in bungalows! And some of them have more than 10 houses.
Head Waiter: To ensure fair and uncorrupted staff, you need to pay them high salaries. This is what it is called, a transparent wage. If you really want, we will form a committee to decide on the staff wages, then talk about it in front of you even though we have already made a decision.
Villager: But last year, you lent all the profits of the restaurant to Temashit store and Jee Ai See Corporation!
Head Waiter: This is the village policy, you don’t need to worry about it. We are in it for the long term.
Villager: I heard that the Jee Ai See guy in charge of purchasing bought all the worthless shares that have since lost all their value – 50 billion American peanuts worth.
Head Waiter: That type of employee is very rare.
Villager: Then why did you promote him to make him President of the restaurant company?
Head Waiter: We have already volunteered him to take a pay cut of 51%.
Villager: But he’s still the best paid President on earth!
Head Waiter: Let’s move on. You have misunderstood me.
Other villagers: And the water from kitchen flooded our houses the other day!
Waiter in-charge of drinks: Ah, that was just ponding which happens once in 50 years.
Villager: And what about the time your restaurant system broke down for over 4 hours and trapped over a 1000 people inside?
Restaurant Valet: Don’t worry, we will have a committee of inquiry on this matter. Also, that chef responsible has also left to pursue personal interests. And the second chef has also left earlier to pursue personal interests.
Villager: So when we’ve got so many problems, why do you still hang up certificates of high quality? Why do you tell outsiders that everyone is eating so well? There are some people in our village who have no houses and not enough to eat.
Waiter in-charge of drinks: What do you want, 3 meals a day? Anyway, you misunderstood me. I am sorry you are upset about your misunderstanding me.
Villager: The grain was grown by the peasant farmers. The village was built by the first generation villagers and the its security is undertaken by all our our young male villagers for 2 years of their lives.
Head Waiter: Look, New Singapore Shares!
Villager: I can’t even get a decent meal, what do these other things have to do with me? Why don’t other villages have all these problems that we have here?
Old Waiter: Whenever you talk about yourself, you only say bad things. When you talk about others, you say everything is good. You are so complacent. You need to have spurs stuck in your hide. You must repent!
Villager: Eh, but down the road there is a new hawker stall with a hammer sign. The food quality looks quite good and the staff wear blue uniforms. Also, they smile at you and try to help you. They have a chye tow kueh chef who was trained in Beijing to make XO chye tow kueh and many other things. He has even taken a pay cut to come back and help our village out.
Major General (NS) Waiter: But hor, even though they only charge you $1.50, you might not want to eat it because the quality is not good leh. (Turning to the other waiters) If you guys agree with me, Kee Chiu!
Old waiter (getting angry): If you choose to go to that hawker stall, then I say good luck to you. You have five years to ruminate and to regret what you did. And I have no doubts you will regret it. At the end of the day, you should ask yourself: Do you want a celebrity chef who has been away 30 years and a bunch of non-scholars to serve you?’
Head Waiter (quickly cut in): Please bear with us. We’re trying our best on your behalf. And if we didn’t quite get it right, I am sorry but we will try and do better the next time.”
Villager: Too late. 39.9% of us are going to try the stall. I hear it’s in Aljunied.

good evening! :)
This is unlikely to be a hoax or viral marketing ploy (but the possibility cannot be ruled out), as dozens of independent reports have been made worldwide in recent weeks.
Extraterrestrial and/or extraphysical in origin? Many people are tempted to link these mysterious sounds (heard only in recent weeks) to 2012 apocalyptic notions.
hi everyone!

good night
[Malaysia] - Chinese Lion "HipHop" Dance
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=053S4B5J0is
its raining!

Mike Mozart's "MegaUpload" warning video. It's largely paranoia, but nonetheless, legally speaking he has a point.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tD1yaE0GfQ
I realised this cbox has been around for 4.5 years
There's only two thread in sgF is of this old age and still active. One is our crapbox, another one is fifi's Sales, Promotions and Deals. ![]()
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:One of the most beautiful love songs ever…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBdt2grd9Lc
I heard this song before
beautiful~
good evening!
LKY's grandfatherly advice to a NTU student :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ymoM0HJoHgk
By Karen Wong
THREE 17-year-olds who tortured a 14-year-old girl repeatedly over 17 days in a flat in Ang Mo Kio were sentenced yesterday to jail terms of between two and seven years.
The boys will also be caned.
Sentencing them, District Judge Seng Kwang Boon described the case as one of the worst he had come across.
The "violent and serious nature of the case" and its "gruesome facts" called for a jail term and caning, where necessary, he said.
He sentenced Neo Soo Kai, a cook, to seven years' jail and 14 strokes of the cane.
Melvin Yeo Yew Beng, who is unemployed, will spend six years behind bars and be caned 16 strokes.
The judge sentenced Neo's girlfriend, an Institute of Technical Education student, to two years' jail.
She cannot be named because two of her three sisters accused of being involved in the assault are juveniles. Naming her would identify them.
The sisters are 12, 15 and 18 years old. The case against another youth, Yeo Kim Han, 17, is also pending.
The victim, who was held in a two-room flat from Dec 15 to Jan 2, was in hospital for 34 days after her ordeal and is badly scarred.
Neo, his girlfriend and Yeo admitted their guilt last Saturday.
All of them had assaulted her, taking turns to kick, punch and slap her. They also forced their victim to strip naked and perform indecent acts.
Neo hit her on the back with a metal chair, causing her to fall on her face. One of her front teeth came loose and he yanked it out.
When they told her to take off her clothes and perform indecent acts, Neo threatened to beat her if she did not obey, and Yeo also threatened to hit her.
Afraid of being hit again, she stripped and did as they commanded while they all watched.
On another occasion, Neo tied her to a chair in the kitchen and scalded her with boiling water.
Yeo beat her with a wooden stick and an iron rod and also scalded her.
He is also guilty of robbing a 21-year-old youth of his wallet in March 1997, at Ang Mo Kio Central.
The girl could not escape as they kept the grille gates locked, with Yeo and Neo taking turns to guard the key.
When she telephoned home, she did not dare tell her family what she was going through for fear of further abuse.
On New Year's Eve, the three of them tied the girl to the sofa and taped up her mouth shut, so she could not escape while they were out celebrating.
The judge said to them: "You have tortured this young defenceless girl for 17 long days. You have inflicted extreme pain on her and humiliated her. You have disfigured her body and her face.
"Your assaults were senseless.''
He added: "Just because you are young, does not mean that you can go around committing serious offences and hope to get off lightly.''
The three showed little emotion as the judge passed sentence.