from 4,Originally posted by popikachu:4,7,12,19,28,39
Find the nth term...
I once got this correct last time but i tried doing this today again but i cant find the answer -.-"
should beOriginally posted by popikachu:4,7,12,19,28,39
Find the nth term...
I once got this correct last time but i tried doing this today again but i cant find the answer -.-"
work backwards you are right.Originally posted by eagle:from 4,
+3 +5 +7 +9 +11
What I will do is change it to
3 +1 +3 +5 +7 +9 +11
note that the right side is like a AP, first term = 1, difference = 2
hence, summation of AP is n/2 (2a + (n-1)d)
Ans that you should get is:
3 + n/2 (2 + 2n - 2)
final answer: 3 + n^2
But hor, APGP is not in O level syllabus, and you don't need to do it this way. I just want to play![]()
haiz...Originally posted by eagle:from 4,
+3 +5 +7 +9 +11
What I will do is change it to
3 +1 +3 +5 +7 +9 +11
note that the right side is like a AP, first term = 1, difference = 2
hence, summation of AP is n/2 (2a + (n-1)d)
Ans that you should get is:
3 + n/2 (2 + 2n - 2)
final answer: 3 + n^2
But hor, APGP is not in O level syllabus, and you don't need to do it this way. I just want to play![]()
AP is arithmetic progressionOriginally posted by spadeTwo:work backwards you are right.
but how you derive at the solution ?
i was thinking that the +3+5+7+9 thingy was 2n+1, but stuck there liao
and wad is ap
actually if got the 'magic' eye, you can always minus 3 to all terms and show that the remaining terms are perfect squaresOriginally posted by popikachu:haiz...
so easy de thing i make until so complecated...
i got
(n+1) then must time dunno what what what until i luan then stuck... and using 2s x something to solve it... lol...
now teach us how to solve without using a mathsOriginally posted by eagle:AP is arithmetic progression
During my time, it was in A maths syllabus, that's why all these number patterns can do. Now out of syllabus liao, only in A level syllabus
I posted a formula above...Originally posted by spadeTwo:now teach us how to solve without using a maths
i dont really understand leh .Originally posted by wonderamazement:I posted a formula above...
you must have the experience that forOriginally posted by spadeTwo:now teach us how to solve without using a maths
ginger still is old 1 hot.Originally posted by eagle:you must have the experience that for
1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64
the difference is
3 5 7 9 11 13 15..........
then when u see similar questions, you know liao
you one so troublesome must remember formula some more. just use the summation symbol can le. they ask for the n value only mahOriginally posted by eagle:why so jialat one
3 + n^2 is the answer mah![]()
a=first numberOriginally posted by spadeTwo:i dont really understand leh .
if u use the summation symbol in your answer, I'm pretty sure they will not give full marks. Why should they bother to confirm it if the Cambridge answer sheet did not use the summation sign?Originally posted by hisoka:you one so troublesome must remember formula some more. just use the summation symbol can le. they ask for the n value only mah