Q6a.
4x^2 + 16
= 4(x^2 + 4)
=4(x^2 [b]+ 2^2)
= 4(x + 2)(x + 2)
=4(x + 2)^2
Remember
(a^2 - b^2) = (a + b)(a - b)[/b]
Originally posted by Deadly:huh u dun make sense leh.
how come 4(x^2 + 2^2) = 4(x + 2)(x + 2)
only 4(x^2 + 4x + 2^2 = 4(x + 2)(x + 2)
Sorry it's my mistake.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Expand (x+2)^2
It's wrong.
(a+b)^2 = a^2 + 2ab + b^2
(a-b)^2 = a^2 - 2ab + b^2
7) Surface area of cone = (pi X r X s) + (pi X r^2)Originally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:Q7What is the approximate surface area of a cone whose slant height is 6 inches and whose radius is 3 inches? Use the formula:
A=TTr^2 + TTrs
Q8.Which statement is correct?
27% < 1/4 (Twenty seven percent is less than one fourth)
12% = 1/8 (Twelve percent is equal to one eighth)
3 3/5 = 335% (Three and three fifths is equal to three hundred thirty five percent)
2/3 > 66% (Two thirds is greater than sixty six percent)
Q9.What is the surface area of a rectangular solid whose length is 6 centimeters, depth is is 5 centimeters, and height is 4 centimeters?
Q10.How much water will fit in an aquarium that is shaped like a box and is 10 inches high, 6 inches wide, and 14 inches long?
11) 10 is x% of 50Originally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:Q11.Which problem has an answer of 25%?
10 is what percent of 50?
25 is what percent of 75?
25 is what percent of 125?
20 is what percent of 80?
Q12.One day, a person went to horse racing area, Instead of counting the number of human and horses, he instead counted 74 heads and 196 legs. Yet he knew the number of humans and horses there. How did he do it, and how many humans and horses are there?
Q13.y = log x
If y = 10, then what is x?
Q14.What place in this world can have their temperatures Fahrenheit and Celsius equal?
Q15.You have two block of clay in cube form and the edges are 10 cm. How many spheres with a radius of 5 cm can you make with that amount of clay
Q16.A 'snooker' table (measuring 8 metres by 4m) with 4 'pockets' (measuring 0.5m and placed at diagonal slants in all 4 corners) contains 10 balls (each with a diameter of 0.25m) placed at the following coords:
2m,1m...(white ball)
...and red balls...
1m,5m... 2m,5m... 3m,5m
1m,6m... 2m,6m... 3m,6m
1m,7m... 2m,7m... 3m,7m
The white ball is then shot at a particular angle from 0 to 360 degrees (0 being north, and going clockwise).
Just to make it clear, a ball is 'potted' if at least half of the ball is in area of the 'pocket'
Assuming the balls travel indefinitely (i.e. no loss of energy via friction, air resistance or collisions), answer the following:
a: What exact angle/s should you choose to ensure that all the balls are potted the quickest?
b: What is the minimum amount of contacts the balls can make with each other before they are all knocked in?
c: Same as b, except that each ball - just before it is knocked in - must not have hit the white ball on its previous contact (must be a red instead of course).
d: What proportion of angles will leave the white ball the last on the table to be potted
This question is for my Cousin
y = log xOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:13) y = log x
10 = log x
x = log 10
= 1 (not too sure, someone check for me)
Maths faculty I guessOriginally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:National U Singapore
Q1a Mass in Kg = 6.8 * 10^-27Originally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:Never mind about the Q16.
My new homework just come. A few question i dun know.
Q1.An atom of helium has a mass 6.8 * 10^-27 kilograms.
a) Express this mass in grams.Giving your answer in standard form.
b) A room contains 9*10^22 atoms of helium. Find the mass of helium in the room. Give your answer in grams as a normal decimal number.
Q2. Given that A=h(4m+h),express m in terms h and A.

(x-1)/x(x+1)Originally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:Simplify 4/2x+2 - 1/x
Should be the simplest form already unless they wanna factorise the 4 out.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:If it's really 4x^2 + 16 leh?
4x²+16Originally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:Q6: Factorise the following algebraic expressions completely
(a) 4x²+16
4/2x+2 - 1/x = 2/x+1 - 1/xOriginally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:Simplify 4/2x+2 - 1/x
1a) 0.0052785 after rounding to 3 significant figures is 0.00528Originally posted by FaTal.ZenGetSu:For my Sec 1 sister Express homework.
Q1.Express
(a) 0.0052785 correct to three significant figures,
(b) $478.93 correct to the nearest $10,
(c)0.02734cm^3 in mm^3
Q2. (a) Find the lowest common multiple of 54 and 60.
(b) Two athlets A and B start their long distance race together afrom the starting point of the 400-metre running track at 0655. Given that athlete A take 54s to complete one round and sthlete B take 60s to complete one round,at what time will they next meet at the starting point?
Q3 Two towns,A and B,are 27.5km apart. A cyclist leaves A at noon and rides toward B at a steady speed of 15km/h for 50 min. He then contimues the rest of his journey at a steady speed of 12km/h. Calculate the time of arrival of B.
Q4. In a hexagon,three of the angles are 123,132 and 150 and the other three angles are equal. Calculate one of the equal angles.
Q5.Slove the equation X/2 - 3/4 = 2/3 x -1.
(B) Given that p=2,q=-1 and r=0.5,calculate the value of PQ-2/R
Q6. A solid cylinder has a height of 20cm and a base of radius 14cm.Taking pie to be 22/7,calculate
A) its volume
B) its total surface area.
paiseh.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:3) Distance covered in 1st 50 minutes = 50/60 X 15
= 12.5km
Distance left to cover = 27.5 - 12.5
= 15km
Time = Distance/Speed
= 15/12
= 1.2h
My careless mistake!Originally posted by ^tamago^:paiseh.![]()