Oh I see.. I understand le!Originally posted by eagle:Q3)
a) p + q (you should know how)
b) -q + r
c) AOE is right angled triangle
since OABC and OCDE are rhombuses, |r| = |q| = |p| = 2
Hence, |AE| = sqrt (2^2 + 2^2) = 2.83
Thx eagle!Originally posted by eagle:Q2)
a)
start from O
[1/2 a] means 1 square horizontal towards right
2b means diagonal upwards for 2 squares towards right
-2c means move 4 squares downwards
Hence, if you follow the motions starting from O, you reach the bottom right point (the bottommost)
b)
understand a and try again =D
This is simple vectors
c)
i) EF = a + 3c
ii) EF = 2b + 2c
hence, a+3c = 2b + 2c
a = 2b - c
which should already be obvious from the OA, OB and OC
But they asked "Hence", thus we need to derive from EF
p.q is call the dot product of p and qOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Tamago~ I don't get the hint
Eagle.. I understand Q1 (a) & (b) already..
But I don't understand leh for part Q1 (c) and (d).. The above are O level questions. I haven't learnt
since both vectors are at right-angle it may seem better to visualise it as x and y-axis. but just visualise lah.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Tamago~ I don't get the hint![]()
Originally posted by ispyyy:lol... nm... eagle solve fast sia...
go jogging liao...
Originally posted by eagle:p.q is call the dot product of p and q
In short,
p.q = |p||q| cos teta, where teta is the angle between the vectors p and q
In the case where teta = 90 degrees, cos teta = 0
Hence when 2 vectors are perpendicular, p.q = 0
When 2 vectors are parallel (teta = 0 degrees), p.q = |p||q|
This is the basics of vectors
Yeah, and eagle is still faster than me in solving the questions above.Originally posted by eagle:
I did till F maths and maths S vectors last time with no problems... But I think I have forgotten a lot...
Ah... thinking of my JC times... now I so stupid liao![]()
Yup! Then use pythagoras thoem to solve..Originally posted by ^tamago^:since both vectors are at right-angle it may seem better to visualise it as x and y-axis. but just visualise lah.
Yes!Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Yup! Then use pythagoras thoem to solve..![]()
Originally posted by eagle:Q4)
a)
Draw a triangle. 1 unit right and 2 units up (A to B)
then u get a right angled triangle
calculate angle of bottom left angle
tan inverse 2 = 63.4 degrees
But we need to find bearings (angle from vertical line),
so take 90 degrees - 63.4
Ans: 90 - 63.4 = 26.6
b)
on your same diagram, starting from A, go 3 units right and 1 unit up (A to C)
You find that angle BAC = the angle of 63.4 degrees in (a) minus the angle of the bottom left angle of the right angled triangle formed by C and A
So we need to find the bottom left angle of the new triangle first, which is
tan inverse 1/3 = 18.4 degrees
Hence, angle BAC = 63.4 - 18.4 = 45 degrees
c)
BC = BA + AC = AC - AB = 2e - n
d)
Sketch out BC separately. 2 units right and 1 unit down
You will find that it is again another right angled triangle
Then |BC| = sqrt (2^2 + 1^2) = 2.24
yepOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:![]()
This is new to me.. O level don't have..
When learning the basics of vectors, there are actually alot to learn within the basic.![]()
I find eagle very knowledgabe..Originally posted by eagle:
I did till F maths and maths S vectors last time with no problems... But I think I have forgotten a lot...
Ah... thinking of my JC times... now I so stupid liao![]()
u r wrong. This is only simple stuff.... And I once tutored a few O level students before... so all these stuff are well in my headOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I find eagle very knowledgabe..![]()
Originally posted by eagle:u r wrong. This is only simple stuff.... And I once tutored a few O level students before... so all these stuff are well in my head
.........Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:![]()
Not bad.. Keep up the good job.